Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the last 2 specials, but thats not saying much!
After 2 disapointing christmas specials (2008's new sofa and last years Golden egg cup) I felt the royle family had already reached its peak. Mainly because characters had changed or had their characteristics and mannerisms exaggerated to the point where it was no longer believeable, Dave had become too dumb, Denise too lazy and Jim too spiteful.

This is true...
Published on 27 Dec 2010 by gerg123

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Royle family - time to finish?
Having previously enjoyed all the Royle family episodes in the past; I was a little disappointed in this Xmas special. More about nostalgia than laughs. Not one I will watch again and again...
Published on 10 July 2011 by Mr. Paul Martin


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Royle family - time to finish?, 10 July 2011
This review is from: The Royle Family - Joe's Crackers [DVD] (DVD)
Having previously enjoyed all the Royle family episodes in the past; I was a little disappointed in this Xmas special. More about nostalgia than laughs. Not one I will watch again and again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No longer rings true., 24 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Royle Family - Joe's Crackers [DVD] (DVD)
Although this episode had its moments, it is still far from the Royle Family at its best. Firstly, it's sad that another great character has been killed off, but what really didn't ring true was that the Royle's themselves seemed hardly bothered that Mary was no longer around, and this was strange given the way every character, including those peripheral to Nana's life, became so involved in Nana's final days. Mary and Barbara were good friends, and Barbara would have felt the loss of her neighbour and confidante much more than was shown. Cheryl's character also didn't show much of the pain she would have undoubtedly been feeling. Her lines when she was telling Anthony about "the machine being switched off" and referring, in fact, to the hospital vending machine, was just a tired joke centred around her weight and obsession with food, and just not authentic when spoken by an only child who had recently lost her mother.

Aside from that, something I have a lot of difficulty with is the fact that character continuity has gone badly awry. In the case of Dave, who started off as a typical street-wise working-class bloke, always joking with Jim and making fun of Barbara's less than acute intelligence, it's bizarre that he has descended into being an absolute imbecile. The Dave of old would never have announced his visits to the toilet, nor would he have been so dense that he never understands what anyone is talking about, and has become a complete simpleton. I just don't understand how that was allowed to happen, and it's not as if it makes for an improved character, it doesn't. It's also never explained how Anthony went from being jobless and seemingly without prospects to a job which appears to have placed him in an elevated social position. Having said that, I'm glad that they brought Anthony back for this episode as he is definitely one of the better characters and Ralf Little acts the part very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the last 2 specials, but thats not saying much!, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Royle Family - Joe's Crackers [DVD] (DVD)
After 2 disapointing christmas specials (2008's new sofa and last years Golden egg cup) I felt the royle family had already reached its peak. Mainly because characters had changed or had their characteristics and mannerisms exaggerated to the point where it was no longer believeable, Dave had become too dumb, Denise too lazy and Jim too spiteful.

This is true again somewhat in Joes Crackers, most notably with Joe himself, in the original series he never said a word but now he gets more lines than any other character! However, it was nice to see Jim showing his softer side again if only for a few seconds!

The episode itself was littered with funny scenes (a favourite being Barbara hoovering up her dead friends ashes with the dyson) The cast
seemed to be more comfortable and confident in their roles again compared to the previous 2 specials. They have also addressed some of the concerns i (and many other fans) had with the previous two specials. Firstly, the episode is set entirely in the royle household this time around and works much better because of it in my opinion. Secondly, Anthony returns and gives the episode some much needed plot direction, which none of the other characters seem to bring anymore. Dave and denise's characters imparticular seem to be stuck in a rut, something that could be rectified if they brought their kids into the show again (we havent seen them since 2006!)

All in all, it is a move in the right direction with Aherne and Cash going back to their routes somewhat in this new special. I would love the show to return to its 'real time' format it had in the original runs though.

Bring on the Royle Wedding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, But not what it used to be, 30 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Royle Family - Joe's Crackers [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly this Christmas special is much better than either "New Sofa" or "Golden Egg Cup", but it is still nowhere near the quality that the series.
For me the series really should of ended with "Queen of Sheba" episode as that is truely the high point of the series for both hitting the funny bone and the heart strings.

OK having said that its past its peak, I have to say don't write this DVD off if you are a fan of the snow as there are still moments here that will make you laugh out loud, and overall the cast look stronger here than they have done for a long time.

Joe(Peter Martin) puts on a fine performance and shines here more than he has done in the past, The introduction of Saskia(Joanne Froggatt) also works very well, and Antony(Ralf Little) is back which is a good thing.

Overall I recommend you enjoy this DVD for what it is and watch the series at some point to remember its hey day.
I hope they do not make a series though, unless it can hit its old peaks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Fun., 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royle Family - Joe's Crackers [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite sitcom specials. Caroline Aherne and Craig Cash have written a cracking script, with both verbal and visual comedy.

Without wanting to give to much away the story has next door neighbour Joe in a much larger central role than in other episodes. The comedy evolves and has really funny moments.

Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royle Family - Joe's Crackers [DVD] (DVD)
Not as good as I expected. Too much about the character of Joe and not enough about the actual Royle Family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royle Family - Joe's Crackers [DVD] (DVD)
We thought we had the full collection until we saw this one, just fab. Thank you once again Amazon for giving us such choice for shopping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: The Royle Family - Joe's Crackers [DVD] (DVD)
The last few specials haven't been what they used to be - The New Sofa was terrible. But this one is fantastic. It's back to The Royle Family we know and love just sitting in the living room. It's great to see how well Anthony has done for himself and even gets his ma a Dyson.

It's full of great one liners, the best was Dave telling Anthony that Denise couldn't go to the school nativity play because she was waiting on lie detector results on Jeremy Kyle.

It was nice to see Nana and Mary there too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royle Family - Joe's Crackers [DVD] (DVD)
A must watch episode! Bought as a grift for my partner as he had all the others in a collection.
Parcel came well wrapped and all received and working fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gill, 25 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Royle Family - Joe's Crackers [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this episode really funny ive watched it over & over a must watch if you are a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Royle Family - Joe's Crackers [DVD]
The Royle Family - Joe's Crackers [DVD] by Ricky Tomlinson (DVD - 2011)
11.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews