Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A radical explanation of how the body can can cleanse itself
This book is as fresh today as when it was first written by Dr Henry Beiler in 1965. He gives his experience in treating the illnesses of people from all walks of life using only available foods. His explanation of how the body, given the support of proper foods, can cleanse itself is radical. Illness, Dr Bieler shows in a new light. His clarification of the function...
Published on 6 Aug 2000 by whittch606@netscapeonline.co.uk

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but impractical and possibly misleading
This book gives a thorough explanation of how the body works and how diseases result from toxin accumulation and so on. The advice on avoiding processed foods, fats, stimulants (caffeine and alcohol) sugar and drugs is now accepted wisdom, as is a diet high in alkalising fruit and veg, with moderated protein consumption. There are many interesting explanations of how...
Published 11 months ago by undine


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A radical explanation of how the body can can cleanse itself, 6 Aug 2000
This book is as fresh today as when it was first written by Dr Henry Beiler in 1965. He gives his experience in treating the illnesses of people from all walks of life using only available foods. His explanation of how the body, given the support of proper foods, can cleanse itself is radical. Illness, Dr Bieler shows in a new light. His clarification of the function of the liver and his gentle remedies are awe inspiring. This book is for anyone fed up with medical drugs-they should find it an eye-opener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food is Your Best Medicine by Henry G.Bieler,M.D., 25 April 2009
By 
Mrs. M. M. Ledlie (Buckinghamshire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another amazing book and a total 'must read ' for anyone interested in how food/nutrition affects our physiology - in every way = since we are biochemical creatures, and everything we put on our skin and down our throat has a biochemical reaction, every time.
Henry Bieler has for me brought to life what was taught in text books, meaning all the inter-reactions between the digestive system and associated systems. He studied endocrinology in Europe, and has been a medical practitioner for over 50 years, giving also case histories, and tells why and how causes what and what could be done to help some conditions. Wonderful research! I found this book tucked away in one paragraph in John O.A.Pagano,D.C.'s book: Healing Psoriasis, the Natural Alternative..........and am so happy that I have come across both books.
Monica Ledlie, Buckinghamshire,England
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why were we not taught this at school?, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Anna Drozdova (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a book to study at school and college. In a simple way the author explains how our body works its wonders and how to maintain one's health. Written a long time ago still is very up to date. Very interesting, informative and practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but impractical and possibly misleading, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives a thorough explanation of how the body works and how diseases result from toxin accumulation and so on. The advice on avoiding processed foods, fats, stimulants (caffeine and alcohol) sugar and drugs is now accepted wisdom, as is a diet high in alkalising fruit and veg, with moderated protein consumption. There are many interesting explanations of how the thyroid, adrenals and pituitary glands are involved in various processes, worth getting the book just for that.

Shocking to read that ice-cream (even home made) is a "highly putrefactive protein mixture" and that the more animal proteins are cooked, the more toxic they become. The solution is to eat raw or rare meat - not something many could face. Egg whites should never be cooked, yolks only lightly - even if you ignore the salmonella risk, how many could face a raw egg for breakfast? And where can you get raw, unpasteurised milk these days? Not sure I agree with banning salt either: processed table salt most definitely, but Himalayan or unprocessed sea salt is surely needed in small quantities.

Having just read Ben Goldacre's "Bad Science" I am doubtful of a lot of the information in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why aren't there more doctors like Bieler?, 20 Mar 2012
By 
Koriel Tannhauser (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
In my personal opinion, this is the book that everyone should read, if they wish to live a healthier and longer life. It will give you a lot of information on the link between a diet and common diseases (which most of "health professionals" simply ignore, as they prefer to pump your body with different pills and drugs). The famous "Bieler's Soup" is also discussed throughout the book - this puree of zucchini and string beans (rich sources of organic potassium and sodium), plus celery and parsley brings the body to a more alkaline state, which allows it to clean and revitalize itself. Assuming that you would follow other important points from the book, this will greatly increase a healing process.

Please bear in mind, that this is not a "typical diet" book or "how to lose weight" book. Rather it describes a process of changing your eating habits (and gives you answer as to why you should do that), so at the end your own body can heal itself. Mind you, that process can take a while: sometimes weeks or months, sometimes more than that - but the end result is worth it. If everyone would follow advices of Dr. Bieler, we would have a much healthier society as a whole. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory Reading, 12 Mar 2013
This book is simply astonishing in its simplicity and for being still valid and up to date in its thinking.
Sure there are a few mistakes, based on then faulty scientific research, but this book is truly paradigm shifting,
Its simplicity lies in the fact, that in this overcomplicated world it goes back to basics.
You are sick? How about instead of drugging you, we look at what you are eating, and via negativa, try to correct your diet?
Sounds too simple. As Leonardo DiVinci said, sometimes simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
Just read the book, if you want to live a healthy and happy life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Health concious, 1 Feb 2010
By 
A very interesting book, simple written, good for everyone who cares about himself or his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food Science, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food Is Your Best Medicine (Kindle Edition)
Very long winded and very techie but interesting. Can only read this sort of stuff in snatches but this is for anybody interested in their body
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changes the way you think of illness and disease, 28 Aug 2014
This book has helped me to overcome my chronic eczema, when no ointments, creams or tablets could. This book has helped me rethink eczema and other diseases such as cancer. I recommend this book to anyone who is tried of being put on stronger and stronger medication with no positive results and wants an effective and lasting way of overcoming their illness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars food is your best medicine, 29 Jan 2014
By 
R. Horn (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an aging person I am having difficulty reading the small print of the book but what I have been able to read I am interested in. Next purchase is a magnifying glass as most of my reading is now done on Kindle which I can enlarge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Food Is Your Best Medicine
Food Is Your Best Medicine by Henry G. Bieler Md
£3.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews