Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars81
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2001
A graffiti written on the main entrance road to my school (the European School of Luxembourg) back in 1984 read »Welcome To The Pleasuredome«. Back then, I did not quite understand it. Later I learned to, though. For this debut album of Frankie Goes To Hollywood certainly is a Pleasuredome, in an everything but sarcastically meant way. It's a classic, one of the greatest albums (not just of the 1980s but) ever!
What a courage it must have demanded to issue a concept album, a long story split into songs, as a debut. Why don't these bands ever last longer? »Welcome To The Pleasuredome« has it all: One of the most beautiful ballads ever performed, »The Power Of Love«; great covers: »Born To Run«, »San José«, »Fury«, »War«; the sexy experimental »The Ballad Of 32«... plus, of course, the outstanding hit classics »Two Tribes« and »Relax«.
So... »Welcome To The Pleasuredome«!! Frankie say... no more.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
Think what you think about the content of this album. I can only say it's been part of the fabric of my life since 1984. The package is exceedingly well, even lovingly, put together. You may or may not want the second disc (personally I wouldn't miss it, but it's good to have it), but surely this is all about getting the most out of the album proper.

To bang on about the sound of this remaster is in my view daft. It IS louder than previous cd editions, but then they were on the quiet side. It ISN'T louder in the current vogue of crank it up and flatten it all out remastering.

This disc sparkles and really brings out the joy of the music on the album. The highs are clear and realistically bright, not splashy, the lows are deep and tight and the mid range is clear and open. There are levels of detail that I haven't even heard on my vinyl copy. I have, regrettably, several poor to awful remasters but this is by no measure one of them. I have played it in the car, on my pc, on good headphones, on a mini system and most importantly on my main system and it sounds great every time. I know "good sound" is a personal thing but I really have to wonder how the people who are being critical of this are listening to it.

In my view this brilliant album can be bought with complete confidence at any time, but particularly this new remaster. The package as a whole puts many, many other deluxe or "special" re-issues firmly in the shade. I hope "Liverpool", or any other remaster for that matter, is given the same treatment.

Update - "Liverpool" sounds fantastic.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2008
This album, could certainly be called THE album that defined the early to mid '80s, as it's up front and in your face with 'Two Tribes' and 'Relax', and emotional with 'The Power of Love'. The covers of 'Born To Run', and 'San Jose' certainly are very credible. Although this album may not be everyone's cup of tea, if you collect iconic albums, this really has to be in your collection!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2000
You will find a lot to enjoy on this CD. Relax, one of the most celebrated but controversial songs of all time, is such a dark song it will never date and the catchy Two Tribes was another famous song by the band. The Power of Love ( no connection with the Jennifer Rush song ) is a really spooky song, sung brilliantly by Holly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
I was expecting great things of this mainly because the original CD sounds so quiet and tinny. Well, this isn't much better, it sounds very trebly and not enough "oomph" - i have longed to hear the 13 minute title track in a pristine remastered form for a long time but on first listen it didn't sound much different to the original CD. Maybe i've just got a bit of wax that needs shifting but it doesn't sound that great at all for a recent remaster.

The second CD is not exactly sparkling either but then there wasn't that much material to put on it I would have thought. It's OK though. Hardly groundbreaking, forgot having not listened to them for 25 years, how embarrassing "one September Monday" & "one February Friday" are though.
77 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2001
This is the band that said it all about th 80s. Songs like Relax and Two Tribes are classic and defined a whole generation. This their first album was also their best, their second album not reaching up to the same level. If you love the 80s, this is the top album.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
The cd. 'Welcome to the Pleasuredome' by Frankie Goes to Hollywood arrived in good time, was well packaged and has given me much listening (and partying) pleasure !
Thanks
DB
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
A blast from the past and a great example of the magician Trevor Horn as producer (even though things did get a little strained in the eventual bad vibes between the group and Horn). A prime example of how pop music used to be mixed and engineered, with loving care and a sense that the producer was actually listening to the monitor. If you need a demonstration track to test or audition hi-fi this should be on the list, the amount of sheer detail is something to wonder at. And the music is rippingly good fun and superbly performed. You would be amazed at how it sounds after all those years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2001
the 1st of the 2 frankie albums is by far the best. even though it is an electronic album, it is combined with rock. complete with songs like the contraversial relax and two tribes as well as unreleased songs like black night white light, the album is well worth it. BUY! BUY! BUY!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2010
Frankie say nostalgia-for Frankie fans this anniversary edition is a welcome addition to their collection, enhanced to sound crisper and restoring the "oomph" back into the music makes it a real treat to listen too through headphones.
Frankie say extras-the 2nd cd contains a mixed bag of material and sound bites which would only be of real interest to fans who were around when they emerged onto the music scene back in 1983, the demo's are really just an insight as to how the album came together originally,the one previously unreleased song included is sadly quite a let down, but these comments aside it still makes a welcome extra.
Frankie say artwork- this digipack also includes a lot of the original artwork used for the vinyl release back in the eighties plus unreleased drawings and photos which never made the final product,included within this is a Frankie story of sorts which tracks the history of the band up to their demise in the mid eighties.
Frankie say enjoy-This is still a great album with punchy tunes ,the inventive production from Trevor Horn gives this album a unique sound which to those with a fine ear for detail will be a great listening experience....enjoy.
Frankie say.....no more.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£13.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)