Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2011
Just what the doctor ordered to brighten the grey February days. This is like taking a triple shot of espresso in your morning Pret coffee. You'l be jingling and jangling all day long to these tunes.
The seemingly simple riffs and tunes go straight to your brain. Lovely Hammond, great riffs all come together to create a vision of driving to the coast wrapped up against the cold and watching the hardy surfers off the coast of any British beach - Wales, Saltburn, Cornwall - wherever!
I have no idea if the band surf, I don't really care, i would guess they just love uplifting hummable, satisfying tunes. They aren't exactly trying to compete with Mogwai's more complex structures - but for &7.99, this is well worth brightening up a few weeks of your life.

great fun.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
If you love simple rock guitar music, then this is highly recommended. One of the little secrets and gems that periodically come from the musical hotbeds of North Wales.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
Y Niwl Just got back form watching these guys support THE JIM JONES REVUE, and bought this CD from the band, a Welsh Instrumental Band, who to me sounded like the Artic Monkeys with Dick Dale and Duane Eddy on guitars. A great live act and this CD does not disappoint. Great tunes, well executed.This is bold and refreshing and was a pleasant surprise.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
Just bought the Y Niwl album on vinyl from spillers record shop this is an excellent mix of surf guitar/Booker T/Link Wray style rock well worth the £10.00 ,the album is as good as their live show which i saw when they supported Gruff Rhys Hotel Shampoo tour ,buy it you wont be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
The lack of five stars is probably more of a reflection on my concentration span than the quality of the cd but there are a few tracks towards the end of the cd that I always find myself making a drink or putting wood on the woodburner and maybe if it was playing whilst I was cooking on the BBQ then it would of got five. It is a unique cd and I've not found anything similar and I would recommend it to everyone who enjoys music and don't restrict themselves to one particular genre of music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
Prynais i y cryno ddisg yma fel anrheg penblwydd i fy nhad ac mae e wrth ei fodd; mae e'n dweud fod y caneuon yn debyg i grwp o'r enw 'the shadows' oedd yn poblogaidd pan oedd e'n ifanc...
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
Another 6 music inspired purchase. Top drawer stuff! Recorded in Bethesda i notice, which from my childhood memory of summer holidays was voted the most miserable place on Earth by my Family, as it was forever raining.Apparently a Witch lived by the side of the main road in a house made out of boulders, though we never saw her!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Excellent condition. Great CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)