Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent songs and music to drive to
Having only heard one track, Indestructible, I was somewhat apprehensive about getting the album - what if I didn't like any other tracks (it has happened)? I needn't have worried practically every track is good and some are truly exceptional. Time Machine & Stars 4-Ever are two I could, and often do, listen to over and over again. I'm still not comfortable with the...
Published on 26 Jan. 2011 by Bobcat

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars cdr or the real thing?
I bought this album on a friends recommendation, but it looks like a cd that had been burned on to cdr with 4 tracks missing so not happy
Published 9 months ago by simon gledhill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent songs and music to drive to, 26 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
Having only heard one track, Indestructible, I was somewhat apprehensive about getting the album - what if I didn't like any other tracks (it has happened)? I needn't have worried practically every track is good and some are truly exceptional. Time Machine & Stars 4-Ever are two I could, and often do, listen to over and over again. I'm still not comfortable with the swearing, although I do still listen to the two tracks where it features they aren't my favourites. But, with thirteen other thumpingly good tracks to choose from I'm pleased I took a chance on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Daring Bodytalk",, 10 April 2011
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
"Bodytalk" by Robyn is a very exciting and catchy cd that has many high-energy songs that cover the various facets of relationships and having fun. What is great about this cd is that Robyn carefully put musical tracks that covered various facets of what can happen in life. For example, Robyn sings about keeping her guard up, and only revealing herself to the one special "nice" person in the edgy ballad that is "Indestructible". "Time Machine" appears to be about her coming to terms with her past and present in assisting her in becoming wiser. "We Dance to The Beat", "Dancehall Queen," and "Stars 4-Ever" appear to be about having fun and making the most of life. "Get Myself Together" is also a great song about striving to create more harmony, balance, and fullfillment in one's life. "Stars 4-Ever" really stood out for me, but all of her other songs on this compilation are very well-put together as well. Robyn creatively projects a strong and powerful spirit in many of her songs. It is my humble opinion that Robyn's Bodytalk cd symbolizes the creative musical growth that she has achieved since her 1990's musical days of "Do You Know (What it Takes)," and "Do You Really Want Me (Show Respect). Please understand that I do think positively of her two well known 90's songs, but this "Bodytalk" compilation showcases her talent even more. Robyn's "Bodytalk" compilation is very much recommended if you enjoy high-energy dance/pop music of a musician who projects much creativity and personal power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Electronic/Pop Album of 2010?, 18 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
Body Talk [Explicit]
Body Talk is the final part of Robyn's 'Body Talk' project. Part 1 and 2 offered new songs in sometimes lovely, simple acoustic settings - amidst some great beats - which have now re-appeared emboldened as much bigger, fully electronic/pop songs. She made the earlier versions while out on the road.

What a fantastic collection of tunes she has amassed here. In the spirit of Blondie, Pet Shop Boys, LCD, Giorgio Moroder, Kylie and Kraftkwerk this album sounds like a greatest hits because so many of the tunes genuinely hit it. I like pop music with an edge; brilliantly catchy but subversive. The delicate/hardcore, heartfelt words and melodies are best heard on Dancing On My Own, Indestructible, Love Kills (not the Freddie Mercury song), Hang With Me and None Of Dem - and they sound really good loud.

It's a real shame Robyn isn't as big as should she be; this album is class. If you enjoy edgy, intelligent pop music and haven't heard this yet, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I have to get this, 29 Dec. 2010
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
I only just got part 1 and 2 of body talk,thankfully only £5 each,and now having heard the sumptuous electro disco of the new version of Indestructible the only course of action that makes sense is to get this album.I don't mind so much as long as Robyn gets the money.
Watching the video to Dancing on My Own reminds me how great dark clubs can be,bopping away in your own little corner,I miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dancing on my own, 29 Nov. 2010
By 
J. Ball "Joshua Ball" (Valencia, ES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
Well, crazy times for Robyn. She released two short if not slightly rushed albums and then combined them both and added a few new songs, all in the space of a year! The good news is that it paid off, the last Body Talk offering is clearly the best. It contains the strongest songs from both previous albums plus a selection of new songs. It plays like a greatest hits collection as you will be familiar with most of the songs and most of them would be strong enough to be a single.

The new songs such as Stars 4eva and Time Machine are an excellent addition and really improve the quality of the album as a whole. This is Robyn's strongest work to date as she ventures more and more into the electro-pop-dance world. A few of the tracks are reminiscent of a soundtrack from the numerous 80's scifi shows (but with a heavier bass obviously).

All in all worth the money as it plays like a dream. My favourite album of the year. If you own the other two Body Talk albums then perhaps just download the new songs as it seems a bit excessive to have several copies of the same tracks. If you have yet to purchase any Body Talk material then look no further. Get downloading! May Robyn rule for many years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electronic Pop at its best, 2 Jun. 2011
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
Something quite remarkable happened last year. A Swedish electronic dance artist by the name of Robyn released three CD's. Ok, so this one - the third one, is a compilation of the first two but with new and added tracks. Little matter because all three are truly wonderful CD's. It is reminiscent of Madonna, circa Ray of Light or Music. Tracks such as Dancing on My Own, Hang With Me and Indestructable are reminders of how wonderful a 3 minute pop song can be. Although I still prefer the acoustic version of Indestructable from volume two.
Lyrics could be a complaint for some. Maybe they can be a little childish. But the sheer delight of hearing pop done so well is enough. If there was justice Robyn would be a world wide superstar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good mixture of pop and dance music, 26 July 2011
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
"Body Talk" is Robyn's fifth full length studio album and contains songs from Body Talk Parts 1 and 2 as well as some new tracks. The main theme for the album is dance music, but there are also some pop songs here. As a whole, the album works well and is just as good as her previous work on her self-titled fourth album "Robyn".

The album starts off with one of the highlights "Fembot", a great catchy pop song with an infectious hook. One of the new songs and third single "Indestructible" is probably one of the best dance tracks I have heard for a while, followed closely by "Stars 4 Ever", another great dance track. Other highlights include the two singles "Dancing On My Own" and "Hang With Me", as well as "Get Myself Together" and the catchy reggae influenced track "Dancehall Queen" which adds some well needed diversity to the album.

And that is the only slight flaw with this release. Some of the songs can sound a little repetitive and monotonous, such as "Love Kills" and the fourth single "Call Your Girlfriend", as most of the tracks are dance tracks. Robyn is a very versatile artist and sounds really great accompanied by a simple piano backing as demonstrated on live performances of "Be Mine" which you can watch on Youtube (as well as other stripped apart versions of some of her other songs). It would have been perfect if she had included some ballads here. Hopefully this is something that she will consider for future releases, but in the meantime, this will do just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pop Perfection, 19 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
No lover of pop in its purest form can fail to be enthralled by this cracking musical offering from true popstar Robyn.

I could go on about the clevernesss of the lyrics and interesting beats from the rest of the album but the reason i'm in love with this CD is the 24m 43s of perfection that is track 3 through to 8.

I can't remember the last time I found a CD able to maintain such a high standard over 6 straight tracks as done here, starting with the sublime Dancing On My Own and ending with future classic Call Your Girlfriend.

The dynamic insistent beats provide the driving force on top of which you get some lovely retro synths and Robyn's wonderfully emotive voice delivering a suite of 6 perfect slices of pop. Tracks with the sort of hooks that would see other popstars sacrificing their grandmothers for.

It all seems so simple and effortless (as all the best stuff does) and restores your faith in pop.

Instruction: Press play, whack the volume up, dance around the room like an eedjit with a massive grin on your face and await those "hairs on the back of your neck" tingles as those killer choruses kick in.

P.S. as an example of how this woman can do no wrong I give you exhibit a) Dancehall Queen, a track that by all sane musical laws should never work and in lesser euro hands would be an embarrassment but I challenge you not to be won over by "I still run this thing like a dancehall queen, I really don't want no hassle"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars be aware of the artwork!!, 7 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
Great album as ever from Robyn, but be aware of the artwork on the disc. It is manufactured to look like a CD-R. I did not know this and so when it arrived, it was so convincingly like a CD-R (says CD Reburnable on it) that I thought it was a counterfeit product - it isn't!!! It was a design choice for the disc as the albums in this series were all a bit experimental (so I've read) and therefore it was made to look as if it had been knocked up in someone's garage / bedroom. It doesn't have this anywhere in the product description, and I have seen other reviews that have thought they'd been sent a counterfeit item - but it's not, it's just made to look that way!

Enjoy it!
Hayles x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable Tracks and Lyrics, 16 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Talk [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
This is a fantastic album by Robyn with some memorable tracks and lyrics that strike an incredible intellectual cord recorded against a penetrating electronic rhythm. All the more the more surprising considering this is essentially a dance album. "Call your girlfriend" is a heart-wrenching song about the break-up of a relationship and probably the best track on the album. If you are a fan of Robyn, then you will not be disappointed. If you like dance music but you are not a fan of Robyn, then try it anyway, you might be surprised. Ignore the swearing though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews