Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tom and Gerri
"Another Year" was a mesmerising film that reminded me of the "Play for Today's" of the 1970's. It is based around the lives of a happily married late middle-aged couple, Tom and Gerri, and deals with their relationships with various friends and family members over the course of one single year. Tom and Gerri are content , well adjusted professionals who spend their time...
Published on 18 April 2011 by L. Davidson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Life Is (Not So) Sweet
Had a lengthy debate with Mrs Svensson on the way home from this (which is probably why you watch Mike Leigh films, isn't it..?) - our discussion basically revolving around the issue of What A Joyless Old Bugger Mike Leigh Must Be.

Because what we've got here is quite a nice, tidy little conceit - one year in a couple's life, 4 seasons, the cycles of life and...
Published on 20 Nov 2010 by Lutz Svensson


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tom and Gerri, 18 April 2011
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another Year [DVD] (DVD)
"Another Year" was a mesmerising film that reminded me of the "Play for Today's" of the 1970's. It is based around the lives of a happily married late middle-aged couple, Tom and Gerri, and deals with their relationships with various friends and family members over the course of one single year. Tom and Gerri are content , well adjusted professionals who spend their time working an allotment and hosting dinner parties. However their friends are not so stable and responsible. We meet the memorable Mary , a lachrymose,desperate neurotic who clings to Gerri as she finds herself unable to cope with her loneliness and growing old. She has an inappropriate crush on her friend's 30 year old son, Joe , fondly imagining them becoming an item , a fancy that is destroyed with the introduction of Joe's new girlfriend , the lovely ,perky Katie. We meet the equally lonely and sad Ken , a sweaty , overweight drunk whose interest in Mary is cruelly rebuffed. He too faces an old age on his own ,alienated from the world around him. All of the characters in this film are ordinary people living ordinary lives and they all are portrayed wonderfully by this excellent cast. "Another Year" is a film for adults that you rarely see any more. The cinemas are mostly full of cartoons , CGI action movies, rom coms and slasher films now and this film is a welcome change from all of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All Too Human, 12 Jun 2011
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Another Year [DVD] (DVD)
It is not very often that we have the opportunity to view a film about real people. People with flaws, people who are not movie star handsome, people we know, like our neighbors, our inlaws, our children. Mike Leigh has written and directed this superb film about these people.

Tom, played by Jim Broadbent, and Gerry, played by Ruth Sheen live in North London. They have been married for years, happily married, even. They have a son, Joe, played by oliver Maltman, who loves his parents and seems to be a perfectly normal young man. He is looking for a soulmate and feels the pressure from his parents, at times. Gerry is a therapist. For thirty years she has worked with Mary, superbly played by Lesley Manville, a secretary who has porblems. She wants the perfect man who will never be available, and she drinks too much to get her through her day. She has glammed on to Tom and Gerry. Their home is a warm, inviting place, and they are not judgemental. After a perfectly hideous evening of too much drinking and obvious jealousy of Joe's new girlfriend, Tom says of Mary, "It's Sad" That really says it all. A family funeral portrays a funeral like no other, but does point out the foibles we see in other families, and sometimes our own. All this time, going home to Tom and Gerry's is the best place to be. Tom and Gerry love their friends and family and support them, through thick and thin. We see much of the thin in this film, but that is real life.

Mike Leigh has given us a film where we feel embarrassment, amusement and sadness. This is real life, folks. We all know folks like this and maybe it is us. We are peeking into the lives of people who have foibles and we can learn from their predicaments, and from the manner that Tom and Gerry deal with life and with these folks they welcome into their lives. This is a film that gave me a sense of joy, that good folks like Tom and Gerry abound. Life is not all about the beautiful people making too much money and getting into too much trouble. We are, after all, all too human.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 06-12-11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Year is another superb Mike Leigh film............, 25 April 2011
By 
Janet Harris (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Year [DVD] (DVD)
This film has it all - humour, sadness, empathy, pathos, love.................all the ingredients that make Mike Leigh films head and shoulders above all others. The main characters Tom and Gerri are superb and the film follows their lives and that of their friends and family over the course of four seasons. I really recommend this film to anyone who likes a good Brit Flick and anyone who is a Mike Leigh fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 97 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny, perceptive, moving human drama., 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Another Year [DVD] (DVD)
Life isn't sweet for the characters of Mike Leigh's new film, and it's not happy-go-lucky either.
"Another Year" is, in short, another Leigh film about normal folk living ordinary lives. And yet, of course, it's about so much more.
It's about an allotment for one thing - a small parcel of land lovingly tended by geologist Tom (Jim Broadbent) and his medical counsellor wife Gerri (Ruth Sheen).
It's also about a car: a dysfunctional little runaround that Gerri's lonely, wineslugging co-worker Mary (Lesley Manville) buys in the futile expectation it will open up new horizons.
It's about Tom's chum Ken (Peter Wight), a boozy, overweight sadsack. It's also about Tom's older brother Ronnie (David Bradley) and their respective sons: one a wry community lawyer (Oliver Maltman), the other an angry, volatile malcontent (Martin Savage).
Family and friends, children and parents, siblings and colleagues. Split into four parts, each one focused on a different season, Another Year has a formal, Eric Rohmer-esque structure that makes it one of its creator's most ordered works.
Yet the middle-class suburban milieu it shows is anything but, the lottery of humanity having blessed Tom and Gerri with married contentment and saddled the likes of Mary, Ken and Janet (a despondent patient of Gerri's, memorably played by Imelda Staunton) with disappointment and misery. Why do some luck out and others miss out?
You won't find an answer to that conundrum in Year. But you do see what happens when the two collide, Mary's inappropriate crush on Maltman's jovial Joe coming a cropper when he arrives for tea with a perky girlfriend (Karina Fernandez) half her age.
Manville is teriffic here, her pinched mouth and teary eyes conveying the anguish of a woman who's just had her last illusion shattered. Yet so too is Sheen, her benevolent compassion turning steely at the merest hint of her brood being threatened.
Throw in Broadbent's chipper, gently mocking patriarch and you have three of the finest performances ever to grace a Mike Leigh yarn. No mean feat from the man who gave us Naked, Vera Drake and Secrets & Lies.
Meantime, long-term Leigh collaborator, cinematographer Dick Pope, elegantly transports us from spring through to winter with a such graceful fluidity that one easily forgives the film's occasional longueur.
Leigh's take on life's rich tapestry - its smiles, its frowns, its ups and downs - is second nature to us now. Yet he's still made Another funny, perceptive, moving human drama. Neil Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Leigh, 25 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. B. R. Good (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Year [DVD] (DVD)
After the wonderful, 'Happy Go Lucky', I was slightly concerned that the plot of this film (admittedly a slow-burner) was not developing. I was wrong. This is classic Mike Leigh - he draws you in with a gentle introduction to the often sad and flawed characters and then punches you in the form of humour and/or disaster in equal measure.

While perhaps slightly less engaging (the visit scene with Ken doesn't work very well), it echoes the comic-tragic lives of the characters in both Abigail's Party and Nuts In May (Leigh's two best ever films).

Lesley Manville shines as the tragic 50 something Mary, almost an older version of Poppy in Happy Go Lucky. The film finds its feet in the scenes that develop between Mary and the son of her lifelong friends Tom and Gerry.
However the star of this show is an actress called Karina Fernandez, the new girlfriend of son Joe. Her comic timing and delivery was absolutely superb (she played the role of the Flamenco Teacher in Leigh's previous film, Happy Go Lucky).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly realistic, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Year [DVD] (DVD)
I got this film today and watched it immedietely. This film is a work of art. It isnt the kind of film you would get your mates round to watch while munching on a bag of doritos, it needs your full attention in order for you to appreciate how superb it is. I wont bother saying what the storyline is about but it covers most subjects that occur in everyones lives at one point or another and it i inceredibly touching. The acting is so realistic which is what makes it. Lesly Manville is the best in my opinion, i find her story so sad and ive never felt such empathy for a character as i do with hers. Im not very good at writing down whats in my head so im finding it hard to express how i feel about this film but what i will say is this film is now in my top 10. Just buy it, watch it, enjoy it and be prepared to cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine movie, 2 April 2012
This review is from: Another Year [DVD] (DVD)
I find it very sad that this movie has received so many 1-star reviews.

I can only imagine they came upon this film by accident as, for me, it is very typical Mike Leigh, and harks back to his earlier character-driven films such as High Hopes and Life Is Sweet.

At its heart is a fantastic performance from Lesley Manville as a neurotic, single women, desperate for love but with very little empathy for others.

I can recommend this to anyone who has the time to invest in a slow-paced, but well written movie that features well-rounded everyday people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving look at normality, 12 Nov 2012
This review is from: Another Year [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the trailer for this film and was intrigued. I watched it with my extended family and we all thought it was really good,with captivating performances from all, except my dad who thought it was too much like real life and you watch films to avoid that!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtle, sad and insightful, 11 Nov 2013
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Another Year [DVD] (DVD)
After we'd watched about 15 minutes, I felt like going to do something else. The conversation was quite flat, and there didn't seem to be any plot. But I stuck with it and it eventually blossomed into a very fine film.
Mike Leigh doesn't do magic realism, he does prosaic realism. It reminded me a bit of a C21st twist on The Good Life. Tom and Gerri devote their free time to the allotment, and a few friends in suburban London. Their son doesn't have a girlfriend, so they're waiting for the family to move on. Gerri's friend Mary and one of Tom's friends give their lives a bit of colour. There's some jolly Englishness, but quite a lot of pain, too.

If you're interested in loneliness, alcoholism and family dynamics, this is a wonderful film. It's ambiguous: you can argue whether the characters are good or bad, how much it's their fault and how much they bring misfortune upon themselves. It's a serious and profound work. It's literary cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars watchable from beginning to end - marvellously acted, 13 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. Ian A. Macfarlane "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I can find things in this film about which I have doubts, but I have to say that, for me, it was totally absorbing, and though quite a long film, it never outstayed its welcome. Tom and Gerri are a very contented couple living comfortably and successfully in London. She is a counsellor, he an engineering geologist, and they are perhaps 60-ish. If they have a slight anxiety it is about their son Joe, 30 and unattached, a lawyer working in what looks like a Legal Aid practice (we see it only once, and briefly). But their relationship with Joe is a strong one and there is no great cause for concern. Together in their spare time they work on their allotment (beautifully filmed ; it is visually stunning - a haven). Friends visit - Mary from Gerri's work, Ken, an old friend from the north - but these friends are, unlike Tom and Jeri, far from happy ; indeed, they are on the ropes, Mary because she has only failed relationships with men, Ken because he cannot adjust to the process of aging. As the film progresses there is also an important death with which Tom and Gerri have to cope, providing the same kind of strong support as they do to Mary and Ken earlier in the film. At this point they move north temporarily to their roots, and there is an important cultural shift for a time in the film.

It is a study, really, if the agony of the deeply distressed as they seek comfort and support from the notably well-adjusted and successful. As Mike Leigh has said, we see the differing effects of growing older on different people with different life experiences. This has all sorts of complex resonances. Chief among the failing characters is Mary, neurotic, edgy, always on the brink, a staggering performance from Lesley Manville. I know that some have found this character, or this portrayal, over the top ; for me it stopped just short of that and was, in places, breath-taking. As with Janet at the beginning of the film (a wonderful cameo from Imelda Staunton), it is hard to see what can be done to rescue Mary, often her own worst enemy, and no solutions are offered, but there is great sadness and great pathos in her, even if her presence at your front door might well oblige you to pretend to be out. As is often the case with Mike Leigh films, the acting is quite outstanding, and there are many moments of great tension and very human drama - in places it's funny too, but this is not predominantly a funny film. Jim Broadbent as Tom, Ruth Sheen as Gerri, Lesley Manville of course, Peter Wight as Ken, Oliver Maltman as Joe and David Bradley as Tom's brother Ronnie are all - well, mesmerising. There is a spectacularly edgy funeral scene and, at the end, a meal scene which is superficially chatty and comfortable but in reality, for one character at least (and perhaps two), simply desolate. Here, as Tom and Gerri, their son Joe and his girlfriend chatter on eagerly about holiday places and exciting times in the past, you do wonder whether they are, at this point anyway, just a little smug and unfeeling, sitting as they are with two unhappy people whose lives have been very different and very much less satisfying. Indeed, the film ends as it begins in a sense, asking the question what can you do? what way out is there for this? even though there are those present whose lives are, by any standards, well-adjusted and useful - which only serves, of course, to highlight the plight of those who are not.

An unusual and very human film, I would say, from a master film-maker working with actors he knows well and drawing from them wonderful performances. I would recommend it highly ; I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Another Year [DVD]
Another Year [DVD] by Mike Leigh (DVD - 2011)
£5.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews