Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not boring at all - it's a laugh a minute!
It's quite rare for me to be able to watch a sitcom back-to-back, over-and-over, and still crease up laughing again and again at things I've already seen, but 'Bored To Death' has that effect on me. What an excellent, quirky and downright hilarious show this is. If you are in any doubt, just buy it, please! I bought it on impulse, and I'm so glad that I did, I have now...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Boring, Not Exciting
This is no Curb, more a slickly produced and filmed slice of lightweight whimsy. It is easy to watch and Ted Danson cracked me up a few times, but it is patchy. Overall it was pretty good, but I'm not rushing out to buy the second season.
Published on 17 May 2012 by THOMAS CALLAGHAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not boring at all - it's a laugh a minute!, 26 Feb. 2015
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
It's quite rare for me to be able to watch a sitcom back-to-back, over-and-over, and still crease up laughing again and again at things I've already seen, but 'Bored To Death' has that effect on me. What an excellent, quirky and downright hilarious show this is. If you are in any doubt, just buy it, please! I bought it on impulse, and I'm so glad that I did, I have now purchased the second series and have every intention of buying the third and final.

When pot-smoking, struggling novelist Jonathan Armes (Jason Schwartzman) has his heart broken by his girlfriend Leah (Heather Burns) who splits up with him, the devastated guy posts an advert on the internet, passing himself off as private detective. He soon receives offers from eccentric and unsavoury characters to help solve their 'unusual' problems - and plenty of mayhem, unusual situations and belly-aching laughs are assured. Jonathan has two equally colourful characters in his best mate Ray (Zach Galifianakis), a comic book artist, and father figure George (Ted Danson), a magazine editor, to help him along the way.

'Bored to Death' is so easy to watch, and the characters, from the recurring to those in just the one episode, portrayed so well by a great cast, are all very likeable. I had to laugh watching the wannabee detective Jonathan in action, as he reminds me so much of my myself, and I can find myself relating to him in so many ways, although whether that's funny or worrying, I am still uncertain.

This DVD contains the complete eight episodes of series one, as well as a 'Making Of' featurette, audio commentaries on select episodes with Jason Schwartzaman, the show's creator Jonathan Ames and the directors, plus some deleted scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreaming On in New York, 16 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Bored to Death season 1 consists of 8 half hour episodes. I watched the whole season in one sitting and found it got better as each episodes passed. Partly due to getting used to the characters and partly because the stories became even more fun and featured more scenes with Ted Danson. The series has some laugh out loud moments and some crazy stories, but is also quite gentle and structured. It's got a lot in common with the early 90's TV series 'Dream On', which is also a lot of fun. It's also a bit like a series version of the film 'I love Huckbees', sharing the same lead actor and the same mostly relaxed and conversational comedy with the odd zany scenarios. Season 1 doesn't have the same impact as the first seasons of Curb your Enthusiasm or Eastbound and Down, but I think it shows alot of potential. There are two more seasons after this which I'm planning on seeing soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not bored at all, 22 Jun. 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
"Bored to Death" is about the travails of the novelist Jonathan Ames (Jason Schwartzman) as he struggles to complete his second novel, get over the breakup of his girlfriend, and explore the new world of being a (unlicensed) private detective in New York city. Helping him on the way is his cartoonist friend Ray (Zach Galifianakis) and magazine magnate George (Ted Danson).

"Bored to Death" is a gentle comedy/mild drama and it's episodes are quite subtle and laid back. The stories are always interesting and tend to revolve around people approaching Jonathan to find things for them, people, skateboards, in one case, sperm.

Jason Schwartzman plays the kind of character you've seen him play before in a number of films particularly Wes Anderson's. The laid back, articulate, gentle and kind person is a character he can play very well and is pleasant to watch.

Zach G's (I can't type his overcomplicated surname again) character is slightly different from others he's played, he's not overly camp and annoying nor is he psychotic or incredibly insensitive and overbearing - he's actually more normal than Jason's character and surprisingly likeable too.

Ted Danson is brilliant as the rich, perpetually drunk/stoned magazine publisher who's energetic and freewheeling as he journeys with Jonathan through the episodes. He also looks damn good for his age, it's like the man doesn't age, his hair just changes colour!

I really enjoyed this short but interesting 8 episode series. It tells some funny, interesting stories and introduces us to likeable characters. New York is also shot really well - the episodes take you to Brighton Beach to Brooklyn to Manhattan to the Bronx and shows you the richness and variety that is part of New York's charm.

Quite a few of the jokes revolve around the characters' frequent consumption of weed and booze so if that's not your bag then you probably won't be crazy about the humour. It's not as manic as "30 Rock" nor as zeitgeisty as "The Office" but it's humour is slower and more deliberate.

"Bored to Death" is a charming and witty series that I liked watching the hell out of - roll on Season 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who's bored now?, 12 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Ordered this with curbed enthusiasm and expected no more than cheap & cheerful entertainment. And at first that's exactly what this short (8 eps @ barely 30 mins each) series seemed to deliver. But after two or so episodes the structure, and more importantly the chemistry, began to grow on me. By the time disc 2 hit my player I was smitten.

There's an easy going feel to this series, far less so by luck than by carefully plotted character exposition, that soon got under my skin. As the wannabe private sleuth, Jonathan Ames (Jason Schwartzman) ticks all the boxes well enough. But when his thumb-sucking mate Ray (Zach Galifianakis) and his free-wheeling "boss" George (Ted Danson) join the action the truly wacky dynamics of this series are revealed. Zach G's performance as the downtrodden and insecure closet superhero are often hilarious, but it's Ted Danson's character who really steals the show with his sharp moves, witty dialog and drug habits totally belying his age and rank. The man's a genius and cracked me up more than once to hernia-threatening levels. I'm sure I'm not the only one wishing for a boss like him.

On its own I should probably give a 4 star rating, but add the classy music and a fantastic title sequence and bang - 5 stars. A must if you're bored to death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genious, 12 Mar. 2011
By 
M. Sima (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Bored to Death is insane. Just 8 half hour episodes per series (close to the UKs way of doing things - quality not quantity!). First heard of it on Craig Ferguson's show on the net, then saw the first season all in one day. It is hilarious and cinical and funny and honest. I love it and can't wait to buy the series! Series2 is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thirty Year-long Mid Life Crises, 11 Mar. 2015
By 
Hamish Adam - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What happens when men’s lives start to unravel? Watch ‘Bored To Death’ if you want a hilarious yet honest account of mid-life crises that start in your early thirties and last until your sixties.

‘Bored To Death’ is classy high quality television and there are consequently just 8 episodes in this first season. It starts convincingly as a struggling writer with a Raymond Chandler fixation gets into the private detective business. Everything springs from that and the first season is largely centered on his amusing investigative successes and failures.

Seasons two and three have more extremely welcome development of the characters brilliantly played by Ted Danson, Zak Galifinakis and Jason Schwartzman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive and hilarious!, 21 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is the funniest thing i saw in ages! I got really addicted to the stories happening in the chaotic life of the self-appointed detective Jonathan Ames. This series is packed with jokes, bizarre scenes and really great produced and features a well chosen cast!!! The character Jonathan and his 2 close friends are breaking with the male role models which is very refreshing to see.

They fail in so many ways and this is just amusing every time like a running gag. Even though the cases are rather unrealistic all the feelings, thier strong friendship, their personal worries and small crises are so real and so well set and accordingly hilarious! This is addictive when you once got to like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Boring, Not Exciting, 17 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is no Curb, more a slickly produced and filmed slice of lightweight whimsy. It is easy to watch and Ted Danson cracked me up a few times, but it is patchy. Overall it was pretty good, but I'm not rushing out to buy the second season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bored to death-season 1., 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
A very strange but also very funny consept in a series. Everyone plays their roles very funny, and the storyline is something that i think almost everyone can relate to.

As always, Zach Galifinakis is outstanding in his role, and also Ted Danson suprised me a lot. This is withoout a doubt something that i recommend for everyone that likes comedies, especially the kind that it very liberal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bored To Death, 22 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD]

Another Brahma from HBO! Written by Comic artist: Jonathan Ames this hilarious kooky, left field series is consistently entertaining. If your a fan of the actors that play the three leads you will not be disappointed. Basically fan's of "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "The Hangover" will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011]
Bored To Death - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] by Jason Schwartzman (DVD - 2011)
£7.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews