Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars54
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£9.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 9 November 2010
The spirit of the resurrected Doctor Who endures in this latest soundtrack. There are very few tracks I would skip, and that's saying something given the huge number of tracks on the CD (thank you Murray, THANK YOU!!!). I definitely agree with an earlier reviewer, that this is the best soundtrack since Series 3 (a few more listening sessions will be required before I can ascertain if it is actually an improvement). I think it's fair to say that a soundtrack deserves a full five stars when hearing it repeatedly brings an uncontrollable smile to one's face.

One of the things I like most about the series 5 music is how Murray Gold slipped in a few tunes from the Specials music, essentially 'bridging' Series 4 and 5. For example, listen to the beginning of "The Sun's Gone Wibbly" from series 5 and then "The World Waits" from the Specials soundtrack. My inner-nerd squeals in delight when I recognise familiar tunes. At the same time, the new music sounds very distinct.

I think a real mark of the quality of a soundtrack is when it contains music that you didn't notice during the film/program, but absolutely love listening to on its own. This is the case for tracks such as "A Lonely Decision", and "Victory of the Daleks". Murray should also be commended for tracks such as "The Time of Angels". Normally I don't like intended-to-be-creepy music so much (with the exception of "Blink" from Doctor Who series 3), but the Angels track is just SO creepy. Doctor Who doesn't really scare me but this music would if I ever listened to it at night alone with the lights off (which I will never, ever do).

Of course, the soundtrack's crowning achievement is the new theme, titled under "I Am The Doctor". What an incredible tune! It encapsulates all the epicness, mystery and joy of Doctor Who. I'm still a little sad that the old Doctor's Theme has been decommissioned (Murray, if it made a few returns in later music, just every now and then, that would make my life), but "I Am The Doctor" is the perfect successor. I love how it's revisited in several tracks, without getting tiresome.

The only thing that prevents the series 5 soundtrack from being perfect is the omission of one of my favourite bits of music, from the "Amy's Choice" episode - there's a really rousing piece which plays while the Doctor is in the butcher's shop and he's trying to escape from the murderous geriatrics before he falls asleep again. I mourn its absence...
22 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
I am a Doctor Who fan. I greatly enjoyed Series 5, and Murray Gold's score. But these CD's fail to deliver, as many of the most memorable parts are not included. The vocal action theme, the eerie Crack music, the recurrent "sad" piece - none of these appear on either disc.

The first disc contains most of the music from "The Eleventh Hour" and some randomly selected pieces from the episodes up to 9. The second contains tracks from episodes 10 and 11 but is mostly taken up by music from episodes 12 and 13, and even some of the music I remember from those is not here.

I appreciate that not everything can be included, but I find it perplexing that unfamiliar 1-minute tracks from episodes 10 and 11 have been chosen over tunes that appeared regularly throughout the series, especially when the discs contain 28 and 30 tracks respectively. Surely there was space to include the main pieces if there was room for fairly uninteresting once-off songs?

In addition, the track "I am the Doctor" is edited incorrectly - near the end of the track it cuts off suddenly and plays the closing moments, clearly skipping a bit. I thought this was possibly from damage on my own disc, but some quick internet research told me that they all have the same problem. You're only losing 30 seconds or so of music, but the sheer clumsiness of it irritates me.

So in short, apart from one piece of sloppy production, the CD does contain quality soundtrack music from Murray Gold, but the songs are very poorly chosen. Thus if you paid attention to the music as you watched the series you may find yourself disappointed.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
Doctor Who Series 5 * * * *
Music composed by Murray Gold
Silva SILCD1345
Disc 1 67:27; Disc 2 64:51

The fifth season developed Murray Gold's output by quite a bit. A new doctor and new team have made for some interesting changes to the Who universe, not least with that main title. Gone is the rich strings and twang. There's a lot more boom and electronica with this one, and it's starting to really grow on me.

The music Gold uses for Amy in 3: Little Amy is delightfully simple with a 4-note motif and solo voice. Nothing ever stays the same and the comedy effects used in the next track are brilliant, almost farce in nature.

Moving further into the disc, 7: The Sun's Gone Wibbly ramps the strings and here we get a hint of the main Doctor XI's theme. It's a lovely drum backed, rousing piece later built higher with a choir. 8: Zero ramps the orchestra ever higher, though it's 9: I am the Doctor where Gold really lets his hair down. That 7-note repeating melody coupled with that crazy piano just builds ever higher and is very, very catchy indeed. 10: The Mad Man with a Box powers home Amy's theme with a solo voice and with 11: Amy in the Tardis and that choir wrapping up selections from the Eleventh Hour.

The next selections come from The Beast Below and these make a low-key affair with a mystery to solve, yet alternated with fast paced chases. Yet change this for 13: Amy Theme sung with a solo voice, which is a beautiful piece of music. Though 14: A Lonely Decision pours on the realisation through tortured strings and choir of what could have been done and why certain things don't always turn out the way you think.

Three selections from Victory of the Daleks come next and Gold really powers home the French horns and brass for 16: Victory of the Daleks. The militaristic vibes get ramped ever higher in 17: Battle in the Sky where Gold fires in fast brassy exchanges as the Spitfires take on the Dalek ship.

Those `bleedin' angels were back in the next couple of tracks and in 18: River's Path a fast percussive chase sequence rattles along. However 19: The Time of Angels is a damn scary bit of music with Gold adding in otherworldly string based hits, a deep pounding backing, and a dancing percussive device. He also meshes a little of the music from Midnight just to turn the screw a little more. Not to be played alone.

The Vampires of Venice is next and has a lyrical quality about it, yet tinged with powerful undercurrents; yes horror is back here too. The music meanders through this Venetian affair, feeling smaller and closed in on the initial tracks, though 22: Signora Rosanna Calvierri ends rather powerfully. On 23: Cab for Amy Pond we ramp up the tension with that dancing cello beat, coupled with percussion, and a repeating 4-note motif as Amy, Rory and the Doctor get away. The final track 24: The Vampires of Venice wraps up the music from this episode nicely. A powerful movement with choir and orchestra builds and builds, yet tempered with that descending theme for the main character's plight.

The final four tracks come from Amy's Choice and the two part The Hungry Earth/Cold Blood. The two tracks for Amy's Choice convey unease and otherworldly swaying brass. Which is the real world? Which isn't? Deep bass rumbles away, let the viewer and listener decide. The other two tracks for The Hungry Earth are 27 and 28. 27: Rio de Cwmtaff which depicts a `run along' community where nothing much happens - until Gold adds in a bit of eerie synthesised backing and heavy bass. 28: The Silurians starts off low key with an ominous string led movement. Then alternate that with a cycling string melody and a powerful 3-note brassy theme and a descending string back. The Silurians mean business!

Disc 2 covers the Vincent and the Doctor for the first 5 tracks. This was a lovely story and 2: Vincent encompasses the 5-note motif Gold uses for the painter. A more reflective, warmer version is covered in 3: Hidden Treasures as the Doctor and Amy visit Vincent at home. In 5: With Love, Vincent, Gold reuses this theme and powerfully builds on it as Vincent gets shown what his true work means to the masses.

The next 8 tracks cover The Lodger episode and Murray Gold scores a simple piano theme for the two lovebirds, yet tinges and hints with ominous undercurrents to what's upstairs. However, his music for 10: A Useful Striker, with a cracking 6-note theme ramped for the Doctor playing football, is brilliant.

Other than this highlight we shall now move on to the main event. The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang which comprises the last 22 tracks. Murray Gold opens with 14: River Runs Through it with a 3-note theme and raucous brass describing River's hurried exit from the spacecraft.

16: Beneath Stonehenge has all the mystery you would ever want, with hints of the Doctor's theme and Cybermen. The lovely clarinet descends and further hints at the Cybermen theme make this track rather special. Gold now starts to build the orchestra with 19: The Pandorica and an 8-note motif builds and builds.

20: Words Win Wars just says it all with a powerful 7-note run of the Doctor's theme as he lets his enemies know he means business and Gold swells out the orchestra with a lovely flourish. 21: The Life and Death of Amy Pond is a slow tempo piece played over Amy getting shot and the Doctor being dragged into the Pandorica against his will.

22: Amy's Starless Life is almost a repeat of track 3, however, ominous bass heralds all is not well as there are no stars in the night sky. Hurried strings and percussion cover the next track 23: Into the Museum as little Amy approaches the Pandorica, with a little hint of a powerful 3-note motif building as it finally opens. Continued on in the next track the Doctor theme plays as it opens, though with a flourish of percussion. 27: The Same Sonic is a bouncy affair, though 28: Honey I'm Home covers River's desperate attempts to escape the Tardis with Gold utilising a 1-2 then 1-2-3 repeating melody on percussion and brass.

30: A River of Tears features an alternating melody with string swathes setting up the Doctor's plight. Slow piano now plays in 31: The Sad Man with a Box. Murray Gold now adds a delightfully sad melody backing for Amy and the Doctor's final chat. The orchestra now builds ever higher as the Doctor heads into oblivion. Once again the Doctor's theme is revisited as he heads in. Meanwhile, everything has reset and in 32: You and Me, Amy delightfully covers her new family and Gold supplies a lovely cycling melody as the big day beckons. 33: The Big Day is where Murray Gold throws in a 3-note motif for the razzmatazz as we lead to the big speech. That motif reappears as River Song appears at the window. 34: I Remember You is superb as Gold slowly builds the orchestra: Amy has remembered, and that 3-note theme builds once more, and with a flourish, the Doctor's theme is back.

35: Onwards! Features the return of that Doctor motif in a grand punchy version with that eclectic alternate theme, with Gold building in brassy flares to top it all off - this has wrapped off the disc in style.

The booklet is well written and Murray Gold has done it again. There is a bit of everything in this one and whilst it doesn't flow quite as well as the single disc versions, it's an excellent showcase on one of Britain's most talented composers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2011
First of all I want to pay attention to the artwork of this CD. Great new logo. Nice picture of the Doctor and Amy in action. The never to be forgotten TARDIS on the background and the most important of this season's show: the Crack in the Wall. Also the inside of the CD is stunning. The skittle Daleks greet you! The Doctor looks at you, begging you to play the CD he's printed on.
The little booklet inside will treat you with nice pictures from the show. Murray Gold himself writes a little piece to introduce the soundtrack. Next he tells a little something about the songs that have featured under a particular episode of the 5th series.
When accesing the second CD you'll see River Song on the back ground. On the CD the companion of the Doctor is printed: Amy Pond. Conclusion: The Graphics are wonderfull!

The system of flipping the CD confused me a little and therefor I broke the case. Where I'm used to get to the second CD like flipping a page in a book; this time it was the other way around. Be carefull not to make the same mistake, where it now causes me problems with closing the CD when I'm finished listening.

The music itselves it wonderfull. Most of the song make you relive the show you've watched on the television. Personal favourites are The Sun's Gone Wibbly; I Am The Doctor; Amy in the TARDIS; With Love, Vincent; A River Of Tears.
The songs are able to get you into the mood they want you to be. Especially With Love, Vincent had me in tears where the song made me think of the beautiful but sad scene being played in the episode. The River Song songs give you a feeling of mystery.
And the Doctor's theme (I Am The Doctor) returns in many ways in other songs of the soundtrack. I especially like the appearance of it in the end of Amy in the TARDIS, where the drumming kicks in. But if it were a little bit longer it would have been even more epic.

I'd suggest this to all who loved Doctor Who series 5 and to those who like Soundtracks in general.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
Well what can i say? This is perhaps the best Doctor Who score to date, as has been said before there is not a single bad track on the two disc set.

There is, however, a manufacturing fault with disc one (track 9) which is currently being remastered and the replacement disc being re-issued by silvascreen towards the end of November.

Contact Silvascreen on their website to obtain a replacement disc

Enjoy this quality score and hurry up and release the Doctor Who Proms 2010 score!!!
88 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2011
Murray Gold has started from scratch for this series of Doctor Who with a fantastic new musical identity for the Doctor. I was pleasantly surprised to find that a 1/3 of the running time of the first CD was comprised from "The Eleventh Hour". This episode introduced all of the new main themes, "I Am The Doctor" is the Doctor's new theme, and even Amy's Theme is one of the best written for a companion. The remaining tracks from the first CD come from the other episodes in the first half of the series and all sound amazing. The highlight of the whole release has to be the tracks used in "The Pandorica Opens" and "The Big Bang" which takes up 42 minutes on the second CD. The most poignant and epic tracks have all been included. The recording is amazingly crisp and hats off to the BBC Orchestra of Wales who sound fantastic as always. If you liked what you heard in the series when it was on TV, on album it sounds even better. The 2CD release makes this the best Doctor Who soundtrack to date.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
Murray Gold is renowned by Who fans everywhere for his consistantly brilliant, on your feet music to accompany the equally excellent revived television series. However, Gold has been recently criticised by a handful of fans complaining his music is no longer fresh, with too many recurring themes. But, with a completely new series on it's way, Murray Gold was give the chance to create an all new collection of historic themes, and he did not disappoint. A few of which I have described below:

I Am The Doctor: Easily the most stand out theme of the series, this upbeat piece used to accompany Matt Smith's Doctor along his travels has that certain theme of fairytale adventure that fitted the series perfectly. Like All The Strange, Strange Creatures of the Tenth Doctor era, it has been turned into all sorts of variations, and can fit the mood of any scene.

The Mad Man With A Box: A piece often used in the early stages of the series in the dialogue scenes between the Doctor and Amy Pond, this theme was criticised at the Prom because of the way it was sung, however Murray Gold ignored the protests and kept it as it is, which sounds much better. The piece was revamped for the series finale in the Pandorica climax, in which it featured to great effect.

Amy's Theme: Used mainly in the first two episodes of series five/fnarg, this theme highlights the fairytale nature of Amy's relationship with the Doctor. The piece is used less once Rory joins the TARDIS, as the stories focus more on how Amy learns that she really does love Rory.

The Life And Death Of Amy Pond: It may not be used again in the series, but it certainly highlights the emotion of the Doctor's downfall and the death of Amy Pond. The piece does exceptionally well to get across the utter despair of the cliffhanger.

Overall the soundtrack is a classic, and possibly the best music Doctor Who has ever had to offer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2011
It has long been a bone of contention that russell t davies was allowed to overblow dr who into a massive pomp festival potraying the doc as a loud show-off saving the olympics and acting as a messiah in one episode actually flying!!!
Stephen moffatt has successfully rebooted the series with the clever use of a crack in time that undoes most of whats gone before (ie:the world cant remember a dalek invasion,no,two or a giant robot transformer in london town or indeed the titanic landing on the palace) He has taken it back to what made it great as a time travelling hero that saves the world but perhaps on a smaller scale. (we'll ignore the giant eyeballs in the debut)
The soundtrack captures that fairytale feel that moffatt wanted with the new doctor which some have balked at but i welcome the new theme tune may not have the same puch as the last series but it dose grow on you ,amy's theme is haunting perhaps revealing some as yet un disclosed relevance in her tale, the early track young amy is very haunting and chldlike in its execution reminding me somewhat of pan's labrynth or even earl tim burton when he was good.
some of the tracks are filler despite the huge double cd but some of these arent long enough! the pompous Victory of the daleks track had my daughter running for her supreme dalek toy as she recognised the tune...

however the main outstanding tune and indeed theme running through the album is the wonder ful "i am the doctor" the string riff is both haunting and sinister but uplifting at the same time melded with various other tunes throughout, the doctor's theme could get repetetive but it doesnt,i love it...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 February 2011
Silva America presents "DOCTOR WHO:SERIES 5 [SOUNDTRACK]", Music performed by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and Crouch end Festival Chorus, Conducted by Ben Foster -- Solo vocals by Yamit Mamo, Melanie Pappenheim and Dorie Jackson.

The double album features music from all 13 episodes of Series 5 and includes the new arrangement of the classic Doctor Who theme as well as a number of new themes for the Doctor and his assistant Amy Pond.

Steven Moffat's new vision of Doctor Who, with Matt Smith as the eleventh Doctor, is perfectly matched by Murray Gold's score. Completing music for over 50 episodes in a prolific five years, Murray Gold has proven to be the contemporary composer of choice for Doctor Who.

Murray Gold is one of the most powerful British composers working in film and TV and recent successes include "Alien Autopsy", "Casanova", "Shameless" and "Mischief Night". Who currently worked with Frank Oz on the film "Death At A Funeral" as well as music for the Dr. Who spin-off TORCHWOOD.

Mr. Jim's Ratings:
Quality of Sound: 5 Stars
Performance: 5 Stars
Mixing: 5 Stars
Overall: 5 Stars [Arrangements & Song Selection]

Total Time: 2 CD Set ~ Silva America ~ (02/08/2011)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2011
One of the most important ingredients in Doctor Who has been its incidental music as well as the famous theme at the beginning and end of each episode. In the new Doctor Who, Murray Gold together with the BBC Orchestra has done a tremendous job in realizing music to tell us how we should feel while we are watching and listening to scary confrontations with aliens and how relations develop between the Doctor and his companions. Now that Doctor Who is more relationship-based than in the classic series, Murray Gold composes special themes for the main characters to reinforce their emotions and behaviour. Additionally he uses his music to make you scared and an example of this is the appearance of the weeping angels. Without losing the original rhythm of the theme music, he has created a more dramatic and mysterious version of the opening and closing theme music, which fits perfectly with the title sequence. His music is easy to listen to and for me,a significant improvement to the synthesized music of the past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)