Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent songs and music to drive to, 26 Jan 2011
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
Having only heard one track, Indestructible, I was somewhat apprehensive about getting the album - what if I didn't like any other tracks (it has happened)? I needn't have worried practically every track is good and some are truly exceptional. Time Machine & Stars 4-Ever are two I could, and often do, listen to over and over again. I'm still not comfortable with the swearing, although I do still listen to the two tracks where it features they aren't my favourites. But, with thirteen other thumpingly good tracks to choose from I'm pleased I took a chance on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I have to get this, 29 Dec 2010
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
I only just got part 1 and 2 of body talk,thankfully only 5 each,and now having heard the sumptuous electro disco of the new version of Indestructible the only course of action that makes sense is to get this album.I don't mind so much as long as Robyn gets the money.
Watching the video to Dancing on My Own reminds me how great dark clubs can be,bopping away in your own little corner,I miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Electronic/Pop Album of 2010?, 18 Dec 2010
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
Body Talk [Explicit]
Body Talk is the final part of Robyn's 'Body Talk' project. Part 1 and 2 offered new songs in sometimes lovely, simple acoustic settings - amidst some great beats - which have now re-appeared emboldened as much bigger, fully electronic/pop songs. She made the earlier versions while out on the road.

What a fantastic collection of tunes she has amassed here. In the spirit of Blondie, Pet Shop Boys, LCD, Giorgio Moroder, Kylie and Kraftkwerk this album sounds like a greatest hits because so many of the tunes genuinely hit it. I like pop music with an edge; brilliantly catchy but subversive. The delicate/hardcore, heartfelt words and melodies are best heard on Dancing On My Own, Indestructible, Love Kills (not the Freddie Mercury song), Hang With Me and None Of Dem - and they sound really good loud.

It's a real shame Robyn isn't as big as should she be; this album is class. If you enjoy edgy, intelligent pop music and haven't heard this yet, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Daring Bodytalk",, 10 April 2011
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
"Bodytalk" by Robyn is a very exciting and catchy cd that has many high-energy songs that cover the various facets of relationships and having fun. What is great about this cd is that Robyn carefully put musical tracks that covered various facets of what can happen in life. For example, Robyn sings about keeping her guard up, and only revealing herself to the one special "nice" person in the edgy ballad that is "Indestructible". "Time Machine" appears to be about her coming to terms with her past and present in assisting her in becoming wiser. "We Dance to The Beat", "Dancehall Queen," and "Stars 4-Ever" appear to be about having fun and making the most of life. "Get Myself Together" is also a great song about striving to create more harmony, balance, and fullfillment in one's life. "Stars 4-Ever" really stood out for me, but all of her other songs on this compilation are very well-put together as well. Robyn creatively projects a strong and powerful spirit in many of her songs. It is my humble opinion that Robyn's Bodytalk cd symbolizes the creative musical growth that she has achieved since her 1990's musical days of "Do You Know (What it Takes)," and "Do You Really Want Me (Show Respect). Please understand that I do think positively of her two well known 90's songs, but this "Bodytalk" compilation showcases her talent even more. Robyn's "Bodytalk" compilation is very much recommended if you enjoy high-energy dance/pop music of a musician who projects much creativity and personal power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dancing on my own, 29 Nov 2010
By 
J. Ball "Joshua Ball" (Valencia, ES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
Well, crazy times for Robyn. She released two short if not slightly rushed albums and then combined them both and added a few new songs, all in the space of a year! The good news is that it paid off, the last Body Talk offering is clearly the best. It contains the strongest songs from both previous albums plus a selection of new songs. It plays like a greatest hits collection as you will be familiar with most of the songs and most of them would be strong enough to be a single.

The new songs such as Stars 4eva and Time Machine are an excellent addition and really improve the quality of the album as a whole. This is Robyn's strongest work to date as she ventures more and more into the electro-pop-dance world. A few of the tracks are reminiscent of a soundtrack from the numerous 80's scifi shows (but with a heavier bass obviously).

All in all worth the money as it plays like a dream. My favourite album of the year. If you own the other two Body Talk albums then perhaps just download the new songs as it seems a bit excessive to have several copies of the same tracks. If you have yet to purchase any Body Talk material then look no further. Get downloading! May Robyn rule for many years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electronic Pop at its best, 2 Jun 2011
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
Something quite remarkable happened last year. A Swedish electronic dance artist by the name of Robyn released three CD's. Ok, so this one - the third one, is a compilation of the first two but with new and added tracks. Little matter because all three are truly wonderful CD's. It is reminiscent of Madonna, circa Ray of Light or Music. Tracks such as Dancing on My Own, Hang With Me and Indestructable are reminders of how wonderful a 3 minute pop song can be. Although I still prefer the acoustic version of Indestructable from volume two.
Lyrics could be a complaint for some. Maybe they can be a little childish. But the sheer delight of hearing pop done so well is enough. If there was justice Robyn would be a world wide superstar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars be aware of the artwork!!, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
Great album as ever from Robyn, but be aware of the artwork on the disc. It is manufactured to look like a CD-R. I did not know this and so when it arrived, it was so convincingly like a CD-R (says CD Reburnable on it) that I thought it was a counterfeit product - it isn't!!! It was a design choice for the disc as the albums in this series were all a bit experimental (so I've read) and therefore it was made to look as if it had been knocked up in someone's garage / bedroom. It doesn't have this anywhere in the product description, and I have seen other reviews that have thought they'd been sent a counterfeit item - but it's not, it's just made to look that way!

Enjoy it!
Hayles x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Credible pop music for the 21st century, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
This album has some absolutely classic songs on it. I wouldn't call it a perfect album, as there is definitely some filler (at 15 tracks though that's probably allowed), but the some of the tracks are so good that they more than make up for it. Whether you're into manufactured pop or indie music, this album has enough credibility on both fronts to impress. Highlights are Dancing on my Own, and Call Your Girlfriend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
great album by a fantastic artist. out in 2010 but i only just got it, love it though! Hope Robyn does more music soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome pop album, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Talk (Audio CD)
There are two or three good tracks... and the other songs are simply excellent. Highlights: Dancing On My Own, Indestructible, Call Your Girlfriend, Time Machine, Fembot, practically most of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb156424c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews