Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lock
The lock feels very very strong,keys work great(have heard krypto keys break easy)just make sure you push key in fully and it works fine.
The cables just right to feed through front wheel and seat then in to the lock,very secure.the mounting bracket was a little hard to install but have patience and don't rush in to it and once in place and tightened its very firm...
Published on 30 Mar. 2011 by ReckonerUK

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing. Feels secure but actually too small to secure a bike properly.
I spent a while looking around for a bike lock to secure my bike in central London and finally settled on buying this, as a lot of the advice recommended using two different types of lock. The D lock provided feels very sturdy, but is so small that in practice you can either lock your wheel to the frame of your bike (and not the bike rack/post), or lock the wheel to the...
Published on 15 April 2012 by DC_84


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lock, 30 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Unisex Bicycle Lock - Black/Orange (Sports)
The lock feels very very strong,keys work great(have heard krypto keys break easy)just make sure you push key in fully and it works fine.
The cables just right to feed through front wheel and seat then in to the lock,very secure.the mounting bracket was a little hard to install but have patience and don't rush in to it and once in place and tightened its very firm and secure.

You also get 1 years bike cover which when you register,if your bike is taken and you have the broken piece of the lock you can claim the cost of your bike up to £900.(The bike has to be taken by "breaking the U-lock",If they take the bike by cutting the post or the cable its locked to then you won't be covered)

All i can say is i feel 100% sure going to a shop my bike will be there when i come out and 95% sure if i left it on the street during work it would still be there.

The New york locks are stronger but you get no bracket and they weigh twice as much and cost at least twice as much.if you have a bike above £1000 them you might want to consider that but under £1000 them this is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAVED MY BIKE FROM BEEN STOLEN!!!!, 15 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Unisex Bicycle Lock - Black/Orange (Sports)
IT IS LITTLE BIT SMALL -THAT IS WHY CALLED MINI:) BUT REALLY GOOD LOCK. I cycled to work this morning and locked my bike on the company car park in a bike shed. took my front wheel off and locked it with back wheel as them cables could not reach my front wheel. locked through back wheel and frame to metal bar. when i finished work i noticed somebody was messing with my bike - very little mark on my lock. keys are spot on - 3 keys and one lighted - good at night. when i am unlocking it press my key towards and twist very gently, no bother open so easy. I would defo recommend this lock to anyone. another good point is u can register this lock on kryptonite website in case someone managed to cut it through so u could get compensation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing. Feels secure but actually too small to secure a bike properly., 15 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Unisex Bicycle Lock - Black/Orange (Sports)
I spent a while looking around for a bike lock to secure my bike in central London and finally settled on buying this, as a lot of the advice recommended using two different types of lock. The D lock provided feels very sturdy, but is so small that in practice you can either lock your wheel to the frame of your bike (and not the bike rack/post), or lock the wheel to the bike rack/post (and not the frame of the bike) - what I really want is to be able to secure a wheel to the frame and to the rack/post but you can't do that with this lock. The extension cable that comes with the lock is useful for securing around another wheel or part of the bike frame, but I soon realised that all the thief would need to do is cut the D lock and the extension cable would come lose anyway. Finally, on a couple of occasions since I got this lock a month or so back I have also had problems unlocking the D lock and have had to spend 5-10 minutes jiggling the key about (and cursing) to make it open. Not ideal. I am still using the lock, but think in practice I'll need to buy another lock to be really sure my bike is safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lock - lightweight and secure, 7 May 2012
By 
J. Foster (Birmingham/London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Unisex Bicycle Lock - Black/Orange (Sports)
This lock is smaller than the standard D-locks you get, including the Kryptonite Evolution. But it keeps the same thickness of bar and same locking system - so if you don't need the flexibility of a standard sized D-lock this is the one to go for - easier to carry and significantly lighter.

Size wise, I can easily fit this around the back pillar of my Brompton (in folded position) and a standard width railing (the kind that poke out the ground in an upside down U shape or that make up barriers/railings) with a bit of room to spare. My normal locking position is with the Brompton unfolded and leaning against one of those railings - this locks it securely with a bit of wiggle room too.

The included cable is also handy - while it's not going to defeat a determined thief I can see it would be good for locking the wheel of a conventional bike, or for me, it allows me to lock the Brompton 'upright' so nobody can fold it while it's locked up.

Overall a great lock - very highly recommended and worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the price, 3 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Unisex Bicycle Lock - Black/Orange (Sports)
good sturdy D-lock and the extra 4ft wire helps to lock wheels, other bikes and a general deterrence. got this item delivered to the locker system, very handy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light and safe!, 31 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Unisex Bicycle Lock - Black/Orange (Sports)
Brilliant lock that is light and fits into the frame of my commuter/roadbike. The fitting to hold it in place is very good too (hardly any rattling) and the lock works even in freezing temperatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attempted theft foiled!!, 9 May 2012
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Unisex Bicycle Lock - Black/Orange (Sports)
My oldest son is at university and leaves his cycle locked to a floor mounted D cycle rack.
The lock held up to an attempted theft during the small hours.
So, I am buying my second lock for my youngest son to use at college!!
You cant get a better endorsement than that!

Best way to use it is to pass cable through both wheels and secure cable ends onto D lock then lock to a solid mount.
PS most insurers insist you dont lock your cycle out of view during the day and it isnt covered in a wooden shed in your garden (brick build building with 5 lever mortice lock etc etc) Beware :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great lock!!!, 6 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Unisex Bicycle Lock - Black/Orange (Sports)
This Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Bicycle Lock is a great lock. Easily fitted on my bike. Although the U-lock needs to be slightly longer, but the steel cable covers the loss. Increased security as far as I'm concerned! Great product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great combination, great value, 30 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Unisex Bicycle Lock - Black/Orange (Sports)
The Kyrptonite Evolution Mini 7 is a little on the small size and won't fit around every pillar or post you want it to - the tradeoff is that it's much lighter than similar U-locks and bike thieves will have very little leverage to crowbar it open (doubtful that this is possible anyway).
The Kryptoflex cable is a handy addition to stop opportunistic griefers from stealing your front/back tyres. I've been using it in Dublin for the last year and this bike has so far been untouched by thieves - the bright orange paint job seems to warn them to stay away! A great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspires confidence!, 4 May 2012
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Unisex Bicycle Lock - Black/Orange (Sports)
This Mini D lock is great! After getting my last bike stolen (I was using a crappy cable lock) this time I am taking no chances. The lock feels very sturdy and strong. The LED key is swish. I found the lock to be the exact right size to fit around a standard steel bike rack and then through the back two frame arms and the back wheel. I then loop the cable through the front wheel, through itself and then hook it into the D lock. The beauty of this lock is the size the perfect fit, so you are carrying no unessential weight. Everytime I use it it fills me with confidence, especially when every bike around mine is using a cable lock, although I take no silly risks.

The theft protection is a gimmick, you have to provide the broken lock to claim. Everyone knows bike thieves almost always take the evidence with them (they did for me). I have put a dymo label on saying the lock contains a tracker, hopefully (god forbid) if the bike gets nicked the lock wont!

It got 4 out of 5 because the frame mounting bracket was useless. The bracket is so large the D-Lock wouldn't fit as well as my bottle cage. It was also pretty flimsy, obviously an afterthought. You just have to take a rucksack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews