Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best shark attack movies in years
Personally, I never plan to be in a situation where I have to choose between swimming through shark-infested waters to possible safety and staying atop a capsized sinking boat with very little chance of being rescued. Unfortunately, that's exactly the situation the characters of The Reef find themselves in when their boat strikes a reef and capsizes in the waters of...
Published on 13 Sep 2011 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drowning may be the easy option...
Based around real life events that happened in 1983, The Reef is Australian director Andrew Traucki's follow up to his crocodile horror Black Water.

Truth here is that if you have seen the likes of Open Water, Adrift, Black Water and the under valued Frozen, then this really doesn't hold any surprises, it is what it is, a bunch of friends ending up in a battle...
Published 9 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars i was a bait dissapointed...., 20 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] (DVD)
with the reviews on the case, and good reviews on amazon, i was excited, thinking this would be a tense (which it kind of is) , scary, and nerveshredding movie.

well, i was left thinking, was i watching something else?

there is only one bit of real gore, maybe 2, that could make it warrant a 15, and theyre not really that gory, so i assume its the tension that gives it a 15.

the tension is there, i mean, out of 10 id give tension 7/10, because, you dont know who will be pulled under the water.

i thought it was decent, but just didnt live up to previous expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it, worth watching!, 14 May 2011
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] (DVD)
I rented this, as I enjoyed 'Adrift' and especially 'Open Water' and this was obviously the same sort of film. I wasn't disappointed... It is very tense as others have mentioned, and as it was based on true life events, you had no idea who was going to end up as shark-food which kept you guessing. I thought the end was really sad - I hadn't expected what happened, I won't say any more coz I'll give away who gets eaten, but it was quite upsetting! It's really worth a watch though, I'd recommend it if you like these sort of films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tense and terrifying!, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] (DVD)
if you want blood and gore and ridiculous big fake shark robots... this is not the film for you. I am a massive shark fan, and I found this film intense and terrifying. The use of a real shark was an excellent touch, and even though the majority of the shots of the shark are of it sliding through the water without paying them too much attention, its still scary. Sharks are cautious animals. They are not necessarily going to pay you much attention if they are right by you unless they plan to attack. That is what is so good about the film, its quite realistic, you know the shark is stalking them, but it leaves them alone for periods of time, like a real shark would, which builds up serious tension for the watcher. By the end of the film, I was so freaked out I had to look away and I couldn't watch the final scene.
I think this film is hugely under-rated. If you aren't going to buy it you should definateley rent it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time to wrench up the tension..., 25 Jan 2011
By 
J. Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] (DVD)
Title: The Reef

Directed By: Andrew Traucki
Starring: Damian Walshie-Howling, Zoe Naylor, Adrienne Pickering, Gyton Grantley, Kieran Darcy-Smith
Run Time: 84 mins

Storyline: Matt (Grantley), his sister Kate (Naylor) and his girlfriend Suzie (Pickering) meet up with Kate's ex, Luke (Walshie-Howling) and his sailing partner Warren (Darcy-Smith)for a thrilling weekend cruising the beautiful great Barrier Reef. Just as the weekend really takes off, a freak current capsizes the yacht, leaving the group stranded and miles from land. With limited food supplies and the boat likely to sink at any moment, the group faces a tough decision- swim for dry land or stay on board the sinking vessel and pray for rescue. Four members of the party decide to swim, in hope that the current won't deter them further- but the current and the reef is the least of their problems when a huge fourteen foot Great White shark starts hunting them down, one by one.

Review: The Reef, directed by Andrew Traucki (most famous for his other creature feature debut Black Water) made itself known at the Cannes Film Festival in 2010. The film follows a simple concept of man vs nature (nature getting the upper hand of course) but despite the thin plot, there is so much to like about this film. Rarely does one come across a decent shark movie. SyFy has played with the idea so much, that it has become a sort of joke in the genre (anyone who has seen the terrible inept Shark Attack 3: Megalodon will understand exactly what I mean.) How refreshing it is then, to finally come across a shark movie with great potential that actually manages to execute itself well and within its boundaries. Sure, Traucki may be working with a low budget, but he still manages to pull it off, hook line and sinker!

The Reef is very similar to 'Open Water' which shares near identical plot points, yet somehow Trauckis wave of terror manages to be ten times more menacing. The antagonist, a monster Great White shark is a real villain and the characters (all of which are very likeable) are really left to the mercy of the sea. The cast does a really good job portraying the terror these characters face, not only of being targeted by a predator, but being stranded miles from land with little hope of surviving the ordeal. Damian Walshie-Howling is very believable as the 'hero' character and you genuinely want him to lead the others to safety. A will-they-won't-they sub plot involving his character Luke and ex girlfriend Kate (Zoe Naylor) helps to strengthen the likeability factor of the characters. You will genuinely feel for these guys which is more than can be said in other recent shark movies.

The shark itself is really well executed. A combination of hand-filmed shark footage and green screen editing has made The Reef a seamless action thriller with very impressive visuals and a breathtaking array of stunts nails the few scenes where the shark makes an appearance. There is no dodgy CGI here- they used real sharks so the realism is almost breathtaking. Of course the shark remains dormant a lot of the time, and this is where Traucki flies in to crank up the tension. The shark doesn't really appear until two thirds of the way into the movie-up until then we are given POV shots of the cast and shadowy figures lurking in the distance, but you will thank the filmmakers for it- the tension is unbearable at times and the nail biting build up to the reveal is well worth the wait. Once the shark does appear the movie doesn't hold down. The attack scenes are brutal and devastatingly realistic. The CGI used in these shots is near perfect and it doesn't take away from the movie in any way. You will root for these characters and feel afraid for them. You will thank the Lord that you are not in their position and you will witness why the power of the ocean is not one to be meddled with. The Reef delivers.

A genuinely nail biting shark thriller with a brain, The Reef is a clever, heart-pounding experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No classic but compelling!, 10 Oct 2011
By 
Gordon C. Tait (OSNABRUCK, OSNABRUCK Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] (DVD)
All of a sudden the Aussies are realising that biker punks with orange hair and no teeth riding rampant in lawless wastelands was so 70's that they've decided to up their game and bring us the terrors that exist for real..and in their backyards. Following the excellent Black Water, here we have two average loveable couple's stranded at sea after their yacht capsizes with the only option of swimming twelve miles to the nearest island. Of course this being Australia, we know full well the risks and oh boy are they in trouble!
Thankfully we're not given too much time to get to know these people, I mean do we really need to know their life stories here? Not really. A few details are thrown to get us acquainted because the meat of this movie resides with the situation they find themselves in. And we're told it's true story so we know someone survives but who will it be?
Unlike Jaws, we're not too concerned about the plight of the police chief, his family, the island community, the anti-hero, this movie does exactly what it says on the tin. Four people up to their necks in sea water...and hunted by a Great White. What more do you need?
For those of you that called this boring, well obviously we have to build the tension, follow the archs, act one to preceed act two, give the film-makers a chance here because when we get the big reveal...it's no plastic shark. And you'll find yourself asking, "How on earth did they do that?"
The beauty of this movie is that there are no sub-plots, nothing to read between the lines, like real-life, you just have to ride it out and see what happens. To have seen this at the theatre would have been quite an experience and here lies the problem with reviewing a movie from your armchair. The DTS sound mix immerses you in the action almost as much as the actors (if you have Blu-Ray of course)and the 2.35:1 ratio opens up the ocean revealing the dark open depth from which the shark may attack at any moment.
It makes you wonder how Jaws may have looked if Speilberg had this technology back then. The plastic shark has not aged well, but Jaws remains the superior film and always will be.
If you enjoy nature thrillers then this will suit you. Enjoy it for what it is. Well made, superbly crafted, and imagine it was you. It could happen!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST GREAT WHITE BLOODED AND SCARY, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] (DVD)
I LOVE MOVIES WITH THINGS THAT CAN KILL YOU BIG THINGS AND FROM THIS WORLD CAME A GREAT WHITE TO TAKE OUT THESE UNLUCKY PEOPLE..GREAT SUSPENCE AND GOOD STORYLINE..GREAT REAL LIFE SHOOTS OF SHARK AND GREATER CGI OF THE SHARK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The film Open Water should have been., 14 Aug 2013
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] (DVD)
This is the second shark film I've watched today, the first being Bait. But whereas Bait for a horror B-Movie, The Reef felt much more serious from the outset.

I'd want to watch it for a while, but with so many bad shark films arounds I was a bit reluctant to fork out for it. However I needn't have worried. It was excellent.

It will draw immediate comparisons woth another well-known shark film, Open Water - which is based on the true story of American's, Tom & Eileen Lonergan but in my opinion that film was a huge let down.

I had no idea, but The Reef is also based on a similar true story - but that of Aussie, Ray Boundy. And whereas Open water was rubbish and boring The Reef manages to keep you interested.

It's a very tense film. It's notches up the tension nicely, leaving you with a knot in your stomach that slowly gets tighter and tighter as the film goes on.

And shark fans won't be disappointed. There's some excellent shark footage (non of CGI generated monsters or animatronic fish) seamlessly cut with the actors - who I must say, do a sterling job throughout.

The Reef is a shark film you can buy with confidence. And that's coming from a man who loves his sharks and has seen all the shark films (both good and bad) there is to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better shark films, 5 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched many shark films but this one is quite good even though I was expecting bad effects and rubbish acting but it was quite the opposite, really good film with good acting and good sharks, I recommend this movie for people who like shark movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best shark film since Jaws!, 21 April 2012
By 
S. Wylie (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this film, leant it to friends who all agreed. Great real footage of the great white. Realistic storyline, good characters. Will keep you in suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE REEF DVD, 13 April 2012
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd is now my favourite film of all time, it's a real shocker because it's actaully based on true advents the actual story is set out when 5 people decide to head to the barrier reef on a boat when they are sailing there they hit by something and it up ends the boat bringing them into water with it, they panic and start to try and climb back onto the now upside down boat but at first they can't seem to get a grip at last thou they all do and one by one they are pulled outta the cold water and all four are safely on the boat or so it seems? well theres a slight problem because the actual boat is infact sinking and soon ital be gone so heres a question what should they do? do they A) swim for it? and make to dry land? or B) stay on the boat until it sinks and pray they are found soon before dark? soon they are faced with a reality shock both plans aren't gonna be best idea but plan A) is gonna have to do, trouble is it's so vast and theres nothing within their reach of 10 miles of ocean and seaweeds floating around them but in the end they decide to try it well at least 3 of them are willing to try and make for the 10 mile stretch to dry land but the other two aren't wanting to get into the water as one of the people has said that he know's whats in these waters and wont get into it" torn between following her other friends one of the others decides to stay with the frightened person only within a few minutes she suddenly changes her mind and then joins the other 3 people in the water leaving the 5th person on the boat hoping that he will survive, as the other 3 are swimming it seems things are going well so the film heads back to the other person who's been left on the boat he looks over the boat and see's something breaking the waves it's big and fast as it nears him so he leans back on the boat and hopes ital go away ... it dosen't and he's now trapped with whatever is started to bash into his boat moving it about fiercly, the film then jumps back the swimmers as they are making there way through the vast waters theres nothing in sight no boats no lands just miles and miles of open deep water the ocean is a scary place when you don't know whats lerking beneath the surface of it and what they don't releaise is infact they are being hunted by a great white shark it's huge and it's hungry and very very fast and it's slowly creeping up behide each swimmer and picking them off one by one the terror of the fin breaking the water right next to them and thrashing of the tail just infront them it's complete panic who will surive is the question but then who can out swim an 14ft great white? still they carry on desprately trying to avoid being taken as it follows waiting for each person to tire in the water and take it's chance and drag them down into the depths of the sea, but they are nearing land even though 2 have been taken all ready yet the 2 others are determined to make a damn good try and swim for land praying that they aren't taken out also, finally they see a little land ahead of them it's a small rock just bigger enough so they can rest for a few minutes but they have to get back into this water sooner or later the thought and the knowing that when they get back into it the sharks waiting sends them into more panic and they really swim for their lives going as fast they can knowing it's only a matter of time before one of them is taken as the sharks getting closer and closer behind them, but at last they've made that 10 mile swim now all they have to do is get onto the small island and out of that sharks food chain they make it but it's a ways up onto the small islands rocky climb so one of them has to stay in the water and push the other one up eventually the one being pushed up is up and trys to pull up the one who's left in the water but sadly is so so tired that he/ she can't pull the other one up and fails the sharks heading towards the last person who's trying to get out of the water as the they are trying to get out the shark comes at them and takes the person who was left in the water leaving the other person on the island crying and screaming, at least she lived but then lost everyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Reef [DVD]
The Reef [DVD] by Andrew Traucki (DVD - 2011)
4.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews