Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than given credit for!
The original Bambi is a true masterpiece in every way. For me, no other animated film tops it - not even Disney's crowning achievement, The Lion King. It is simply one of the best animated films out there. It's storytelling at its greatest. I heard great things about this sequel and I decided to check it out. I didn't expect it to live up to the original, because I knew...
Published on 19 Oct 2007 by Akida93

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bambii 2. my verdict!
I have to say that although the film was okay after seeing Bambii whoever wrote the sequel has obviously not watched the first film. There was no follow on or crossover with the original. Where was his true love Faline? where was the twitterpated animals partners that they had met at the end of the Original?? Shme as Disney films never usually disappoint!!
Published 4 months ago by V. May


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than given credit for!, 19 Oct 2007
This review is from: Bambi II [DVD] (DVD)
The original Bambi is a true masterpiece in every way. For me, no other animated film tops it - not even Disney's crowning achievement, The Lion King. It is simply one of the best animated films out there. It's storytelling at its greatest. I heard great things about this sequel and I decided to check it out. I didn't expect it to live up to the original, because I knew it wouldn't. However, it's still a really worthy successor, and here's why.

The animation is breathtaking, especially for a direct-to-video film. It's actually feature film quality, the reason being that Disney had been casting out all of its animators in favour of computers. People who worked on films like Brother Bear suddenly found themselves working on DTV projects. It's a sad truth, and I found this truth to be undertone in the film. Computer animation simply cannot capture the heart and the beauty of this little film. The artwork and backgrounds stay true to that of the original film. However, instead of being done by hand, the backgrounds are made using art programs on the computer. However, this is hardly noticeable.

Storywise, like the original, the plot is simple. It's what happens within the plot that is intense and touching. After his mother's death, Bambi has to be raised by his unwilling father - the Great Prince himself. What results is a very touching story about love and moving on. If Bambi 2 has one really big flaw, it's that there is too much dialogue. The first film only had enough to help you understand each character's personality. In Bambi, actions speak louder than words. But this is made up for the fact that the characters (like Thumper, for example) are hardly different from what they were in the original. This sort of thing is rare in a sequel, and in the given circumstances, this is very well-done here.

The musics are also close to the original, but with a more modern feel. Alison Krauss singing 'There is Life' in the opening accompanies the film very well. There's also music from the original too, which helps keep the emotion and essence of what Bambi is all about.

Now, I believe that most of Walt Disney's original films do NOT need sequels. But I felt that Bambi 2 was a real exception. It does not ruin the original in any way, despite the claims of Disney fanatics who probably haven't even seen it. I think that this is up with The Lion King II as Disney's best direct-to-video sequel. This beats the heck out of Disney's other sequels, Universal's five thousand Land Before Time sequels, the Balto sequels etc. This is a real winner in the world of DTV films, and if you're a fan of the original Bambi, this at least worth watching, and more than once!

Although, there are a few continuity errors with the first film. One example is that in the original, Thumper had five sisters, and in this film there are only four. Perhaps Bambi's mother wasn't the only mortality that winter...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the Kids, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: Bambi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this along with the First Bambi, and much prefer this one, the First Bambi was made in 1945 and is a classic, with beautiful animation and lovely music, but it was a bit much for my 3 year old to watch, she got bored very easily. I then watched this part two (which takes place in the middle of the first Bambi - just after his mother dies and he grows up) and she loved it, it is newer and fresher and has more appeal to her, she sat through this one from begining to end and then wanted to watch it again, so it is a winner for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 4 Jan 2012
By 
Mrs. J. M. Atkinson "J.M. Atkinson" (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bambi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
oh it's Bambi, what can I say, just buy it, not only will the kids be happy, you will like it yourself and you will have something for them to watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 12 April 2010
By 
Mrs. S. A. Addis (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bambi II [DVD] (DVD)
I dont know why but near the end it started to jump and freeze. The story line was not what I expected because I thought it would follow up from the first Bambi, not your fault obviously, but I still enjoyed the film for its content. It seemed to me that the first Bambi was the full story, the Bambi 11 was a spin off detailling the up-bringing of him becoming a stag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful film, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bambi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
my granddaughter Poppy adores it and now speaks the dialogue (much of which she has learned by watching it over and over) in an American accent!! She is two years old!! Thoroughly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bambi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A lovely sequel to one of Disney's most loved, well known movie masterpieces. It shows a more detailed story of Bambi and his father, The Great Prince, as they get through the loss of Bambi's mother together, and learn a great deal about each other along the way. Also one of the better Disney sequels made, not a disappointment or let-down to the original. I think it's cool that we get to see Ronno as an adolescent. Not surprisingly, he is an arrogant bully, especially towards Bambi (and such a show-off!) Overall, an enjoying, sweet film which does justice to the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bambi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
bambi is one of those films that is close to the heart it as excellent graphics fantastic story for adults and children and would recommend to anyone to watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what the Dr. ordered, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Paul (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DVD BAMBI 2 (DVD)
Thanks for the quick service. Kept a certain little lady quiet and entertained for ages, and now when ever she visits grand dad all I hear is "can I watch my movie"....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise; an excellent direct-to-video sequel of the classic, 11 Feb 2006
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Like many people who were weaned on the classic animated films made by Walt Disney, I have been less than thrilled by the onslaught of direct-to-video sequels the company has been producing the last dozen years. Starting with "The Return of Jafar" in 1994, we have not only seen sequels to many recent animated films, such as "Beauty and the Beast: Enchanted Christmas" and "Lion King II: Simba's Pride," but direct-to-video follow ups to some of those classic Disney films, as is the case with "Lady and the Tramp II: Scamp's Adventure" and "Cinderella II: Dreams Come True." Consequently, when I sat down to watch "Bambi II" I was fully expecting to be bitterly disappointed. Instead I was pleasantly surprised (actually, I was floored).
"Bambi II" begins with the well-remembered moment from the original when Bambi (voiced by Alexander Gould) is looking for his mother and The Great Prince of the Forest (Patrick Stewart) informs his son that she will not be coming back, and ends with Bambi still a fawn. The beloved characters Thumper (Brendon Baerg) and Flower (Nicky Jones) return, as does Feline (Andrea Bowen), but having more of an impact is a character who only appears briefly in the original, Ronno (Anthony Ghannam), another fawn whose antlers have already come in. Ronno not only keeps calling Bambi a baby and a coward, but is also making moves on Feline. Meanwhile, The Great Prince is having trouble with his new responsibility for raising his young son and teaching him the ways of the forest, and Bambi is trying to impress his father. Neither one of them is succeeding all that well.
Directed by Brian Pimental (who also voices both the Groundhog and the Porcupine), this 2006 direct-to-video release has several things going for it, starting with having Patrick Stewart voice Bambi's father. But the greatest strength is the
story by Pimental and Jeanne Rosenberg with a screenplay by Alicia Kirk inspired by the original story of "Bambi" by Felix Salten. Bambi is trying to learn how to confront his fear and stand up to Ronno and other dangers in the forest. The film never uses the phrase "deer caught in a headlight," but that is what Bambi looks like at times and it is something he needs to overcome. What I liked the best is that there are several moments when father and son start to connect, but it does not quite work out, so that there is actually some character development and not just a sudden happy ending. Overall, there is actually more of a plot here than simply Bambi growing up.
The animation is done in the same style of the original classic, and if it is not as rich in detail the differences are far less than you would expect from a direct-to-video feature. I have always considered "Bambi" to have the most beautiful artwork of any of the Disney films, and this one does not suffer that much in comparison (the animators do seem to like bright yellows more this time around). There is one cutesy animal sung song, "Let's Sing a Gay Little Spring Song," based on Frank Churchill's score for the original film, but most of the songs serve as backdrops for various sequences and are done by some familiar country singers: Alison Krauss' "There is Life," Michelle Lewis' "First Sign of Spring," and Martina McBride's "Through Your Eyes." Anthony Callea performs "The Healing of a Heart" during the closing credits.
The film is shown in "Family-Friendly Widescreen" (1.78:1), which is enhanced for 16 x 9 televisions, and also has a French language track. The bonus features on this DVD consist of a Making-Of featurette, "The Legacy Continues," and a "Bambi's Trivia Track" that can provide a constant stream of pop ups with fun facts as you watch the film. Kids will enjoy "Thumper's Hurry & Scurry Game" and there is also a "Disney Sketch Pad" piece in which Disney animator Andreas Deja teaches us how to draw Thumper.
The end result is a half-step down in quality from the original classic, which is amazing enough to justify rounding up on this one. Granted, no animated film will ever take the place that "Bambi" has in the collective psyche of the millions of youngsters who were devastated when Bambi's mother was killed. Still, "Bambi II" sets the bar pretty high for a sequel (it is certainly good enough that they could have released this to theaters) and we can only hope future direct-to-video offerings will follow suit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bambi 2, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: Bambi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Received in good time.
'Storyline' not quite as expected. Starts from where Bambi first loses his mother, but contains some of the scenes that happend beforehand in original. But still a delightful, amusing film anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bambi 2 [DVD]
Bambi 2 [DVD] by David Hand (DVD - 2006)
13.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews