Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give Way...Pearl Jam's Mainstream Triumph
To stop and give way to on-coming traffic. That's the definition of the word 'Yield' according to any dictionary you'll find. Pearl Jam probably titled their fifth album this because that's exactly what it does. Their previous two albums, that followed their multi-million selling debut, 'Ten' and their million-in-a-week selling sophomore, 'Vs', became more experimental,...
Published on 18 July 2004 by S. Wright

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay I suppose...
Now on to their fifth album they seem happiest when they havesomething in the way. The band vents their frustration during this year on a ticket agencey and unfortunately lose. Eddie Vedder hardly screams once on this album and seems to want to step back from making legendary performances and would rather stand there and bop and concentrate on singing only. The stands out...
Published on 5 Oct 1999


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My fave PJ album., 10 Mar 2007
This review is from: Yield (Audio CD)
It's always a matter of degrees with Pearl Jam, but this is the album that I love the most. Apart from several absolute classics (No Way, Given To Fly, Faithfull, Do The Evolution) it just has the most consistency. Yield pulls together all of the experiments of Vitalogy and No Code, and you feel that Eddie Vedder isn't ashamed of choruses again! When you watch 'Single Video Theory- The Yield Sessions' you see a band determined to show how good they are. They proved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated - vastly, 18 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Yield (Audio CD)
This album is thoughtful but has some great tunes. The first seven odd tracks are excellent, but the two best tracks are "Low Light" and "All Those Yesterdays" towards the end of the album. To me this album sounds like the bell tolling for grunge, as Vedder gives the last rites to a bloated genre, but it is a very fine epitaph. Now I wish someone would hurry up and do the same with nu metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yield to the mighty pj, 7 Jun 2007
By 
John thomasson "tommo" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yield (Audio CD)
brillant the stand out songs for me were faithfull,given to fly which u just wait for it to kick in and grab u then backs off again.wishlist is a thought provoking song makes u think in general listen u will understand as soon as u hear it,also remindeds me of pink floyd in some of the guitar parts (thats just a personal note).i could go on all night theres not a bad song on this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE FINEST ALBUM EVER MADE, 30 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Yield (Audio CD)
This album is so good it hurts! Best served loud! Given to Fly is the best song ever writtern and Do the Evolution contains one of the greatest riffs of all time. This outing for the Seattle band must be in your collection as provides one of the best insights into less mainstream music avoiding the tripe that we are forced to listen to at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Uncomfortable Middle child, 21 Aug 2007
This review is from: Yield (Audio CD)
I must admit i was extremely disappointed on hearing this album, its good but it lacks something, notable tracks is one thing. the only three that stand out of the mire are 'brain of J' 'do the evolution and 'given to fly' the latter only because how god awful it is. tracks like 'low light' and MFC are just pointless 'push me pull me' is slightly amusing and experimental but this album lacks the 'wow factor' of their previous efforts and has a neither here nor there style. it tries to be fresh whilst not offending the fans and doesn't pull it off. it good to listen too but nothing compared to the rest of their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best road sign in existence!, 22 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Yield (Audio CD)
It's Pearl Jam! At their best once again creating fantastic songs. It focuses alot more on quieter melodies than the fast paced songs like Brain of J and Do the Evolution. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Generally great, 9 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: Yield (Audio CD)
Although as with any Pearl Jam album there are odd 'experiments' such as '•', Yield is a very strong album if only for my personal two favourtie PJ songs oen after the other. Although i initially bought this album solely for the excellent cover (only time ive ever doen that) Given to Fly and Wishlist have quickly moved onto my list of the best songs I've ever heard. Also excellent are Faithfull and Do the Evolution, so I would certainly recommend a purchase, despite a couple of small flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pearl Jam get back to basics, 8 Dec 1999
This review is from: Yield (Audio CD)
Pearl Jam's best album since 'Vs', 'Yield' is loosely produced, which allows the energy of live recording and performance to shine through on songs like 'Brain of J' and 'Do the evolution'. This is more of an ensemble work, with a musically tighter band who write the songs as well as playing them. This increases the scope of 'Yield' (as reflected in the liner photographs) from the epic 'In Hiding' to the deeply personal 'Wishlist'. It sounds rougher than 'Ten' and is probably more akin to 'Vs', with a similar raw but vibrant feel. Excellent to lose yourself in - turn it up loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as good as 'vs'?, 24 Oct 2000
This review is from: Yield (Audio CD)
The best album from Eddie and the boys since 'vs', Yield sees Pearl Jam back to their best. Brain of J kicks the album of to a rocking start, Given to Fly evokes Led Zep at their finest, Do the Evolution has a wonderful off-kilter riff, MFC rocks and In Hiding is the extension to the Daughter/Rearviewmirror legacy. ESSENTIAL, buy this album now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay I suppose..., 5 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Yield (Audio CD)
Now on to their fifth album they seem happiest when they havesomething in the way. The band vents their frustration during this year on a ticket agencey and unfortunately lose. Eddie Vedder hardly screams once on this album and seems to want to step back from making legendary performances and would rather stand there and bop and concentrate on singing only. The stands out songs here are 'Do The Evolution, Brain of J, No Way and Faithful'. This is a picture of a pioneering band passing on the 'Make a Difference' torch falling behind and taking whatever audience they have and going with what they have. 'Wishlist' outlines Eddies hopes and dreams for the future. Eddie often talks about how important the fans are, but they fail to realize that not all of their fans live in America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yield
Yield by Pearl Jam
Buy MP3 Album5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews