Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars168
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Due Date features Robert Downey Junior (Iron Man) and Zach Galifianakis (The Hangover) as Peter Highman and Ethan Tremblay, a couple of guys on the same flight to LA. Peter is heading home to LA to meet his heavily pregnant wife who is about to give birth whilst Ethan is heading to Hollywood to try and make it as an actor. When a minor altercation gets them thrown off of the plane and put on the no-fly list, Peter has no option but to buddy up with the insanely annyoing Ethan and drive the distance from Atlanta to LA to make the birth of his child. Will he make in time? Or will Ethan's endless stops & detours be their downfall?

This is the same premise as the classic 1987 comedy Planes, Trains & Automobiles (albeit with a pregnancy instead of the Christmas holidays being the reason for the trip) as the guys form the original odd couple. The premise holds water being ushered into the modern age as the pair bumble from one travel-related disaster to another, hilarity ensues.

There is the feeling that both actors found their roles pretty easy; with Downey Jr. playing the high-flying suited architect with no patience and Galifianakis plays the same character he always does with the wild-eyed, dead-pan delivery style and the ever-present facial hair. Whilst neither of them are pushing the envelope in any respect they provide very tangible - if a little clichéd and two-dimensional - characters that bring a lot of humour to the saga. Jamie Foxx (Collateral) also pops up as one of Peter's friends that lends a hand and adds an unexpected twist to the story.

The film is beautifully shot as we get to see the guys travelling across some of the most famous U.S. landscapes (The Missippi & the Grand Canyon to name a couple) and this is overlaid with a great score that fits each scene well. Although the humour relies mainly on hyperbole between Galifianakis' stupidity and Downey's straight man this is an honestly entertaining experience for the duration, clocking in at a light 95 minutes.

The Blu-ray has a suite of extras which include: The complete "Two and a Half Men" scene featuring Zack Galifianakis (an excerpt of it plays in the movie), a few additional scenes that didn't make the cut, an action & gag reel and last but not least "Due Date: Too Many Questions" a mash-up compilations of all of the ridiculously stupud questions Ethan asks Peter, hit after hit.

In conclusion, a solid film that isn't all that original, a bit thin on character development but it's one funny ride from beginning to end. Recommended!!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
Loved it, recommend to anyone! You definitely need this DVD!
Humour never got weak, laughed throughout. This film will defiantly cheer you up:-)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
Very good quality, excellent would recommend it to friends and family. We really enjoyed it was wonderful. Just what we needed.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
I'm a huge fan of Trains, Planes and Automobiles. So much so that I have a wish to go on a pilgrimage of "the route". I also really loved this film too. I've seen the former probably about 500 or so times - I'll probably watch this film once more, next year or something. But that's just a reflection on the times. I don't think people watch their favourite films 500 times anymore because there's so much more stuff out there. Back then we didn't have personal phones or the internet. Also, and for the similar reasons, I think there was a different emotional connection with our favourite actors - EVERYBODY fell in love with John Candy back then, what ever film he was in - And Steve Martin was a very famous comedy actor (The Man With Two Brains, The Jerk, All of Me &c.) The two films don't compare fairly because of how different things are now compared to the 80s... At the end of Due Date we don't hear "Every Time You Go Away" and get all teary eyed. But we do see a stoned man-dog in the driver's seat (a la John Candy's devil).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
Two incompatible men are forced to cross country with each other, sometimes on limited funds.

Robert Downey jr. plays an architect who is a bit of a snob. Zach Galifanakis, is the common man with dreams of being a movie star. He is a fan of "2 1/2 Men" and like a child, or my last gf, sometimes doesn't realize or care about the consequence of his actions.

The movie is laugh out loud funny. I didn't think that it measured up to the original PT&A, simply because Downey's character was far less colorful than Steve Martin. The movie was written to showcase Zach Galifanakis. I thought it was better than "The Hangover" in that it excludes the abundance of sophomoric humor.

No nudity or sex. Contains language, masturbation, and pot smoking. Okay it has some sophomoric humor.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2011
Although not as good as The Hangover, it is quite amusing. Zach Galifianakis plays a similar character to the character he played in Hangover. Robert Downey Jr plays the guy under pressure well, looking quite downbit and really irritated by Galifinakis's character. Some say it is quite derivative and it does feel a bit like Planes, Trains and Automobiles at time. Overall, not a classic but one you will watch a couple of times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Fab film really funny if you like the cast i would definitely recommend it laughed all the way through it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Funniest film I have seen for a long time. You genuinely go yourself, as did RDJr, from really caring about Zach's character to really wanting to strangle him. Both put in a great performance with some laugh out loud moments and some very touching ones also. Not as silly as the Hangover movies which are a little over the top for my taste . Would recommend strongly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
This is a good film with competent acting and cinematography with some genuinely funny moments. This film is basically a road movie with a small cast and there is a segue at the end to Two And A Half Men. I would recommend this film to young adults and old adults and fans of Robert Downey Junior as he gives a good performance here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2011
Comedy has got to be the worst thing to try and review - like religion and politics, it just invites polarised opinions. Like many of the reviewers here I come down against the movie - a shame, as Downey often exhibits a great dry wit, that should have done well in an all-comedy vehicle - what's bizarre is that he had better one-liners in `Zodiac', and that was a true-life drama about a serial killer !

His straight man, Galifianakis, was in the same mould as the guys in `Knocked Up' and `Get Him to The Greek' - American equivalents of James Corden and Nick Frost - instantly forgettable and painfully unfunny. Straight Men shouldn't be getting all the laughs, but they need to have, like Bud Abbott, a strong character to reign in the excesses of the Funny Man. Unfortunately, Downey doesn't have any comedic persona to reign in, and Galifianakis is as bland as a pot of humous.

And to get away with `Gross' the movie has to be filled with other great gags to divert the audience from the offensiveness. There's no `background-noise' of good, solid gags here though, so when we do get gross, it comes across as just offensive: the scene where Downey punches a 7 year old in the stomach simply appears mean-spirited and ill advised; and the scene with the masturbating dog... well, that's an image too far - at least they spared us the money shot.

Turned off at that point - a charitable 2 stars, one of those based on the fact that the inevitable toilet/faeces gag that must have played out later, might have been funny
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.