Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance, Donnie Yen is alive and kicking!
My wife showed me the trailer of this movie and after having watched 'Ip Man' and 'Ip Man 2'. I was EXTREMELY looking forward to this!

Set in Shanghai, the Japanese are just about to invade, Chen Zhen comes back from helping allied forces in WWI, the Japanese General sends out his colleague (who speaks mandarin) to find out Chen Zhen true identity. It ends up...
Published on 4 July 2011 by Damian

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Trailer looked good and loved Donny Yen in the AMAZING Ip Man.This was however very disappointing.Very slow and decent excitement few & far between.Most likely will never watch again.
Published 14 months ago by Kendored


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance, Donnie Yen is alive and kicking!, 4 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
My wife showed me the trailer of this movie and after having watched 'Ip Man' and 'Ip Man 2'. I was EXTREMELY looking forward to this!

Set in Shanghai, the Japanese are just about to invade, Chen Zhen comes back from helping allied forces in WWI, the Japanese General sends out his colleague (who speaks mandarin) to find out Chen Zhen true identity. It ends up with the Japanese general finding out and a big finish of Chen Zhen kicking the hell out of the general and his cronies.

Most westerners who know about Asia will realise alot of the historial points of this movie are in fact true! Not just romantised! Chen Zhen was Huo Yuan Jia's apprentice who was killed by the Japanese General's master, however, Chen Zhen (prior movie) went to Japense masters dojo and kicked the hell out of him, hense why the Japanese General was looking for pay back.

The movie it's self has a smooth story line with a giant hint of sadness throughout the movie, while adding westernised 'Japanese' thinking and Chinese confucian thinking mixed in with the horrid scene of Chen Zhen's capture and that of his sister, which links into Japanese war crimes (reference: Nanking, Unit 731 etc).

I think Donnie Yen really tries to play true to Chen Zhen and by many of his biography films, he does an immense amount of research just to be in character and to show the audience he is not just another talented actor but an actor who can play various roles ficiton and non fiction successfully to an international audience.

Whether you are interested in the historical aspect, the figthing scenes, or the story line it's worth the watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth it for the fights alone!, 18 July 2011
By 
Jawaad Ahmed "jay" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [DVD] (DVD)
great movie donnie does a great job and the action scenes are edge of your seat stuff
go for it and love it also has the transporter(2002) girl as a japanese captain as his love intrest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sorry but the other reviews are just wrong!, 26 Feb. 2011
By 
Mr. J. W. Mc Evoy - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [DVD] (DVD)
This film is fantastic! Okay I will admit the acting and story are a bit laughable in some places but i'm sorry if you buy a Donnie Yen film you buy it for one thing....the fights! Well WHAT fights they are. Absolutely amazing, bone crunching action. The final fight has to be seen to be believed. I, for one, actually think it's pretty cool that Donnie does all the "Bruce Lee noises".

The story mainly consists of Chen Zhen leading an underground resistance against the invading Japanese army. That's basically it.

I just felt compelled to write this review as the other review were WAY too harsh! Also because the fight scenes were mindblowing. Like I said, the acting and story is shockingly bad in places which is why I have knocked a star off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legend of the Fist, 1 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. G. Bu Chedid (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [DVD] (DVD)
A different take to Fist of Fury. A good movie. Donnie Yen is impressive and the martial arts scenes are well above average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Trailer looked good and loved Donny Yen in the AMAZING Ip Man.This was however very disappointing.Very slow and decent excitement few & far between.Most likely will never watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, good action, 22 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie, fantastic action especially beginning and end. I love donnie, he is great. Going to buy more of his movies!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near as bad as some say, 4 July 2012
By 
G. Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [DVD] (DVD)
I recently purchased this DVD, before reading any reviews on Amazon. I am glad that I did. As I would probably not have bothered with all of the negative reviews posted.
Overall I though this film was quite enjoyable. The cinematography/ mise en scene is brilliant. It looks visibly stunning.
The action is edited differently from Ip Man and other popular HK movies. The fight sequences are shot more like a contemporary Hollywood film (close up ,fast cuts) . Instead of the longer, wider shots that are usually common with Asian cinema.
I'm aware that the lead (donnie Yen) was suffering from an injury from a previous movie which may be the reason for this style of editing. Or it could just be a stylistic choice of the Director. As the film seems to be aimed at more than just the "kung fu" fan market.
As a fan of Asian cinema and particularly HK action cinema I still found the fight sequences packed some punch. It is just not technically on par with other "martial art" films.
That is not to say that it's not a good film. It's just more accessible to audiences that may not want to endure lengthy, technical scenes of martial arts fighting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as i thought it would be, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The film was ok, not as good as i thought it would be, and certainly not to be compared to Ip Man which was brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legend of the Fist, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [DVD] (DVD)
This is an amazing film. Highly recommend it, certainly worth a watch - - loved it and yummy Donnie Yen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [DVD] (DVD)
not bad the kids liked it as they are doing karate they enjoyed this film kept them quite for a while
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legend of the Fist [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Legend of the Fist [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Wai Keung Lau (Blu-ray - 2011)
£9.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews