Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PRETTY HATE MACHINE 2010 IN SAFE HANDS!!
Nine Inch Nails debut album finally gets it's much needed reissue and a proper one at that! Now it's back in the safe hands of Trent Reznor who up till last year must have thought he'd never get the chance to remaster it but after a long journey he finally got it back and has done a great job with the remaster.

By Reznor's own admission Pretty Hate Machine had...
Published on 27 Nov 2010 by nin/ja77

versus
14 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Louder yes, but where is the subtlety
I was looking forward to this release but have been sadly disappointed.

As with the majority of modern remasters the volume has been pumped up and the range compressed. The dynamic range of the original recording has been IMO severely compromised, but then again this will matter not a jot to those who know little care even less about the quality of music.
Published on 29 Nov 2010 by Matt Kubrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PRETTY HATE MACHINE 2010 IN SAFE HANDS!!, 27 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pretty Hate Machine: 2010 Remaster (International Version) (MP3 Download)
Nine Inch Nails debut album finally gets it's much needed reissue and a proper one at that! Now it's back in the safe hands of Trent Reznor who up till last year must have thought he'd never get the chance to remaster it but after a long journey he finally got it back and has done a great job with the remaster.

By Reznor's own admission Pretty Hate Machine had become dated in both sound wise and looks wise what with the bands name being sideways on the cover and that jewel case(Reznor has always been a digipack/gatefold man), and a 2005 reissue by rykodisc records did nothing to change that(a small change to the artwork being the only change). Reznor has totally overhauled it, improving the sound no end, listening through a decent pair of earphones and you will hear the difference, the beats sound heavier and bigger without going over the top in loudness, and Rob Sheridan(art director, video director etc) has been brought in to do the atwork and packaging and what a job he has done, the pink is gone(Trent thought it looked dated) and it's now a digipack/gatefold as opposed to the original gatefold, in a recent interview Rob stated that it was really hard to get the original design on the cover as he couldn't get his hands on the original artwork, this despite the help of Gary Talpas who did the original artwork, just goes to show we shouldn't take for granted the work that has gone into this remaster.

It's all very well making it look and sound nice but if the songs are no good then it's a waste of time, but that was never going to be a problem with PHM, from the opening beats of former live staples(nin no longer tour as a live act) "Head Like A Hole" and "Terrible Lie" they remind you of what a great debut album PHM is, it shows what a ear Reznor has for a catchy tune. First ever single "Down In It" sounds better now than it ever did, halfways through the album we get to another of Reznor's favourite live tracks "Something I Can Never Have" which is just haunting and will make the hair stand up on the back of your neck, and was used to good effect in the Oliver Stone movie "Natural Born Killers" for which Reznor did the soundtrack. The second half has some of Reznor's catchiest songs he ever did such as the brillant "Kinda I want To" as well as the original version of "Sin" which is not as heavy as the version that was released as a single which is the version they play live. "Ringfinger" uses a drum sample from the Jane's Addiction track "Had A Dad"(The two bands co headlined 2009's nin/ja tour). With the reissue we get one new track a cover of the Queen track "Get Down Make Love" which was originally included on the single "Sin", Reznor totally changes the track from the Queen original and even has got a nice Queen sample in there.

Many people were hoping for a 2 disc version with 5.1 sound like what he did with "The Downward Spiral" or a studio version of Now I'm Nothing of which there is none available, but really the most important thing is that Pretty Hate Machine has been remastered even as recently as last year Reznor said there wouldn't be much chance of that happening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sound, Great Songs, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Tracy Davis (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got the original when it came out and I'm so glad I now have this remastered version all these years later. Fantastic for old and new NIN fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best debut albums remastered, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll be honest here and say that I have only rediscovered NIN after quite a few years. I am SO glad I did! Not now having the original release of this album I cannot directly compare this remaster with it. I will say that it has been treated with respect and the tracks are as fresh and pack the high level of impact that I remember. I genuinely believe this to be one of the best debut albums made for a long while and the remaster gives it a new lease of life. If you don't have it, why not?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As it's meant to be.., 5 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The sound quality of the remaster of this album is substantially improved over the original CD. The synths and samples have far more atmosphere and depth, the bass and drums have much greater weight, and the soundstage is generally more pronounced. Some remasters are just louder and a bit cleaner than the original (The Cult's Love for example)but this isn't the case here. The original was very quiet and this isn't, but great care and attention is very apparent here. All in all it has a more analogue, vinyl feel to it which takes away the unnecessary harshness of the original.
If you have a love of this album, I would strongly recommend the re-issue. There isn't a second disc of extras, but the qulity is so good I don't think it really matters. Essential purchase, thanks Trent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. L. Nixon (Notts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow. The sound on this is superb and brought bang up-to-date from the original masters. And why would you want to download inferior quality digital files and miss out on the quality packaging? If you're a NIN fan then you've probably already got this. If not I seriously recommend you buy this classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trent Reznor does it again!, 15 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have waited a long long time for a re-mastered version of pretty hate machine. The old cd was very quiet on my ipod and stereo compared to other nine inch nails recordings, but with the new release I'm happy to say that's no longer the case. Loud, punchy, classic nine inch nails, always a great record, now with superior sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered times 100!!, 14 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Trent has really done a number here. I was a bit sceptical about this, as I didn't find a huge difference in the downward spiral remaster and the original. But this is utterly fantastic. It's not the usual remastering process, as Trent is a producer himself, he knows full well what remastering is all about. It's not just about beefing it up and making it louder, it's in the details. The drums kick more, bass is deeper, synths are clearer, and the samples more detailed. If you listen to the song That's What I Get, it's like a whole new experience. Pretty much every song is, in fact, but it's more noticeable on the songs which have more layers, complex production, and samples.

I'll be honest, I always LIKED this album, but the way its been remastered and sounds the way it SHOULD have done, is actually now one of my favourite NIN albums, in terms of repeated listens, and sounds perfectly complete. It's almost addictive. I played it to a friend whose also fan, especially of this album in particular, and is normally very sceptical about these things, but as soon as the drum and bass kicked in on Head like a Hole he said 'Yeah, I notice it STRAIGHT AWAY'. It sounds far more detailed and well produced, Trent's genius truly shines on this.

I highly recommend this purchase, worth every penny. It's almost like buying a brand new NIN album, with Trent going back to his roots and making an album with an 80s vibe.

So, forget about the original tinny sounding version, unless you want to keep it for nostalgic purposes, and go for this. For NIN fans its a must. For people who favour this to his later, darker stuff, don't waste another minute and click add to basket, and get this beauty. Trust me, you won't regret it. It even has a bonus track, Get Down Make Love, which is good, but doesn't seem to fit in with the tone of the rest of the album. But's nothing to really complain about when everything else here is pure gold.

I just wish that Trent would have worked as hard on the remaster of The Downward Spiralas he did with this. But I guess that was more about re-releasing it for SACD players (which I don't own, and never took off anyway, as well as the patchy bonus disc). I hope he'll remaster Broken and then perhaps another remaster of The Downward Spiral and work just as hard on making it sound as clear and detailed and punchy as this. A fine release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where it all began....again, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A remastered version of NIN's ground breaking first album, I picked this up in preparation for their recent European Tour to reintegrate myself with these classic slabs of dark industrial pop.

The remastered sound quality is magnificent and gives the 80's synths and drum machines an extra sharpness missing from the original recordings, the guitars are crisp and the the vocals crystal clear. Extra additional Queen cover included in the release also.

A great remaster of a genuinely amazing and influential album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pretty Hate Machine: 2010 Remaster (International Version) (MP3 Download)
Awesome album. If you dont own it buy it. go on. do it now.... you owe it to yourself. really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Phenomenal reworking of the old classic, making it absolutely up to date. Trent's genius strikes again. Even if you've still got the original, this is worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews