Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential Recording, 13 April 2005
This classic recording is easily my first pick as a Desert Island Disc. There has been no better recording of the Dvorak Cello Concerto than this - it is simply unsurpassable in terms of soloist (Rostropovich at his prime, there is no substitute) and a superb accompaniment from the sublime Berlin Phil, sensitively directed by Karajan. The recording is full of passion and has a number of incredible spine-tingling moments, particularly in the slow movement, and also the lovely duet between solo violin and the soloist in the final movement.
And as if this is not enough, there is also a wonderful recording of the Tchaikovsky Rococo Variations - it would be worth buying this CD for this recording alone! Rostropovich is outstanding throughout, combining stunning virtuosity with a great sense of melodic integrity. The orchestral accompaniment in this piece is renowned as being tricky, but Karajan does a fantastic job and the orchestral playing is light and responsive throughout.
This is a fantastic recording that has given me hours and hours of pleasure, and I can't understand why I am the first person to be reviewing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent ensemble whole / Definitive performance, 7 April 2010
By 
Marcolorenzo (Italy) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the definitive recording of the Dvorak Cello Concerto. The performance of the orchestra, conductor, and soloist reach unparalleled heights of beauty in a symbiotic union of absolute sublimeness. The other choice for this work is the BSO under Osawa with Rostropovich. But that performance has nothing over this one, in fact it is decidedly inferior. On that recording the BSO seems to be playing under some sort of dampening oppressive cloud. Here instead Karajan stimulates Rostropovich to reach heights that are not present on the BSO, and the BPO is light years away from the BSO in this case. This is a truly magnificent ensemble accomplishment at the level of the orchestra and soloist - they perform as an organic whole in a seemless and emotionally vibrant manner taking you on a journey into another sphere of otherworldly beauty. Don't worry that this is an ADD transfer while the Osawa/BSO version is DDD; here the sound is glorious and brilliantly remastered and engineered.Dvorák - Cello Concerto; Tchaikovsky - Rococo Variations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling performance., 22 Sep 2011
I fell in love with this recording the very first time I heard it at a friends house. I was so taken by the piece that I purchased numerous versions,Casals,amongst them. I prefer this recording,but that in no way denegrates the others,all of which were fine.
There's something very special about Rostropovitch,and I couldn't believe my luck when he came to Cardiff many years ago. I'm not sure now if he played this particular work,as he was the conductor of the orchestra.
I sat behind the orchestra,so had a fantastic view of the maestro at work with his baton.
His interaction with the orchestra was a joy to behold,and at the end of the final work he went into the orchestra and hugged most,if not all,of the players. Wonderful man,fantastic cellist.
If you only buy one version of this magical work,you will not be disappointed with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Herbie's Get-out-of-Jail Card?, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Whenever I view photos from the Hubble Space Telescope, Leibnitz's old question comes to mind: why is there something rather than nothing? True, quantum physics has changed the game somewhat but the philosopher's question retains its forcefulness. And who does not revel in photographs of galaxies with their spiral arms and inter-stellar radiance, besieged as they are by so much nothingness? Die they will but die luminously.

Likewise, I am astounded by the very existence of the Dvorak Cello Concerto. Is it in any way explicable? Who can fully encompass its wonder? To what end does it lavish us with so much radiance like the Pleiades star cluster?

For someone who so loved life, how deftly Dvorak bids farewell. Listen to the cello in the finale (9'27"ff) as it ruminates on the passing spectacle of material things.

Recorded in late September 1968, this is surely one of Karajan's Top Ten Recordings. Everything went right on the day. Rostropovich never made a finer recording. This is the plumb-line as to how the Berlin Philharmonic should sound on any given day. The vintage DG recording is exemplary. Treat the Rococo Variations as the most sybaritic of sweets.

On the Day of his Comeuppance, Herbie will have some explaining to do; Faust should serve as his attorney. Come his defence, this recording could well be Exhibit Number One.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an excellent but overrated performance, 23 Dec 2005
By 
G Pelloni "gpelloni" (Cottingham, East Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Whoever is going to buy this cd will be certainly satisfied with it. It contains an excellent performance of Dvorak cello concerto. However its status as the "best", definitive performance (if ever these kind of statements can make any sense) of this work is certainly excessive. For instance, Rostropovich with Talich is not as sumptuously played but it is certainly more idiomatic. Personally I prefer it. The famous Casals recording is, as cello playing, unmatchable. The pulse and phrasing of Casals are a class apart even for Rostropovich. Du Pre with Celibidache provides such a moving performance which, for all its smoothnes, richness and fullness of sound, the Rostropovich-Karayan cannot match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rostropovich, 20 July 2012
By 
K. C. (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am no musician but instinctively many of us have an aesthetical understanding whether it be in music or art but as a bonus this artist was also honest and hardworking and the output was outstanding and prolific. I can only analyse his work on how I feel - his work must touch many hearts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this record as much as when I first heard ..., 12 July 2014
By 
Mikko Rautakorpi (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this record as much as when I first heard in the 70s. Two big artistic personalities play great music with joy.The results are balm to the ear. You can hear two of the most popular works written for cello and orchestra with a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The most beautiful cello concerto played by Rostropovich a maestro sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A safe choice, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of a series of recordings from Deutch Grammephonon and doesn't dissapoint. A young Rostropovich is in fine form
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rostropovich with Karajan, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read about this recording and I agree; this is a masterpiece of Dvorak cello concerto. The playing and recording are both excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dvorįk: Cello Concerto / Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme
Dvorák: Cello Concerto / Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme by Berliner Philharmoniker and Herbert von Karajan and Mstislav Rostropovich
Buy MP3 Album£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews