Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Murray Gold
Well what can i say? This is perhaps the best Doctor Who score to date, as has been said before there is not a single bad track on the two disc set.

There is, however, a manufacturing fault with disc one (track 9) which is currently being remastered and the replacement disc being re-issued by silvascreen towards the end of November.

Contact...
Published on 10 Nov. 2010 by Martin Sneath

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing
I am a Doctor Who fan. I greatly enjoyed Series 5, and Murray Gold's score. But these CD's fail to deliver, as many of the most memorable parts are not included. The vocal action theme, the eerie Crack music, the recurrent "sad" piece - none of these appear on either disc.

The first disc contains most of the music from "The Eleventh Hour" and some randomly...
Published on 28 Oct. 2011 by Aldris247


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Murray Gold, 10 Nov. 2010
By 
Martin Sneath (Leicester, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 5 (Audio CD)
Well what can i say? This is perhaps the best Doctor Who score to date, as has been said before there is not a single bad track on the two disc set.

There is, however, a manufacturing fault with disc one (track 9) which is currently being remastered and the replacement disc being re-issued by silvascreen towards the end of November.

Contact Silvascreen on their website to obtain a replacement disc

Enjoy this quality score and hurry up and release the Doctor Who Proms 2010 score!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The joy of a new Doctor Who soundtrack!, 9 Nov. 2010
By 
Chantal Lyons "C.S. Lyons" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 5 (Audio CD)
The spirit of the resurrected Doctor Who endures in this latest soundtrack. There are very few tracks I would skip, and that's saying something given the huge number of tracks on the CD (thank you Murray, THANK YOU!!!). I definitely agree with an earlier reviewer, that this is the best soundtrack since Series 3 (a few more listening sessions will be required before I can ascertain if it is actually an improvement). I think it's fair to say that a soundtrack deserves a full five stars when hearing it repeatedly brings an uncontrollable smile to one's face.

One of the things I like most about the series 5 music is how Murray Gold slipped in a few tunes from the Specials music, essentially 'bridging' Series 4 and 5. For example, listen to the beginning of "The Sun's Gone Wibbly" from series 5 and then "The World Waits" from the Specials soundtrack. My inner-nerd squeals in delight when I recognise familiar tunes. At the same time, the new music sounds very distinct.

I think a real mark of the quality of a soundtrack is when it contains music that you didn't notice during the film/program, but absolutely love listening to on its own. This is the case for tracks such as "A Lonely Decision", and "Victory of the Daleks". Murray should also be commended for tracks such as "The Time of Angels". Normally I don't like intended-to-be-creepy music so much (with the exception of "Blink" from Doctor Who series 3), but the Angels track is just SO creepy. Doctor Who doesn't really scare me but this music would if I ever listened to it at night alone with the lights off (which I will never, ever do).

Of course, the soundtrack's crowning achievement is the new theme, titled under "I Am The Doctor". What an incredible tune! It encapsulates all the epicness, mystery and joy of Doctor Who. I'm still a little sad that the old Doctor's Theme has been decommissioned (Murray, if it made a few returns in later music, just every now and then, that would make my life), but "I Am The Doctor" is the perfect successor. I love how it's revisited in several tracks, without getting tiresome.

The only thing that prevents the series 5 soundtrack from being perfect is the omission of one of my favourite bits of music, from the "Amy's Choice" episode - there's a really rousing piece which plays while the Doctor is in the butcher's shop and he's trying to escape from the murderous geriatrics before he falls asleep again. I mourn its absence...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best music from the series so far.., 8 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 5 (Audio CD)
Whilst I disagree with one of the other reviewers who said that the music from the Specials was non descript, I have to agree that this is definitely better. The previous CD, taken from the Specials had loads of good tracks on, but some of it was a little too familiar.

This CD is full of new sounds. A new doctor, with a new tardis deserves a new score and Murray Gold has really delivered here. Plenty of variety and some really excellent themes. The opening titles have been given a tasty reworking and I love the new themes for Amy and the Doctor. Very memorable and evoke the TV series very nicely. There are many other tunes which capture the mood of the series but are just as good as musical pieces in their own right.

I used to think that the music for series 3 was the best, but I have changed my mind. If you only buy one Doctor Who soundtrack make it this one. However you really should get the others as well, as they are all good. Oh and while your about it you should check out the two soundtracks from Torchwood, you should enjoy those too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Onwards!, 14 Nov. 2010
By 
D. Dove (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 5 (Audio CD)
I can't claim to have been anything but annoyed by Gold's repetitive jingle jangles in the previous series of Doctor Who, but everything was ramped up for Series 5. He got us straight into The Eleventh Hour with an absolutely spectacular accompaniment to the explosive opening, then enchanted us with Little Amy's theme. Whether it's the touching and honest 'With Love, Vincent', or the empowering and conquering 'Words Win Wars', this is a must-have for any Who fan for whom Series 5 was a real eye opener. This music would make a fine cinematic accompaniment, let alone a televisual one. Fine work.

(This has been superlative-laced and hyperbolic to say the least, but there are no simpler words to describe Gold's achievements here.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The soundtrack has regenerated into something new and brilliant!, 9 Nov. 2010
By 
Ms. S. M. Watts (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 5 (Audio CD)
This is my first ever review so here goes nothing... I have listened to the soundtrack and they are all absolutely brilliant! Here is a short summery of why this soundtrack is worth buying and I will be telling you what I believe my favourite tracks on the album are.

The Eleventh Hour.

The tracks in The Eleventh Hour are absolutely brilliant. This is because they really introduced the music for the new series, especially the track entitled "I Am The Doctor". This track introduced the eleventh Doctor's theme and the theme that would be played throughout the entire series.

The Beast Below.

These tracks will have you listening on the edge of your seat and making you emotional at times too. Especially "Amy's Theme". This track shows some of the ultimate power of Murray Gold's music.

Victory Of The Daleks.

This section of the soundtrack is entirely orchestral. These tracks are mind blowing and a complete joy to listen to. The track "Victory Of The Daleks" will remind listeners of the first time the Dalek's appeared in series 5 in all different spectacular colours.

The Time Of Angels/ Flesh And Stone

Perhaps the most scariest tracks of the soundtrack. These tracks will definitely have you hiding behind the sofa haha.

The Vampires Of Venice.

Great tracks to listen to. "Cab For Amy Pond" and "The Vampires Of Venice" will certainly get your heart pumping with all the fast paced music.

Amy's Choice.

These mind boggling tracks will leave you wondering if you are in reality or if you are dreaming. The tracks can change style very quickly.

The Hungry Earth/ Cold Blood

Don't go digging while listening to these tracks. You don't want to be pulled under and meet what is below! These tracks will take your mind back to the "Homo Reptilia" and their hibernation home under the earth.

Vincent And The Doctor.

These beautiful tracks will probably seem more "peaceful" than any other tracks from other episodes. A slower version of "I Am The Doctor" is included in the track "A Troubled Man" which will remind listeners of the pain Vincent Van Gough had to go through.

The Lodger.

These tracks are intended to be comical and cheerful, just like the episode itself. What makes this episode cheerful is James Corden playing Craig. "A Useful Striker" will remind listeners of when The Doctor played football brilliantly.

The Pandorica Opens/ The Big Bang.

All of these tracks are on a separate disc because there are so many of them! Murray gold had to face his biggest challenge yet by creating music for the final two episodes of series 5. He succeeded! Tracks such as "The Life And Death Of Amy Pond" and "The Sad Man With A Box" will have you crying your eyes out. Whereas other tracks such as "I Remember You" and "Onwards" will have you shouting in joy!

My favourite tracks in the album will probably be:

"Can I Come With You?"
"I Am The Doctor"
"The Mad Man With A Box"
"Amy's Theme"
"The Vampires Of Venice"
"Kiss The Girl"
"Words Win Wars"
"The Life And Death Of Amy Pond"
"A River Of Tears"
"The Sad Man With A Box"
"I Remember You"
"Onwards!"

Hope you find this review helpful.
Doctor Who: Series 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GERONIMO! Its Doctor Who time again!, 4 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 5 (Audio CD)
Simply put - this soundtrack is AMAZING!! I loved it - and the haunting sounds of 'I am the Dctor" sends shivers up my spine every time I listen - I half expect The TARDIS to materialise...or am I hoping too much?

Whether your a whovian or a newcomer to the good Doctor - you will really enjoy the pieces on the cd.

ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Doctor, New Sound...Brilliant, 10 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 5 (Audio CD)
I have always said that there are only two types of music in this world, music you like and music you don't like. After listening to this 2 disc spectacular I am thinking of adding a third type...music you love! I love this soundtrack. I adore "I am The Doctor", as well as the new theme and the music for Amy. I can't stop listening to it. Thankyou Murray Gold, Ben Foster and the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, a brilliant effort all round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Lover, 9 Nov. 2010
By 
R. Hart "Russell" (Ilkeston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 5 (Audio CD)
This is a epic 2 cd disk set. I dont normally listen to every track on the cd as i dont like them all but there isnt one that i would skip on both disks witch as someone else says is briliant to say there are loads of tracks. I recomend this to any Doctor Who Fan or people that liek Classical instumental music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing, 28 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 5 (Audio CD)
I am a Doctor Who fan. I greatly enjoyed Series 5, and Murray Gold's score. But these CD's fail to deliver, as many of the most memorable parts are not included. The vocal action theme, the eerie Crack music, the recurrent "sad" piece - none of these appear on either disc.

The first disc contains most of the music from "The Eleventh Hour" and some randomly selected pieces from the episodes up to 9. The second contains tracks from episodes 10 and 11 but is mostly taken up by music from episodes 12 and 13, and even some of the music I remember from those is not here.

I appreciate that not everything can be included, but I find it perplexing that unfamiliar 1-minute tracks from episodes 10 and 11 have been chosen over tunes that appeared regularly throughout the series, especially when the discs contain 28 and 30 tracks respectively. Surely there was space to include the main pieces if there was room for fairly uninteresting once-off songs?

In addition, the track "I am the Doctor" is edited incorrectly - near the end of the track it cuts off suddenly and plays the closing moments, clearly skipping a bit. I thought this was possibly from damage on my own disc, but some quick internet research told me that they all have the same problem. You're only losing 30 seconds or so of music, but the sheer clumsiness of it irritates me.

So in short, apart from one piece of sloppy production, the CD does contain quality soundtrack music from Murray Gold, but the songs are very poorly chosen. Thus if you paid attention to the music as you watched the series you may find yourself disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murray Golds latest foray in the Who Universe, 7 April 2011
By 
Mr. R. C. Thewlis (Matlock, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 5 (Audio CD)
Doctor Who Series 5 * * * *
Music composed by Murray Gold
Silva SILCD1345
Disc 1 67:27; Disc 2 64:51

The fifth season developed Murray Gold's output by quite a bit. A new doctor and new team have made for some interesting changes to the Who universe, not least with that main title. Gone is the rich strings and twang. There's a lot more boom and electronica with this one, and it's starting to really grow on me.

The music Gold uses for Amy in 3: Little Amy is delightfully simple with a 4-note motif and solo voice. Nothing ever stays the same and the comedy effects used in the next track are brilliant, almost farce in nature.

Moving further into the disc, 7: The Sun's Gone Wibbly ramps the strings and here we get a hint of the main Doctor XI's theme. It's a lovely drum backed, rousing piece later built higher with a choir. 8: Zero ramps the orchestra ever higher, though it's 9: I am the Doctor where Gold really lets his hair down. That 7-note repeating melody coupled with that crazy piano just builds ever higher and is very, very catchy indeed. 10: The Mad Man with a Box powers home Amy's theme with a solo voice and with 11: Amy in the Tardis and that choir wrapping up selections from the Eleventh Hour.

The next selections come from The Beast Below and these make a low-key affair with a mystery to solve, yet alternated with fast paced chases. Yet change this for 13: Amy Theme sung with a solo voice, which is a beautiful piece of music. Though 14: A Lonely Decision pours on the realisation through tortured strings and choir of what could have been done and why certain things don't always turn out the way you think.

Three selections from Victory of the Daleks come next and Gold really powers home the French horns and brass for 16: Victory of the Daleks. The militaristic vibes get ramped ever higher in 17: Battle in the Sky where Gold fires in fast brassy exchanges as the Spitfires take on the Dalek ship.

Those `bleedin' angels were back in the next couple of tracks and in 18: River's Path a fast percussive chase sequence rattles along. However 19: The Time of Angels is a damn scary bit of music with Gold adding in otherworldly string based hits, a deep pounding backing, and a dancing percussive device. He also meshes a little of the music from Midnight just to turn the screw a little more. Not to be played alone.

The Vampires of Venice is next and has a lyrical quality about it, yet tinged with powerful undercurrents; yes horror is back here too. The music meanders through this Venetian affair, feeling smaller and closed in on the initial tracks, though 22: Signora Rosanna Calvierri ends rather powerfully. On 23: Cab for Amy Pond we ramp up the tension with that dancing cello beat, coupled with percussion, and a repeating 4-note motif as Amy, Rory and the Doctor get away. The final track 24: The Vampires of Venice wraps up the music from this episode nicely. A powerful movement with choir and orchestra builds and builds, yet tempered with that descending theme for the main character's plight.

The final four tracks come from Amy's Choice and the two part The Hungry Earth/Cold Blood. The two tracks for Amy's Choice convey unease and otherworldly swaying brass. Which is the real world? Which isn't? Deep bass rumbles away, let the viewer and listener decide. The other two tracks for The Hungry Earth are 27 and 28. 27: Rio de Cwmtaff which depicts a `run along' community where nothing much happens - until Gold adds in a bit of eerie synthesised backing and heavy bass. 28: The Silurians starts off low key with an ominous string led movement. Then alternate that with a cycling string melody and a powerful 3-note brassy theme and a descending string back. The Silurians mean business!

Disc 2 covers the Vincent and the Doctor for the first 5 tracks. This was a lovely story and 2: Vincent encompasses the 5-note motif Gold uses for the painter. A more reflective, warmer version is covered in 3: Hidden Treasures as the Doctor and Amy visit Vincent at home. In 5: With Love, Vincent, Gold reuses this theme and powerfully builds on it as Vincent gets shown what his true work means to the masses.

The next 8 tracks cover The Lodger episode and Murray Gold scores a simple piano theme for the two lovebirds, yet tinges and hints with ominous undercurrents to what's upstairs. However, his music for 10: A Useful Striker, with a cracking 6-note theme ramped for the Doctor playing football, is brilliant.

Other than this highlight we shall now move on to the main event. The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang which comprises the last 22 tracks. Murray Gold opens with 14: River Runs Through it with a 3-note theme and raucous brass describing River's hurried exit from the spacecraft.

16: Beneath Stonehenge has all the mystery you would ever want, with hints of the Doctor's theme and Cybermen. The lovely clarinet descends and further hints at the Cybermen theme make this track rather special. Gold now starts to build the orchestra with 19: The Pandorica and an 8-note motif builds and builds.

20: Words Win Wars just says it all with a powerful 7-note run of the Doctor's theme as he lets his enemies know he means business and Gold swells out the orchestra with a lovely flourish. 21: The Life and Death of Amy Pond is a slow tempo piece played over Amy getting shot and the Doctor being dragged into the Pandorica against his will.

22: Amy's Starless Life is almost a repeat of track 3, however, ominous bass heralds all is not well as there are no stars in the night sky. Hurried strings and percussion cover the next track 23: Into the Museum as little Amy approaches the Pandorica, with a little hint of a powerful 3-note motif building as it finally opens. Continued on in the next track the Doctor theme plays as it opens, though with a flourish of percussion. 27: The Same Sonic is a bouncy affair, though 28: Honey I'm Home covers River's desperate attempts to escape the Tardis with Gold utilising a 1-2 then 1-2-3 repeating melody on percussion and brass.

30: A River of Tears features an alternating melody with string swathes setting up the Doctor's plight. Slow piano now plays in 31: The Sad Man with a Box. Murray Gold now adds a delightfully sad melody backing for Amy and the Doctor's final chat. The orchestra now builds ever higher as the Doctor heads into oblivion. Once again the Doctor's theme is revisited as he heads in. Meanwhile, everything has reset and in 32: You and Me, Amy delightfully covers her new family and Gold supplies a lovely cycling melody as the big day beckons. 33: The Big Day is where Murray Gold throws in a 3-note motif for the razzmatazz as we lead to the big speech. That motif reappears as River Song appears at the window. 34: I Remember You is superb as Gold slowly builds the orchestra: Amy has remembered, and that 3-note theme builds once more, and with a flourish, the Doctor's theme is back.

35: Onwards! Features the return of that Doctor motif in a grand punchy version with that eclectic alternate theme, with Gold building in brassy flares to top it all off - this has wrapped off the disc in style.

The booklet is well written and Murray Gold has done it again. There is a bit of everything in this one and whilst it doesn't flow quite as well as the single disc versions, it's an excellent showcase on one of Britain's most talented composers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Series 5
Doctor Who: Series 5 by Murray Gold
Buy MP3 Album£9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews