Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spaghetti with your Mariachi sir?, 24 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Rail (Audio CD)
These guys seem to have spent too long in Tequila bars south of the border, then drifted home and overdosed on Ennio Morricone and Clint Eastwood. Several of these songs come on like the synopsis of some dusty, languid movie set in a rattlesnake infested tumbleweed-town in New Mexico. Moody and atmospheric, but beautifully played with subtle tempo and timing. Outstanding from start to finish, barring the unfortunate jazz infection that is "Fade". Their "Black Light" album is every bit as good by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well, what can I say?, 22 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Rail (Audio CD)
It took a little blind faith to buy this. None of my friends had a copy, and short of walking up to people on the street and asking them to copy it for me, I grudgingly handed over the money for a copy. I was not pulling an unhappy face for long. From the minute I pressed play the album caught me and transported me out of my room into the desert sands of Calexico, where I have stayed smoking Lucky Strikes and drinking vast quantities of tequila ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 5 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Rail (Audio CD)
This album is fun, a little bit tongue in cheek and great to listen to. Its not at all what i expected, but i was pleasently surprised. It sounds like the soundtrack to a road movie, as you listen to it you can just imagine someone driving through the dusty deserts of arizona or nevada. The only problem with the album is that some of the songs are quite similar. But its still a great record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot stuff, 20 Dec 2008
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Rail (Audio CD)
Is this the most accurately-named band in rock? The first two tracks of 'Hot Rail' land on opposite sides of the border and thereafter Calexico stick to these parameters without ever being formulaic. Though basically a duo, they use a large pool of musicians to create a wide array of musical combinations. My favourite tracks are the 'Untitled' tracks which read as 'The Man With No Name', eerie instrumentals full of tension which is loaded implausibly by accordion. The longest track, 'Fade', is an insidious song that rewards repeated playing. On songs like 'Service and Repair' Calexico show that they can write good quality mainstream songs too. The sound is refined on later albums such as 'Feast of Wire' but this is impressive in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grab your lover and run for cover!, 10 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Rail (Audio CD)
Calexico are a wonderful band and this album is a perfect record which shows all of their talents.
They transport you to a place that you've only experienced in movies provide a much needed escape from the mundane (for 45 mins or so).
They're romantic, brooding, sexy, and seductive. Always is there a sense of urgency somewhere deep in the music which makes you feel like you're running from bandits...but you're too busy being coaxed with passion to care.
A romantic, escapist journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 14 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Rail (Audio CD)
Heard of these whilst seeing Flaming Lips at London's Festival Hall. Calexico mix tex-mex murder songs with a guitar flavoured excitiement. Imagine having to drag yourself accross the border with a girlfriend running away from murderous loan-sharks - this is the soundtrack to that chase.
it also means you can think of "me-hi-co" whilst tubing it to north london on a wet July month.
it is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serge Gainsbourg + Leoni = Hot Rails by Calexo, 5 Nov 2004
This review is from: Hot Rail (Audio CD)
Bought this purely because of the cover to find an unforgettable album. Full of luscious melodies with cool but slightly sugary vocals and odd bits of soundscapes that reminds you of Sunday mornings in the summer. I don't know much about the band but I can sing almost all of their songs for you. That's how good this is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Rail [EU Version] (Audio CD)
perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Rail is hot stuff !, 5 Oct 2013
By 
R. David (france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great deluxe edition of this wonderful album -- we can have a complete and thorough overview of the period ; I hope they'll do the same for Feast of Wire...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good proof for Calexico after The black light, 23 Feb 2010
By 
A. Fiori "Miss Flowers" (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Rail (Audio CD)
Good proof, there are very few groups able to do what Calexico have done till now. Mexican inspiration, a bit of surf music, the warm voice of Joey Burns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews