Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars66
4.6 out of 5 stars
Colour Name: Grey|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 July 2015
this stuff is amazing if you have an airbrush. still good brushed on but looses sight of the point a touch.
a 200ml pot will last you through allot of minitures. i have every shade and there all great. will never go back to rattle cans again.

a few tips i have picked up are
1. always wash models in warm soapy water to remove release agent. some say it make a different some say it doesn't. but for a bit hot water and washing up liquid, why not give them the best chance.
2. will be dry in 10 mins but give the primer 24 hours to fully cure. it promotes durability.
3. put 2 6mm sling shot ammo ball bearings in the pot. you can get 1000 for a few pound. i do this with all my paints, not just these. mixes paint like a dream for more consistent paint. theirs a reason rattle cans have them.
4.drop all Vallejo paint pots in a cup of warm/hot bath temperature water 10 mins before use. increases flow, paints don't need to be thinned as much, paint is richer and not muted by water or thinners.

obviously this all ads time to the painting job, but why bother even starting if your going to rush. there are loads of time saving techniques to off set these steps- batch painting,limit palette colors, drybrush where possible, using inks and of course priming in a basecoat colour using these :)
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
Vallejo surface primer in my opinion is the best on the market.

This stuff essentially covers you model (area) with a very thin layer of plastic which happens to self level (very handy when I thought I had ruined a batch of spar marines).

Applied easily with a brush or straight through your airbrush.

Also worth noting you can mix this paint with normal acyrilic to create any colour primer you need (I like to add a hint of black).

For the record this particular grey dries very light (closer to white) hense why I tend to add black as I prefer working from a more mid tone grey.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Best primer I have ever had.
Enough said.
I always use Grey as it works well for most colours.
Highly recommend.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
This surface primer is excellent. It covers well and leaves surfaces ready for painting.
I am also pleased with the fact that cleaning up after use is quick and easy.
I recommend all of the Vallejo range of surface primer colours.
They do what it says on the bottle!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vallejo surface primers are useful and good, perhaps the best available. They cover the surface with a micro-layer of self-levelling plasticised paint leaving surface detail clearly visible. Acrylics and enamels then adhere to the primed surface much better than to un-primed plastic.

The primer is best applied via an airbrush for the thinnest and best finish, but may also be used with a hairy-stick brush if you have no airbrush available.

These primers are available in a range of colours: pale grey & white are the most useful, as acrylics will cover these shades in two, or even one, coat/s.

The plastic container is supplied with a useful dropper-tip making it easy to dispense the desired amount into the airbrush hopper, so avoiding waste or spillage. You can thin it if desired (by no more than 20%, or it becomes too dilute) or try mixing-in a small amount of acrylic finish-colour so you may only need one final coat of acrylic. The 200ml container goes a long way.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
Used straight from the bottle into the airbrush, this primer paint is pretty much spot on. At 40psi via an Iwata CR airbrush paint coverage is smooth and consistent with end result is similar to that of Tamiya's excellent rattle can fine primers (the colour is very similar too). The bottle has a useful dropper type tip and make it easy to put just the right amount of paint you need into the airbrush's paint cup, reducing waste. A 200ml bottle will cover many models - I have painted a couple of models and it still looks pretty much full. Definitely recommended.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
I use this for airbrushing air-fix models and other plastic stuff. Its great, goes through the sprayer well without clogging or causing any jams and blockages. I don't water it down or anything however i have read a few reviews from people that do without fault.

Very good primer. Have a think about what your final colour is going to be as they do make different colours of primer, they may create a better finish.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
Used straight from the bottle into the airbrush, this primer paint is pretty much spot on. At 40psi via an Iwata CR airbrush paint coverage is smooth and consistent with end result is similar to that of Tamiya's excellent rattle can fine primers (but in this case red, rather than grey). The bottle has a useful dropper type tip and make it easy to put just the right amount of paint you need into the airbrush's paint cup, reducing waste. A 200ml bottle will cover many models - I have painted just one 1/35 tank and it still looks full. Definitely recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
Nice dark red/brown primer, thinned to about 50% for using with an airbrush it goes on nicely. Using it as a base for various shades of red but also a nice shadow colour for red oxide.

Even thinned it covers well, glad I discovered this range, have a few of them now and the 200ml bottle size is good value - just decant into something smaller to actually use it, which allows suitable thinning as well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
Bought to use as the base colour for some 1930's British armour, has been used as the base under a black wash with the Vallejo "Bronze Green" model colour paint over. Applied by airbrush nicely with minimal thinning, covers well and looks the part.

As with all these paints works a lot better with an airbrush than an actual brush.

Very nice bluish green colour, would be a good base for water in rivers and ponds also
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.