Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Follow the white rabbit Neo - no sorry, I mean Alice
I just spent a couple of hours looking at this wonderful movie and the extra features. The aptly named Masterpiece Edition is worth every penny, and like The Matrix, should be included in any movie collection, whether you have a child to hide behind or not.
Beautifully adapted and animated from Lewis Carroll's highly imaginative, high-trippin' classic, the imagery...
Published on 22 July 2004 by Amanda Richards

versus
79 of 86 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for a Disney Collecter!!!
This review is for the DVD and not the movie. The movie is delightful and wonderfully animated with some of the best Disney songs and characters.
This DVD is superior in every possible way to the first issue, which had bad audio/video and lacked in bonus materials. This edition’s picture quality and audio presentation are simply stunning, as if it was drawn in...
Published on 1 Jan 2006 by T. El-khateeb


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Follow the white rabbit Neo - no sorry, I mean Alice, 22 July 2004
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I just spent a couple of hours looking at this wonderful movie and the extra features. The aptly named Masterpiece Edition is worth every penny, and like The Matrix, should be included in any movie collection, whether you have a child to hide behind or not.
Beautifully adapted and animated from Lewis Carroll's highly imaginative, high-trippin' classic, the imagery and illustrated puns amaze and amuse, especially the little things like the rocking-horse fly, the bread-and-butter flies, the vultures, the pencil and hammer birds, the momeraths, and the bird in the tree (Queenie Leonard) yelling "Ser-peeeeeeeent !"
The animators drew each frame based on the portrayals by the actors voicing the parts, and the stand-outs are Kathryn Beaumont as Alice, Ed Wynn as the Mad Hatter, Verna Felton as the Queen of Hearts, Bill Thompson as the White Rabbit, and the very flexible and versatile J. Pat O'Malley as Tweedle Dum, Tweedle Dee, the Walrus AND the Carpenter, in one of the best scenes in the movie.
With fourteen songs, this is the most musical Disney around, but unfortunately, the songs are not very easy to sing along to, making me sound like William Hung every time I try to impress people with my thorough knowledge of the lyrics.
There are lots of interesting tidbits in the extras, such as the discarded Cheshire Cat song, and the fact that one of the songs was later re-worded for Peter Pan. There are other links between Alice in Wonderland and Peter Pan, but you'll have to watch the extras to find out just what, cause I'm not telling.
For those who don't want to watch the previews at the beginning of the DVD, just press "Menu" and get plugged directly into Wonderland.
Amanda Richards, July 18, 2004
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 86 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for a Disney Collecter!!!, 1 Jan 2006
By 
T. El-khateeb "TAR1K" (JORDAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is for the DVD and not the movie. The movie is delightful and wonderfully animated with some of the best Disney songs and characters.
This DVD is superior in every possible way to the first issue, which had bad audio/video and lacked in bonus materials. This edition’s picture quality and audio presentation are simply stunning, as if it was drawn in the age of the Little Mermaid and Aladdin. The extras are quite entertaining too but I felt that it lacked the comprehensive ‘behind the scenes’ that other recent ‘Special Editions’ of classics such as Sleeping Beauty and Bambi had.
I am a Disney DVD collector, and bought the US versions of the Platinum edition Lion King, Aladdin and the recent Cinderella as they all came in superb gift boxes with film cells and character sketches. I was delighted to replace my old Alice in Wonderland DVD with this special edition, only to discover that the US (again) got a better version of this release. Titled ‘the Masterpiece Edition’ it comes in 2 Disks and features 2 hours worth of extras including vintage 1950 ‘One Hour in Wonderland’ making-of feature hosted by Walt Disney.
I find it quite irritating that as a Disney fan I need to buy copies of the same edition of a movie from both continents just to enjoy the extras- why release Special Editions if they aren’t as special as ones released in other countries? Does this mean that in a few years we will get yet another ‘Special’ Alice in Wonderland DVD in the UK?
And this is the only reason I am giving this DVD a 3 star rating to direct fellow Disney fans and collectors attention to the existence of a superior edition of this film [even though it is in Region 1]. The movie itself gets 5 bright and shiny stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A true Disney classic!, 24 April 2005
By A Customer
Alice In Wonderland is truly a jewel in Disney's crown. It's often overlooked by many, mainly because of its bizarre storyline and characters - but that's the magic of Disney, and what makes Alice In Wonderland stand out from all the other feature length animations Disney has produced before and after.
The DVD bonuses are hit and miss, really. The "Virtual" Tea Party is pretty bland. I imagine children will enjoy it, but if you're an older Disney collector, like myself, you'll be annoyed they wasted space on this, as there are many more features on the 2-disc American "Masterpiece Edition" which could have been put on the UK release instead. One great feature is about lost songs. Alice In Wonderland had literally hundreds of songs written for it, but obviously throughout its coming together, many got lost, axed and not used. They have re-recorded a song entitled "I'm Odd", originally meant to be sung by the Cheshire Cat. It's a fantastic song, and is set to old storyboards and cheshire cat designs.
Kathryn Beaumont, the voice behind Alice, introduces this section, and also tells an interesting story about the connections between Wonderland and Neverland (Peter Pan) - but I won't spoil it for you.
It has the standard gallery, a Mickey Mouse short which sees him go into his own version of Wonderland (sort of), but "Operation Wonderland" is the best feature by a mile. It was a promotional featurette used to promote the making of Alice In Wonderland back in the 50s, and is both insightful and interesting.
Adventures In Wonderland is a rather annoying game which becomes tedius, especially as, with every wrong answer you make, there is no variation in what the voice actors say. Again, this feature is more for children.
One thing missing is voice commentary. Considering all the other Disney DVDs have this, and considering Kathryn Beaumont is on several features, it seems strange as to why they never did one for this film.
If you have an all-region DVD player, get the Masterpiece Edition from America. The film is fantastic, but if you're buying it for DVD extras, invest your money on the other version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 27 Feb 2006
I hardly remember seeing Alice in Wonderland from childhood, I only bought this DVD on the strength of the disney brand name and because it was on sale (ahem!).
It quickly became my favourite disney film, rising above Aladdin and Pocahontas. Quite a feat for a film with little storyline, told episodically with a rather unlikeable main character. Alice is rude and obnoxious but infinitely more interesting than most Disney leads, (good girls and drippy princes). The songs are great, especially the deleted one which you can see on this special edition, "Beyond The Laughing Sky".
Why Walt Disney felt this was Disney's weak link and disowned it is beyond me, I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ORIGINAL VERSION is BEST, 23 July 2012
By 
Rich & Maz (Norwich in UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having had the opportunity to watch ALL the DVD versions of one of absolutely fantastic animated classics from Disney and as a former (now retired) member of Disney Management staff, it is strikingly obvious that the charm and production of how we (of a certain age) remember so fondly the animation, and it is somehow lost that in the newer Disney releases, albeit digitally remastered, with the loss of widescreen vision, the over emphasis of sharp lines, etc.

Buy the Original Release if possible - you will not be disappointed.

It is a GREAT Story, timeless and for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made for a fantastic Christmas present, 17 Jan 2012
This review is from: Alice In Wonderland (60th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
bought this for a close friend at christmas and she loves it. dvd arrived in good time, can't say a bad word about the film or service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alice animated, 24 April 2011
By 
Michael O'brien (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a beautiful piece of 1950s style animation. There are some sequences reminiscent of the classic "Fantasia". Lots of famous names in the voice casting -- watch for Ed Wynn especially as the Mad Hatter!

This was televised as episode #2 of Walt Disney's television series, but it's great to be able to own the complete version in full colour.

Extras include a visit to the studio during the making of the movie, hosted by Walt Disney himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Mustard? Now Let's Not Be Silly.", 12 Dec 2008
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
One day while Alice (voiced by Kathryn Beaumont) is trying to pay attention to her lessons, she sees a White Rabbit (Bill Thompson) go by. This is no ordinary White Rabbit, however. He's looking at his pocket watch and worrying about being late. Curious, Alice follows him only to fall down a hole and land in Wonderland.

And what sort of place is Wonderland? It's a place where anything and everything can talk. Besides the animals, we've got a talking doorknob. Eating and drinking can make Alice grow and shrink. As she tries to follow the White Rabbit and find out where he is going, she meets Tweedledum and Tweedledee (J. Pat O'Malley), joins an Unbirthday Party with the Mad Hatter (Ed Wynn) and the March Hare (Jerry Colonna), has a couple run ins with the Cheshire Cat (Sterling Holloway), gets lost in a strange wood, and has plays crochet with the Queen of Hearts (Verna Felton). Will she ever get home?

It had been years since I'd seen this, so I had forgotten just how many songs there are in the movie. Just about every character sings one at some point. But there is a reason you don't remember most of them. They're just okay.

Really, this movie is just a series of adventures loosely held together by the White Rabbit. While that works for the books this movie is based on, it doesn't work quite as well here. I tend to get bored before we meet up with the Queen. Still, there are several funny scenes and several enjoyable songs.

Honestly, I enjoyed it more then I remember enjoying it. The kids will particularly love this wacky tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic disney, 28 Jan 2002
By A Customer
this is the disney classic brought to you in the new medium tidied up print for DVD. great songs and had my 3 year old daughter enthralled. Bonus material includes a Mickey Mouse cartoon Thru the looking glass, tarilers, a documentary on 'the making off' from 1951 and an art gallery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice...., 27 Feb 2011
By 
Tinksjane "tink" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am completely biased as this is my all time favourite Disney Movie. Alice is also my all time favourite story since my childhood.....there are many versions of it and to be frank, I pretty much like them all. This however, I love for its beautiful innocence and the blu ray doesnt disappoint....the clarity of the picture is truly amazing the colours outstanding and there is a ton of extras......Just love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alice In Wonderland (60th Anniversary Edition) [DVD]
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews