Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overall a very good Blu Ray
Don't get me wrong I love Grindhouse and what it is trying to achieve, however the idea of spending $50 million + on a film that is made to look like it cost a fraction of that has always perplexed me.

Planet Terror is a very good take of a good old Zombie flick; however it lacks the darker atmosphere of many of the films it is trying to pay homage to. Yes, it...
Published on 7 Sep 2011 by I love New York

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good
Films are really good but was a little annoyed it did not include the extra version of death proof which shows the cut scenes
Published 11 months ago by bluelightining


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overall a very good Blu Ray, 7 Sep 2011
By 
I love New York (Not in New York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grindhouse Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Don't get me wrong I love Grindhouse and what it is trying to achieve, however the idea of spending $50 million + on a film that is made to look like it cost a fraction of that has always perplexed me.

Planet Terror is a very good take of a good old Zombie flick; however it lacks the darker atmosphere of many of the films it is trying to pay homage to. Yes, it is its own film, it just lacks a bit of edge. 4 stars

Death Proof is an original idea and isn't a bad film, but it just doesn't do it for me. 3 stars.

The highlight of the movie for me are the trailers (except Rod Zombies Werewolf Women of the ss) especially "Thanksgiving" which is so over the top it's unbelievable.

Nice to have the film released on blu ray as the project was intended and not have to buy two separate films.

All in all this package with 2 films, some great trailers all the extras deserves 4.5 stars which I will round up to 5 instead of down to 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing But Pure Movie Genius., 9 April 2013
This review is from: Grindhouse Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino have once again, not failed to produce and deliver a blinding pair of films; first, lets just take a short look at what the point of the making of Grindhouse was in the first place: Tarantino and Rodriguez, two very talented movie makers, wanted to re-create and re-live their younger years, in this case, it being the movies they used to watch. Despite other reviews saying that these movies are no good because they are too over the top, Grindhouse is very cleverly made; not only have they captured the 70's, B-Movie style of film-making, but they have absolutely aced it, too. When you look past the gore, mediocre acting and cheesy dialogue, Grindhouse is pure genius. Now, we've covered the feature as a whole, lets look at the separate films:

Planet Terror is Rodriquez' half of the feature; he has tried to re-create a classic 70's, drive-in horror flick, and he has not failed in doing so. Planet Terror is the less sophisticated one of the two, featuring hints of cheesy humour, over-the-top gore and one-liners that make you squeeze the bridge of your nose with embarrassment...but that is what a B-Movie is all about! Low budget, 70's horror flicks aren't made to keep you on the edge of your edge of your seat or eager for more, but just for pure entertainment, and in that aspect, Planet Terror certainly delivers! Even though the acting isn't the best, it is still an A* cast, considering the majority of them are in the second movie, so don't be put off by the actors or actresses as the cheesiness all adds to the style of the movie.

Death Proof is Tarantino's half of the feature; he has tried to re-create a 70's slasher/car movie, and in my opinion, is the much better one of the two. The fact that he made the choice of casting Zoé Bell (the stunt-double for Uma Thurman in the Kill Bill's) as one of the main parts in the movie was great, considering she really shows that she can multi-task in movies, doing all of her own stunts as well. The acting is much more sophisticated than Planet Terror, as well as there being much more dialogue scenes than action scenes, which I think just reminds you that you are still watching a Tarantino movie. Featuring one of the best car chase scenes I have ever seen in a movie, Death Proof does not ruin, nor does it slow down Grindhouse, despite all of the dialogue, I think it actually makes the feature better.

Featuring some fake movie trailers from directors such as Eli Roth, (Hostel, Cabin Fever) Edgar Wright, (Shaun Of The Dead, Hot Fuzz) and Rob Zombie,(House Of 1000 Corpses, Halloween 2007) to really give it that 70's feel, Grindhouse is fantastic and deserves five stars, as well as a purchase. For an entertaining night in with friends, Grindhouse doesn't disappoint.....BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..MODERN CLASSIC GRINDHOUSE..", 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Grindhouse Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
PLANET TERROR is one of the most awesome and cool films made in years, totally over the top story and wild amounts of gore and violence all in the tradition of Grindhouse movies, cult movies from the 60s, 70s and 80s that depicted things that shocked people and were controversial for there themes etc. Rodriguez has made his baby (along with the classic Grindhouse style Machete of course) The cast is fantastic especially the amazing Rose McGowan as cherry darling! If youre a big horror fan this is a must, the bluray version is the best as the picture quality is pretty amazing but bluray or DVD doesnt matter this is awesome at any cost.
DEATHPROOF is rather a step in a different direction for Tarantino but a good one non the less, as he is a fan of Grindhouse he also stepped in with Rodriguez to make a cool movie about a killer car, well a killer stunt man who uses his car for fun to kill his victims as the car was built as a stunt car its apparently DEATHPROOF!! Kurt Russell is good as the lead actor and the rest of the cast is great too, the story is crazy but great fun and theres plenty of bloody carnage!! But still this is an amazing double bill of films and an awesome addition to any cult film collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great version in BrayD...in original USA cut!, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grindhouse Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great film better in original USA cut! no Italian subtitles but I know good the movie and better in English Language and subtitles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brother liked it., 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grindhouse Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Bought this for my brother for Christmas. He really likes it and the price was very good compared to other websites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Present, 22 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grindhouse Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
For a Christmas present picked form a wish list on Amazon. That way you can be sure the present will be ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good double feature, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grindhouse Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
it was not the extended versions of the movies but the trailers were great i loved it and excellent value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grindhouse Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Came very quickly alllllll the way down under.........................i was very happy indeed. i would go with then again for sure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grindhouse Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
didnt know it came in a collectors sleve, plenty of content on the disk, love the spoof trailers on the disk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars death proof plus, 11 Dec 2012
By 
K. T. Hercock (Scunthorpe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grindhouse Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
very good value with both the films and all the trailers as intended to be seen by the viewer by the producers.see it while you can
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grindhouse Collector's Edition [Blu-ray]
Grindhouse Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] by Robert Rodriguez (Blu-ray - 2011)
£9.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews