Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back To The Pleasuredome !
I'm astounded by the reviews here !

Firstly, the remaster is excellent, people are used to remasters being 100 decibels (for the deaf Ipod generation). This new remaster brings out even more subtle detail.

Regarding CD2, I'm amazed some people are moaning about it.

Firstly all tracks are taken from the original master tapes (the first time...
Published on 18 May 2010 by Paul Chapman

versus
38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
Straight to the point. As one reviewer remarked, there is no sound improvement on the album, just louder, that's all. So you can dunk CD 1. Next, CD 2 is supposed to give us Frankie fans some pleasureable thrill, but sad to say, no. While the demo tracks are an interesting addition, the rest can be left out. "Relax (Greatest Bits)" is actually the original cassette...
Published on 20 April 2010 by Lim Chong Eu


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back To The Pleasuredome !, 18 May 2010
By 
Paul Chapman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm astounded by the reviews here !

Firstly, the remaster is excellent, people are used to remasters being 100 decibels (for the deaf Ipod generation). This new remaster brings out even more subtle detail.

Regarding CD2, I'm amazed some people are moaning about it.

Firstly all tracks are taken from the original master tapes (the first time this has ever happened with the exception of The Sonic Collection SACD). They may seem like a mixed bag to some & I agree to a point, the Greek Mix of Relax will never be essential, however you have Greatest Bits (as mentioned is the cassette mix of Relax) which in my opinion is the only mix you'll ever need.

In addition, excellent demo's, a fantastic mix of The Ballad of 32, the only track that shouldn't even really be on this is Watusi Love Juicy which doesn't date from this album, but a curio never the less

The issue is the access to the "Goodies Cupboard". Like a lot of bands archives, labelling was incorrect if at all on many, hence the Pleasure Fix mix of WTTPD & Starfix mix of Only Star In Heaven (both overrated "instrumentals", were indeed found but too late for inclusion.

What we do have finally, is an amazing album finally being given the treatment is DESERVES.

Frankly (or should that be Frankiely?)at this bargain price, who can really complain??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! Perfect packaging to a perfect album., 31 Dec 2005
By 
D. Turner (Cardiff, Wales, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We all know the music but here I'd like to purely say 'thanks' to ZTT for the care taken with the packaging! At last, this CD has the correct cover to the original vinyl release (and no nasty digipack either). The booklet contains nearly all the inner sleeve photo's and notes from the original and even the rear inlay has the '£ BANG' design.
Far, far superior to the previous CD releases and worth every penny. Now, if only Holly would rejoin the reformed Frankie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 20 April 2010
By 
Lim Chong Eu (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Straight to the point. As one reviewer remarked, there is no sound improvement on the album, just louder, that's all. So you can dunk CD 1. Next, CD 2 is supposed to give us Frankie fans some pleasureable thrill, but sad to say, no. While the demo tracks are an interesting addition, the rest can be left out. "Relax (Greatest Bits)" is actually the original cassette single. While it's a historical curiorsity, it is actually an edited amalgam of the "Sex Mix", "Instrumental Mix" and the 7" mix. The "One September" and "One February" b-sides (which were already available in the last re-issue) are just nonsence gibberish. Why include "Power Of Love" extended version ? It's a strange inclusion while the extended versions of "Relax", "Two Tribes" and "Welcome" are left out. Then again, you can't really include all their extended versions, right ? so they should just leave them all out. "Disneyland" was already released in the "12 Inch" 2CD version. The 2 spoken snippets can be left out completely. Anyway, "The Last Voice" has been around a long time, included in the ending of the "Two Tribes (Annihilation mix)". "Relax (Disco mix)" is another amalgam of the "Sex Mix" and the 7" mix. Again, though historically interesting, you don't need it. With all the above taken out, I would include other interesting unreleased tracks, such as "Relax (International), Welcome...(Bernard Rose version), Welcome... (Pleasurefix), Only Star In Heaven (Starfix), and the other proper b-sides like "Happy Hi, Get It On and The World Is My Oyster (7" and 12")"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 1980s Classic And Must-Own, 24 Sep 2001
By 
Bjorn Clasen (Rollengergronn, Luxembourg, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A graffiti written on the main entrance road to my school (the European School of Luxembourg) back in 1984 read »Welcome To The Pleasuredome«. Back then, I did not quite understand it. Later I learned to, though. For this debut album of Frankie Goes To Hollywood certainly is a Pleasuredome, in an everything but sarcastically meant way. It's a classic, one of the greatest albums (not just of the 1980s but) ever!
What a courage it must have demanded to issue a concept album, a long story split into songs, as a debut. Why don't these bands ever last longer? »Welcome To The Pleasuredome« has it all: One of the most beautiful ballads ever performed, »The Power Of Love«; great covers: »Born To Run«, »San José«, »Fury«, »War«; the sexy experimental »The Ballad Of 32«... plus, of course, the outstanding hit classics »Two Tribes« and »Relax«.
This import CD also contains two interviews previously released on maxi (vinyl) singles.
So... »Welcome To The Pleasuredome«!! Frankie say... no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A template for all debut albums!!, 15 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've recently rediscovered this album after buying the 2005 reissue, I, along with millions of others fell for all the media hype that surrounded Frankie back in 1983!

Back then the British music scene was floundering, New Romance was tired, New Wave Of British Heavy Metal had ground to a halt! Things were looking up as a few bands including Tears For Fears started to create a new sound for the eighties with more than a hint of a Beatles influence.

So, I was searching for something similar and new to listen to at my local record store when suddenly 'Relax' powered its way over the speaker system. It immediately grabbed my attention, a mix of the aforementioned music genre's styles, but somehow produced to be fresh and exciting by the genius Trevor Horn. That along with a controversial cover and explicit lyrics that led to the record being banned by a host of radio stations, only fuelled this particular (then) 18 yr old to purchase!

This double album could not come quick enough for me, we had to wait a whole year as 'Relax' and 'Two Tribes' and a multitude of remixes kept us entertained. When it did arrive we were more than ready. The title track took up one side of the original vinyl copy, a great sprawling epic over 13 minutes long which had us all singing 'who ha, who ha' on the dancefloor!

The cover versions are all excellently performed,
'Born To Run' especially got the Springsteen seal of approval!
'War' originally an Edwin Starr song about Vietnam is, I think better, with its killer bass line and Ronald Reagan narrative segmants which Im pretty sure Baz Luhrmann got the idea for 'Everbody's Free To Wear Sunscreen' from. We get a brief snipit of 'Ferry Across The Mersey' although not credited on the sleeve notes, and a reworking of 'Do You Know The Way To San Jose'. As for the original material excluding the single releases 'Black Night, White Light' is superior although I do like the musical chaos of 'Krisco Kisses'.

Of coarse the album comes to a close with probably the best Christmas ballad ever 'The Power Of Love' which has Holly Johnson reducing us to tears with this exceptional powerhouse of a song.

Frankie say Sex, War, Religion, Enjoy! Not bad for a fiver! Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seminal 1980s album, 26 May 2006
By 
S. Lindgren - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I for one don't like much of the music of the 1980s, but when it was good, it was very good, like music from any period in history. WttPD is a superb album; it would be churlish of me to fault it.

Lyrically it is frequently amusing, shot through with biting irony. The musicianship is excellent for an album of its type, and it remains one of the best produced albums ever made. Only the likes of Peter Gabriel have surpassed the stunning quality of the recording and mixing of this album (hats off to the inevitable Trevor Horn). Terrific use of the stereo soundstage, clean, staggering dynamics from both performers and the recording. It humiliates most modern recordings, and shows just how good Compact Disk can sound when it's not shackled by over-compression. And that's very good indeed. Who needs DVD-A or SACD when ye olde redbook CD can be done this well?

There are no standout tracks for me, because this album should be listened to just like that -an album. A concept album at that: this was the 1980s doing progressive rock, and it works. OF course, it has the legendary Relax and Two Tribes, and the suitably lengthy title track; the others are not space fillers though, but vital parts to the cohesive whole.

Forget genres. Forget music decades. Buy on an albums merits. This should be in any music-lover's collection. It's not leaving mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Different Kind Of Magic!, 5 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This album is magnificent. With twists and turns, strange tags, spooky tunes and a different style in every track, it will not disappoint! Two Tribes and Relax have lost nothing over time and are still very potent songs. The album is dark and strange, but beautiful too. Just listen to Power Of Love! There are other songs on there that are sung wonderfully... There's even opera! Welcome To The Pleasure Dome is strange, long, twisting through different rythms and sounds, which is the feel of the whole album. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 1980s Classic And Must-Own, 24 Sep 2001
By 
Bjorn Clasen (Rollengergronn, Luxembourg, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A graffiti written on the main entrance road to my school (the European School of Luxembourg) back in 1984 read »Welcome To The Pleasuredome«. Back then, I did not quite understand it. Later I learned to, though. For this debut album of Frankie Goes To Hollywood certainly is a Pleasuredome, in an everything but sarcastically meant way. It's a classic, one of the greatest albums (not just of the 1980s but) ever!
What a courage it must have demanded to issue a concept album, a long story split into songs, as a debut. Why don't these bands ever last longer? »Welcome To The Pleasuredome« has it all: One of the most beautiful ballads ever performed, »The Power Of Love«; great covers: »Born To Run«, »San José«, »Fury«, »War«; the sexy experimental »The Ballad Of 32«... plus, of course, the outstanding hit classics »Two Tribes« and »Relax«.
So... »Welcome To The Pleasuredome«!! Frankie say... no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Album That Defines The '80s, 9 Oct 2008
By 
JH Powell (Great Yarmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album, could certainly be called THE album that defined the early to mid '80s, as it's up front and in your face with 'Two Tribes' and 'Relax', and emotional with 'The Power of Love'. The covers of 'Born To Run', and 'San Jose' certainly are very credible. Although this album may not be everyone's cup of tea, if you collect iconic albums, this really has to be in your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album., 21 Sep 2000
By A Customer
You will find a lot to enjoy on this CD. Relax, one of the most celebrated but controversial songs of all time, is such a dark song it will never date and the catchy Two Tribes was another famous song by the band. The Power of Love ( no connection with the Jennifer Rush song ) is a really spooky song, sung brilliantly by Holly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews