Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The exemplary Knopfler/Dire Straits historical issue
First up I will suggest to DS/MK fans that this is the best preserved live performance by either Mark Knopfler solo or Dire Straits as a band. Despite the opposition and perhaps some well known better audio recordings.

And, within that compliment, this is possibly the best ever (firmly focussed) singing performance by Mark Knopfler.
Like many fans I have...
Published on 2 Feb 2011 by JayJayDee

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Abysmal picture quality
This may be a great concert, the sound isn't too bad but the picture quality is abysmal. It looks as if has been taken from a VHS to another VHS and then onto DVD. I cant believe this footage was taken from the original master recordings. I have a better results of the Mandela concert recorded on VHS from the BBC transmission and transferred to DVD. What a shame because...
Published on 15 May 2012 by D. Hodge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The exemplary Knopfler/Dire Straits historical issue, 2 Feb 2011
By 
JayJayDee (Allovertheworld) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits - Thank You Australia (DVD)
First up I will suggest to DS/MK fans that this is the best preserved live performance by either Mark Knopfler solo or Dire Straits as a band. Despite the opposition and perhaps some well known better audio recordings.

And, within that compliment, this is possibly the best ever (firmly focussed) singing performance by Mark Knopfler.
Like many fans I have known and loved for over twenty five years the original songs that are recreated on this DvD . This performance - recorded for posterity at the culmination of the Australian tour of 1986 - was broadcast by Australian Channel Nine to ANZ. Along with many other fans I 'sourced' VHS copies and then made audio cassette copies. The extended versions are, without exception, great improvements on the studio versions, both structurally and musically.

For this reason gradually I found that I played these performances of these classics throughout the early 1990s in preference to the studio albums. The original cassettes then faded and self-destructed through overuse - as they always did... but the performance is preserved on this DvD. For enjoyment by the next generation and by us unrepentant neanderthals.

To any Dire Straits fan who does not have this in their collection I can only say - 'Buy it without delay!' And for those who may have thought that Mark Knopfler and Dire Straits are not quite their cup of musical tea, then, please try it also. This is quite simply music-making of the very highest order.

Highlights are the opening track 'Ride Across the River' and the sequence of 'So Far Away', 'Romeo & Juliet', 'Private Investigations' and 'Sultans of Swing'.

But there are absolutely no weak tracks in over two hours. Tomorrow I'll prefer the finishing sequence.

The session finished simply with 'Goodnight...be good to one another'. This is just as understated as the guitar playing is felicitously accomplished. Frankly you realise you have been in the company of excellence, greatness and supreme talent.

A treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 13 Nov 2010
By 
D. P. Turner "Dave Turner" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dire Straits - Thank You Australia (DVD)
Well, after a long time wanting to see a concert from the legendary Brothers In Arms live in '85 tour, I finally came across this dvd on Amazon. And what a great concert dvd it is. In my opinion, this is the time Dire Straits were at their absolute peak, and this show captures the last show of the tour from Sydney, Australia.

The picture quality is as you would expect of a show filmed on video in 1986 - that is to say, if you're used to watching modern day HD blu-rays, then you're going to be a bit disappointed. But, it gets the job done, and is perfectly good to watch.

The audio is stereo, and lacks a bit of beef - again, it's not going to match a DTS HD track, but you can hear what's going on, and as with the PQ, once you start watching the show, it's just pure enjoyment from start to finish.

All in all, well worth a purchase to see a great band at the height of their powers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem, 26 Nov 2010
By 
Michael Botham (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits - Thank You Australia (DVD)
What a great concert this is - absolutely superb.
I recently came across this on Amazon and have just watched it on a decent laptop with headphones. So a quick note about the quality.
Given that it was filmed for television in Sydney during 1986 (26/04/1986), the overall picture quality is not too bad, but certainly not up to modern standards. The picture holds fine but consider it is like watching a VHS video without the blips that so often occur with tape. It appears that no work has been done to the original recording so it has just been lifted from the master. The sound was, in my opinion, a better than expected bonus. I found that once the concert started I had no reservations about what I was listening to and the concert is so good that I didn't even find I was that concerned about the picture quality either.
There are new versions of old favourites and some good new introductions too. For about the first half of "So Far Away" the track is played acoustically and very good it is too. "Sultans" takes on another dimension with so many more members in the band performing it than the original 4-man line up. Prominent keyboards and saxophone make this a stunning version of a classic. The version of "Expresso Love" is also an excellent one. All through the concert the music has a great flow to it. Many tracks are of course featured from the "Brothers In Arms" album.
It plays out at 2 hours and a bit - 2.07 I think. Great audience participation and the band respond to provide a memorable occasion. Mark Knopfler is fantastic, even by his high standards.
This is also an important release as it provides a link between earlier and later dvds available from the group. The first 2 albums are well covered by the "Live In Germany" dvd. "Alchemy" was performed just after "Love Over Gold" was released and "On Every Street" is featured in the official "On The Night" and also by "Autumn In Nimes". So the only omission is really a concert to go with the "Making Movies" album, although 4 tracks are included in this Australian 16-track dvd.
I never tire of listening to this group. Probably the closest I came was whilst hitch-hiking around Western Australia in 1992. A Swiss carpenter picked me up not once, but twice. The first time was ok as it was only for a few hours. He seemed to own only one cassette - "On Every Street". He kept playing it over and over again. Imagine a few days later when he stopped to give me another ride. The same cassette and for the best part of all day and most of the evening! I like the album but that was too much!
In short, if you are a Dire Straits fan just buy this dvd and enjoy it. A perfect concert by a group performing at their very best. I have to give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 25 Feb 2011
By 
Giorgio (Como (CO), Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits - Thank You Australia (DVD)
I agree with the previous reviewers: this is the best Dire Straits concert video (not like there's too many of them ;-)

It's just a pity that the picture quality is this poor, I'd say a 5 out of 10. I've watched it on a 50" plasma tv, and what I found most annoying it's the colors: they're sooo off, incredibly oversaturated. The audio is fine, no DTS or anything like it, but fine.

BUT... the concert in itself is a great one. The band is having a great time and it shows. There's a funny part where Mark Knopfler breaks a fingernail, and decides to - literally! - bite it off to keep on playing. The alternative version of "So far away" is plain beautiful. Actually, I'm going to extract the audio from this dvd, because it is a great selection of tracks.

I'd say, get it before it goes out of print.

UPDATE 10/01/2012: seems like the cover art has changed (I actually preferred the previous one, with that beautiful Australian skyline at night).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Abysmal picture quality, 15 May 2012
By 
D. Hodge (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits - Thank You Australia (DVD)
This may be a great concert, the sound isn't too bad but the picture quality is abysmal. It looks as if has been taken from a VHS to another VHS and then onto DVD. I cant believe this footage was taken from the original master recordings. I have a better results of the Mandela concert recorded on VHS from the BBC transmission and transferred to DVD. What a shame because it does look like DS in their prime. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good performance, bad bootleg mastering, 14 Jun 2011
By 
Philip A.Cohen (Bay Harbor Islands, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits - Thank You Australia (DVD)
This 1985 Dire Straits performance, recorded off the airwaves from Australian television is musically excellent, but the disc is an obvious bootleg marred by serious mastering problems. I just watched the first 30 minutes worth. During those 30 minutes, there were 7 brief silent gaps in the sound, and at 3 of those points, the video briefly froze. I'm sure that many thousands of Aussies recorded this performance from the airwaves, and hopefully, a better quality unofficial disc will appear at some point in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia!, 8 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits - Thank You Australia (DVD)
Having been a fan of Dire Straits for many years, I had an almost complete "set" of CDs and Videos that the band had released. Apart from the Alchemy video, the Brothers in Arms video, and On Every Street, until now I had not realised that any other footage of the band was available.

This gig happened during the Brothers in Arms tour, and contains many of the songs from that album and from the preceding ones in the Dire Straits Catalogue.

I was surprised that it starts with "Ride Across the River" as I never thought that was one of the stronger songs from Brothers in Arms, but it works very well with the opening synth part building the atmosphere nicely!

It was fascinating to see just how many different guitars Mark Knopfler used - for the "On Every Street" Tour he reduced that amount greatly. Watching his playing style is also very absorbing, his style is pretty unique and as he himself has said, it contributes to his "voice" on the instrument. Apart from Espresso Love that is, where he plays with a more conventional style with a pick!

Highlights for me were the very different version of "So Far Away", which cleverly turned into the version from the album. The live staple songs such as "Sultans of Swing", "Romeo and Juliet" to name but three are there, plus some rarities like "Industrial Disease" (a personal favourite) and "Why Worry".

Ok so the picture quality is not that good, but it was recorded for Aussie TV in 1986, so you have to cut some slack! Blu-Ray HD picture this is not! The sound quality is good, again no HD surround sound or anything, but its not bad at all!

All in all, a very good DVD, it may not be a 100% "official" Dire Straits product, but to get some live footage and recordings of the band at the height of their fame and success, its worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what the doctor ordered !, 16 Nov 2010
This review is from: Dire Straits - Thank You Australia (DVD)
One word "magnificent"
Quality is good VHS ceratinly not HD but its the performance,
Best dire straits dvd by far. Thanks Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD Dire Straits - Thank you Australia, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits - Thank You Australia (DVD)
I thought the quality may have been remastered and the sound enhanced. Howver, the DVD was great.
Mark Knofler excelled in his guitar playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sultan of Swing, 28 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits - Thank You Australia (DVD)
If you like Dire Straits you will love this. Sound isn't as good as modern recordings but you expect that. Some great unique versions of some great songs. In my opinion tunnel of love and sultans of swing are better than the alchemy versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dire Straits - Thank You Australia
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews