Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game
The only quirks are the fact I can't see me or my opponents full fight history in the game and can't change my style mid way through in legacy mode, rocky did why can't I plus you don't get to sort out your own calendar e.g. When to fight, how many training sessions you have, but it's a step up from the last instalment near perfect love this game UFC can suck eggs
Published on 12 April 2013 by renaissance

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I had hoped..
I pre-ordered this game and have been playing it off and on for a few months now as I wanted to give it some time before I wrote a review (mainly because I wasn't that impressed with it and wanted to work at it and change my mind as I've always enjoyed the previous fight night games).

Sadly, my opinion hasn't improved. Other than the Champion mode which is fun...
Published on 1 May 2011 by CP


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fight Night Champion, 5 Mar. 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fight Night Champion (PS3) (Video Game)
Desperately wanted to give this game a 5 star rating...but then i played it! Never meet your idols! After playing Fight Night Round 4 for hours and absolutely loving the punch controls that added so much depth to the experience, you can imagine my disappointment when i tried out the new controls on Champion. Instead of sweeping the analogue stict around to deliver hooks and uppercuts, the controls now only need to be flicked, totally taking away any feeling of precision. Throwing punches is pot luck, blocking is poor at best, with no control of high or low blocking and at the end of each round you have no control over which elements you wish to recover fastest.

EA have recognised that it was only necessary to make minor tweaks to Fight Night Round 4. Unfortunately they have made all of the tweaks in all of the wrong places.

For all that is both new AND improved in this game, EA could have released another expansion pack and achieved a much better game through Fight Night Round 4.

The only real redeeming factor of Champion is the career mode, in which you live out the boxing life of an olympic gold medalist and guide him through his career as a pro.

Sadly this does not go nearly far enough to salvage this once great title...one step forwards and two steps backwards for EA I'm afraid.

My recomendation is to buy Fight Night Round 4...the graphics are basically the same, the controls are much more intuitive and the multiplayer enjoyment is so much higher!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIGHT NIGHT CHAMPION........AWESOME, 28 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fight Night Champion (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is an absolute classic. I started playing it just after Christmas; and just cannot stop playing it. For £15.00 it is an absolute 'steal'. Do NOT hesitate. Just simply buy this game.

Being a boxing fan, I have to say the characters are plentiful and realistic. The full-spectrum punch control is accurate, challenging but mirrors almost every punch/combination possible. The champion mode is absolutely fantastic. Realistic and with great variety all the way through- fighting through various levels from prison-amateur- world champion.

However, even without the ethernet connection, I am hooked on the legacy mode. You can pick, edit and devedlop through skills and sparring training any boxer on the game (or create your own). You can train them, select fights for them, training camps, events and boxer growth. It is very realistics how you earn cash and points and work your way up from gym fighting to professional. Also the amateur tournament at the start is fantastic and highly realistic.

Absolutely finely produced sports game...!! Cannot complain. Knocks FIFA 12 out of the water...!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great campaign and multiplayer, 22 Aug. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fight Night Champion (PS3) (Video Game)
I've had this for a long time now and I do see myself play it from time to time. It isn't one that goes on the bottom of the pile or exchanged/sold at a game shop.

The gameplay has massively improved from previous versions and the stamina bar really makes the game alot more tactical. Its not like a wii version of boxing.
The graphics are still great and the counters are brilliant.

The single player tournament is fantastic. The storyline and cut scenes are wonderful and feel real, could easily be made into a film. You play as a boxer who moves from different weights and goes through alot, from training gyms to prison to broken hands and bribed judges. It may start off easy but the difficulty increases and the last fight you may spend hours completing.

The two player is fantastic and great fun to play with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gruelling, 19 Jun. 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fight Night Champion (PS3) (Video Game)
EA obviously were aware this series was suffering after the last instalment was criticised for being overly involved and laborious. With Champion they have addressed this with the inclusion of a story mode which traces the classic rags to riches to rags to riches boxing fable. The story, however, is quite short and effectively a tutorial which pits you against in fight challenges crooked judges, fighting with one hand etc. There is some fun to be had while it lasts but last it does not.

So, it's on to the legacy mode. This is classic build-your-boxer-and-rise-through-the-rankings fare. Like many fighting simulations, you have a calendar to schedule fights against and training programmes to prepare your fighter with the trick being to ensure your fighter fits in sufficient training yet is well rested before the fight date.

This edition makes a lot of noise about enhancements to the fighting system - specifically in-fighting. You can mix it up on the inside, Mexican style, or you can box on the outside - there are a wide variety of classic stances and style to choose from. Achieving objectives during matches or training well earns you XP points which you can spend on the overall proficiency of your fighter and not just on general values like endurance or power, but by enhancing specific punches in your repetoire.

EA have tried to make the training sub-games more interesting but the reality is, point sparring, combination heavy bag work etc. do get monotonous. The prospect of sparring before a fight which will probably last 10 rounds is almost enough to put you off training at all.

And a lot of fights do go the distance as in actual gameplay you find yourself moved to play one of two ways - toe to toe until someone falls over or jabbing on the outside for a decision. The simpler punch control system assigns specific punches to buttons with R2 to vary the power. However, it is difficult to land telling blows and your boxer will tire quickly as you find this out. So many of my fights petered out to decision with my exhausted boxer circling my tireless opponent while peppering him with soft jabs. Mixing it on the inside results in the opponent taking much punishment but landing the telling blows which hurt your fighter with alarming regularity.

EA have done nothing to enhance the dizzy mode. When you hurt an opponent you are effectively playing a guessing game where you have a limited period of time to land one scoring blow while he blocks with eerie efficiency. In real boxing a hurt opponents' defence disintegrates when they are hurt - perhaps it would have been better to have to land a succession of blows or a particularly telling blow on a staggered opponent to actually put him down?
On the receiving end, you are still required to align the XY axis points to climb from a knockdown - as with previous editions, one knockdown is recoverable, 2 difficult and three impossible.

On the plus side, there are a huge number of licensed boxers to choose from and the presentation and graphics are better than ever. EA still haven't managed to reproduce the jolting impact of a hard punch - punches still push at targets rather than slam into them - but the animation of facial distortions as blows land is still impressive.

All in all, this is another still slicker refinement of the Fight Night franchise - but is it fun? I love boxing and have played many boxing games but I couldn't say I really enjoyed playing this game - it's something of a chore and that's not what games should be about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fight Night Champion (PS3) (Video Game)
Very good item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No where as good as Fight Night 4., 9 May 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fight Night Champion (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is ridiculous. The fight with 'Hayes' his so frustrating, his left hooks knock you out even while you block.

Fight Night was challenging, I lost many times. But it was fun! It was also realistic in the sense that you couldnt knock out a boxer at the start of a match while he was blocking.

I also hate the jabs in this, the boxers cant even throw a straight jab properly at good speed. It seems so slow.

Games are supposed to be fun not annoying and frustrating. This is the first game on PS3 which I absolutely hate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They really enjoyed this game, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fight Night Champion (PS3) (Video Game)
I brought this for my sons. They really enjoyed this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LEFT HOOK. JAB , RIGHT HOOK.. UPPERCUT!, 29 Mar. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fight Night Champion (PS3) (Video Game)
OK LET ME JUS SAY

THIS GAME WILL GET YOU HOOKED, THIS GAME IS GREAT, 10/10

Story has alot to it... not gunna spoil that..

Online gaming is challenging when you get good opponents,

Legacy mode offline and online are great aswell

Cant fault this game, controls are spot on.. get it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fight Night Champion (PS3) (Video Game)
great game fast dispatch great seller thanks again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fight Night Champion (PS3), 29 Nov. 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fight Night Champion (PS3) (Video Game)
Great game, lots of fun and there is always someone better than yourself online so it challenges you. The Story mode of this game is excellent playability is also good. Game arrived in good condition and on time very pleased overall with this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fight Night Champion (PS3)
Fight Night Champion (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
£15.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews