Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Feast Indeed, 9 Feb 2003
By 
M. FAVER "mickfaver" (Leicestoh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feast of Wire (Audio CD)
I have always had a funny relationship with Calexico. I always find myself not liking them quite as much as I think that I should. I had the same problem with Echo & The Bunnymen and The Wedding Present.
I can listen to them and I do quite enjoy them but their songs seem to just, ever so slightly, miss the mark for me. Until this.
The feel is the same as previous albums - a kind of bleak desert scenario on the US/ Mexican border, a land inhabited by vultures and cactii with the occasional weathered cowboy wandering down a deserted street.
The songs, though, as individual works contain a new depth and richness of melody that has always been missing on previous albums. 'Sunken Waltz' is a traditional country song of the highest order. 'Not Even Stevie Nicks' reminds me slightly of Mercury Rev - and that is no bad thing either. With 16 tracks in all, some are links and the album is definitely meant to be listened too in its entirety. Enjoy the latin feel of 'Dub Latina' and the Jonathon Richmanesque 'Attack El Robot, Attack'. Shads of The Handsome Family add to the modern country ambience and the brooding darkness of 'No Doze' wraps up the best Calexico album to date.
Set up the Tequila, turn up the hi fi and enjoy. Modern Country just gets stronger and stronger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the Heart of the Badlands, 3 Mar 2003
This review is from: Feast of Wire (Audio CD)
I found Calexico's previous album "Hot Rail" full of potential but failing to arrive at the destination it promised. Consequently, I dithered over buying "Feast Of wire" but I'm very pleased I did. For me, this latest offering from the band, who's heart and soul reside in the cacti inhabited badlands of the desert states. Calexico have finally realised their earlier promise.
The album is an eclectic mix of lo-fi alt. country, spicey Mexican rythms together with a hint of conventional country music, but always with an added edge!
The sixteen tracks (excluding the three excellent bonus tracks on the limited edition version of the album) move on apace and are without a blemish. Although sounding quite different, I imagine this record as an alternative soundtrack to the Wim Wenders film Paris Texas.
All this after one listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast indeed, 9 Aug 2003
This review is from: Feast Of Wire (Audio CD)
This album should come with a sticker advising "Warning! This album is highly addictive."
This is the first Calexico album I have bought, but having heard a couple of tracks on radio, I decided to go ahead and buy it. It takes in a wide range of styles, from Mexican-infused waltzes to jazz, stopping off at lo-fi country and the sort of unclassifiable stuff you would expect to find on a Beck album. One aspect struck me straight away - the percussion. Just listen to the track "Whipping the Horse's Eyes", which involves a pedal steel and a cello playing a slow melody, but the percussion almost makes it danceable!
Almost half of the tracks are instrumentals, some of a minute or less in duration, which gives a soundtrack-like feel to the album, but it holds together better than most soundtrack albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9/10. Feast of Wire, 24 Aug 2007
This review is from: Feast Of Wire (Audio CD)
Calexico's sound inhabits the frontier badlands of the American Southwest, a cinematic multi-instumental brew that takes in jazz, alt-country, Mariachi, folk and electronics. It's a widescreen affair, a mixture of traditional rootsy Americana ('Quattro') and brooding instrumental mood pieces ('Pepita', 'Across The Wire') that evoke rust and dust choked border towns. Dubbed 'desert-rock' by some, don't be turned off by the Tex-Mex conceit, this is a wonderful album overflowing with ideas; a real grower that rewards repeated listens.

The filmic quality to the music is enhanced by anecdotal and scene-setting lyrics, not to mention Enio Morricone-schooled atmospherics. But they can do breezy west coast pop as well ('Not Even Stevie Nicks') and desert trip-hop: 'Black Heart' sounds like Portishead relocated from the Somerset coast to Death Valley. There are also head-nodding electro numbers replete with Mexican brass ('Attack El Robot! Attack!', 'Guero Canelo'), but the circling buzzards are never far away. 'Close Behind' - as the title suggests - is a galloping chase sequence, while 'Woven Birds' is shivery and spectral, redolent of the desolate desert night. The mescaline-addled spookiness of tracks like this and 'No Doze' recall the bloody coming of age of Cormac McCarthy's characters. 'Crumble', on the other hand, is the kind of bebop jazz you could imagine Sal Paradise and Dean Moriaty digging in On The Road.

Moreover, some of the best tracks are saved for bonus material, 'Corona' being an all-out jam in which alt-country and Mexican jazz spectaculary colide. If I was to criticise, I would say that Joey Burns' vocal isn't the strongest, and that the stylistic contrivances tend to negate greater emotional involvement in the music. But these are niggles, there is so much to enjoy in this rich and diverse album. If you like this, you might like Rock Central Plaza's 'Are We Not Horses', or perhaps 'Micah P Hinson and the Gospel of Progress'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but there's no Crystal Frontier here, 30 Aug 2003
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Feast Of Wire (Audio CD)
Don't get the wrong idea if I say that of the three Calexico albums I own, this is my least favourite. It's certainly not a bad album, not as immediate as Black Light or Hot Rail, and with no hit single as obvious as the delightful Crystal Frontier.
Yet, like every Calexico epic, you can delve into Feast of Wire and come up with tiny gems, small snatches of entrancing music played on whichever instrument fell to hand (eg. Mariachi trumpet, accordian, strings, vibes, even sampled dog barks!), snippets of jazzy club music, folky mid-western songs, spaghetti western theme tunes, you name it! All very atmospheric, redolent of the Tex-Mex bush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a cracker, 11 Nov 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feast Of Wire (Audio CD)
I'd not heard their music before, and bought it in the hope of finding something original. That's what it is - brilliant, moody music from people who use a full range of sounds and instruments but who also know the value of sparse notes and quiet passages and use them to max effect. Great stereo production too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Americana' at its best, 28 April 2003
By 
Mr. Gideon D. Brody "twitter me: gideon_" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feast Of Wire (Audio CD)
Listening to 'Feast of Wire' is the closest thing you will ever get to taking a road trip through America as Calexico offer up a moody, sultry and sun-drenched cruise along the tough, grainy terrain of the deep southern parts of that vast country.
In typical 'Americana' fashion, Feast of Wire is a reflective album tinged with moments of sadness but with a warmth at its core that is always able to filter through. The interpretation Calexico offer up is epic, often recalling tales of heartbreak but also of the sense of freedom and the vast expanse of America.
The setting is California/Mexico (hence Calexico) and as you would expect the essentially acoustic and alternative style of conventional 'Americana' is clashed with the Latin-influenced exuberance of Mexico with brass, Spanish guitar, sumptuous strings and boisterous vocal accompaniment in the form of well placed "ole's!" all prevalent. Added to this is a rich sense of experimentation with flashes of psychedelia which help to enhance the album's dreamy quality.
The epic nature of tracks like "Quattro (World Drifts In)", which you'll never tire of, and "Black Heart", with a string accompaniment of genuine beauty, entice you into loving this album almost immediately. "Fallin' Rain" will break your heart in two.
From the moment you begin listening you'll feel like taking your car, some friends and a box of Lucky Strike and driving as close to the sun as you can get. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the decade, 25 Feb 2003
By 
P. M. Dalton "unovisions" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feast of Wire (Audio CD)
Only got this album today and listened three times cause didn't quite believe what I'd just heard, truly a gem all the way through a mix of everything alternative country, latin samba, rock, stylish jazz sounds, synths and excellent steel guitars, its actually hard to describe cause every song goes somewhere else and its such a ecleptic mix can't quite put my finger on what it is, but I love it, stand out tracks well all of them but top three up to now I would say are "guerno canelo", "Quattro (world drifts in)" then the amazing "Black Heart". This album is gonna get some serious play on my CD player anyway and all I can say if you like music you'll adore this album. 6 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eccentric -- Eclectic -- Excellent!, 1 Feb 2003
By 
E. L. Woodcock "elwoodcock" (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feast of Wire (Audio CD)
Best new album I've heard in a while. Never heard of them before, but loved this album instantly.
Styles and influences all over the shop. From Ennio Morricone to Mercury Rev, Slint & Up, Bustle and Out - and am I the only one can hear a distinct twang of the theme music off the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy on Black Heart??!
Makes you happy to be alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new Find, 8 Aug 2013
By 
R. A. Pearson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite them being around for a while I was not really aware of the quality of their music until recently played on national radio in NZ when I heard a track from the original version of this CD .I bought the updated deluxe version [2cd] via Amazon and absolutely love it ,particularly the fantastic diversity of sound and style .Going to buy more of their vast catalogue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews