Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not bored at all
"Bored to Death" is about the travails of the novelist Jonathan Ames (Jason Schwartzman) as he struggles to complete his second novel, get over the breakup of his girlfriend, and explore the new world of being a (unlicensed) private detective in New York city. Helping him on the way is his cartoonist friend Ray (Zach Galifianakis) and magazine magnate George (Ted...
Published on 22 Jun 2011 by Sam Quixote

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Boring, Not Exciting
This is no Curb, more a slickly produced and filmed slice of lightweight whimsy. It is easy to watch and Ted Danson cracked me up a few times, but it is patchy. Overall it was pretty good, but I'm not rushing out to buy the second season.
Published on 17 May 2012 by THOMAS CALLAGHAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not bored at all, 22 Jun 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
"Bored to Death" is about the travails of the novelist Jonathan Ames (Jason Schwartzman) as he struggles to complete his second novel, get over the breakup of his girlfriend, and explore the new world of being a (unlicensed) private detective in New York city. Helping him on the way is his cartoonist friend Ray (Zach Galifianakis) and magazine magnate George (Ted Danson).

"Bored to Death" is a gentle comedy/mild drama and it's episodes are quite subtle and laid back. The stories are always interesting and tend to revolve around people approaching Jonathan to find things for them, people, skateboards, in one case, sperm.

Jason Schwartzman plays the kind of character you've seen him play before in a number of films particularly Wes Anderson's. The laid back, articulate, gentle and kind person is a character he can play very well and is pleasant to watch.

Zach G's (I can't type his overcomplicated surname again) character is slightly different from others he's played, he's not overly camp and annoying nor is he psychotic or incredibly insensitive and overbearing - he's actually more normal than Jason's character and surprisingly likeable too.

Ted Danson is brilliant as the rich, perpetually drunk/stoned magazine publisher who's energetic and freewheeling as he journeys with Jonathan through the episodes. He also looks damn good for his age, it's like the man doesn't age, his hair just changes colour!

I really enjoyed this short but interesting 8 episode series. It tells some funny, interesting stories and introduces us to likeable characters. New York is also shot really well - the episodes take you to Brighton Beach to Brooklyn to Manhattan to the Bronx and shows you the richness and variety that is part of New York's charm.

Quite a few of the jokes revolve around the characters' frequent consumption of weed and booze so if that's not your bag then you probably won't be crazy about the humour. It's not as manic as "30 Rock" nor as zeitgeisty as "The Office" but it's humour is slower and more deliberate.

"Bored to Death" is a charming and witty series that I liked watching the hell out of - roll on Season 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genious, 12 Mar 2011
By 
M. Sima (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Bored to Death is insane. Just 8 half hour episodes per series (close to the UKs way of doing things - quality not quantity!). First heard of it on Craig Ferguson's show on the net, then saw the first season all in one day. It is hilarious and cinical and funny and honest. I love it and can't wait to buy the series! Series2 is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Boring, Not Exciting, 17 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is no Curb, more a slickly produced and filmed slice of lightweight whimsy. It is easy to watch and Ted Danson cracked me up a few times, but it is patchy. Overall it was pretty good, but I'm not rushing out to buy the second season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars bored to tears, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This isn't very good or original or interesting. It is self indulgent and dull. I liked Jason Schwartzman but he lacks range. Another neurotic new york sitcom - This one is not worth the bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Schwartzman, not everyones idea of a leading man., 13 April 2014
By 
Mr. E. A. Dobson "dwardstings" (West Yorkshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I liked Jason Schwartzman in Rushmore & more recently his small role in Moonrise Kingdom (excellent film by the way) but he seemed a little feminine in this. It`s not that his character is meant to be a tough guy but all this talk of drinking white wine & smoking pot just got on my nerves. Ted Danson & Zach fair much better but the show only becomes really interesting when they kind of join forces near the end. I was very surprised after watching the pilot that this show ever got picked up. Obviously reading the other reviews, some people like it but I won't be buying season 2. I highly recommend Damages season 1 (just bought season 2) which features Ted Danson, he is excellent in a dramatic role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laid-back humor, 9 April 2014
By 
A. Kitroeff "Alec Kitroeff" (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I found this item by Jonathan Ames extremely appealing with its laid-back humor, prompting me to order season 2 and the books by Jonathan Ames
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bored to death-season 1., 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
A very strange but also very funny consept in a series. Everyone plays their roles very funny, and the storyline is something that i think almost everyone can relate to.

As always, Zach Galifinakis is outstanding in his role, and also Ted Danson suprised me a lot. This is withoout a doubt something that i recommend for everyone that likes comedies, especially the kind that it very liberal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dreaming On in New York, 16 Sep 2013
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Bored to Death season 1 consists of 8 half hour episodes. I watched the whole season in one sitting and found it got better as each episodes passed. Partly due to getting used to the characters and partly because the stories became even more fun and featured more scenes with Ted Danson. The series has some laugh out loud moments and some crazy stories, but is also quite gentle and structured. It's got a lot in common with the early 90's TV series 'Dream On', which is also a lot of fun. It's also a bit like a series version of the film 'I love Huckbees', sharing the same lead actor and the same mostly relaxed and conversational comedy with the odd zany scenarios. Season 1 doesn't have the same impact as the first seasons of Curb your Enthusiasm or Eastbound and Down, but I think it shows alot of potential. There are two more seasons after this which I'm planning on seeing soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ted Danson is a legend!, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is a really funny series and Ted Danson is just brilliant. The dynamic between the three characters is really funny and it's great value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far from it....., 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Worth watching for Ted Danson's character alone. Jason Schwartzman is as lovably quirky as ever. All in all well written, consistently amusing with the occasional laugh out loud moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011]
Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] by Jason Schwartzman (DVD - 2011)
7.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews