Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first class complete set of string quartet recordings, 23 Nov 2013
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Hagen quartet provide an excellent cycle of the Mozart string quartets here on this first class product.
The Product itself has seven discs contained in a slim card box which is less than an inch thick. Each of the discs is contained in its own card sleeve with black and white art work that mirrors the yellow and black art work on the box.
There is also a booklet with the yellow and black art work on the front. It is informative on the track listing for each disc, Mozart and the individual sets of string quartets and the recordings themselves. There are some photos and alternative language text.

The recordings are excellent. They are all performed by the same performers and recorded by the same team of engineers between 1991 and 2004. The digital sound offers consistency in terms of sound, balance and tone offering an advantage over some other sets. All the recordings are collected here in a great package.

Both lead violin by Lukas Hagen and the other three performers do not use over the top vibrato. Also I suspect that some people may find the tempo slightly on the fast side but I did not find this a problem. And instead found the performance generally across the quartets to be superb. There is excellent phrasing and intonation as well a great sense of expression and atmosphere. There is much body to the sound of this quartet. The string quartets are in excellent hands.

This is an excellent way to collect the complete set of Mozart String Quartets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Mozart playing, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This is a terrific box of all Mozart's String Quartets plus Eine Kleine Nachtmusik, the Bach fugues which Mozart arranged and two of Mozart's Adagios and Fugues. It's a collection of superb music, excellently played by one of the world's leading string quartets.

In my view, some of Mozart's finest music is here. I have to say that although the earlier quartets have a great deal of charm and it's good to have them, I do find they pale beside the great later quartets, which I think are works of true genius. In particular, the set he dedicated to Haydn and the Prussian Quartets are works of real depth and innovation and are they immensely pleasurable to listen to. I have a number of recordings, including Quatuor Mosaiques, Quartetto Italiano and the Amadeus Quartet, and I think these renditions by the Hagens stand very well beside those other great recordings.

The Hagen Quartet are superb musicians with excellent technique and flawless intonation. Their use of vibrato is restrained and, I think, ideal for this repertoire. Similarly, their phrasing and careful use of rubato shapes the music perfectly so that Mozart's wonderful structures shine through and aren't obscured by over-expressive gestures. There is often an audible twinkle and zest in their playing but they generate genuine passion and emotion, too (K421 is something quite special, I think). I would characterise this set as perhaps a little less austere than Quartetto Italiano, and a little cheerier and more vigorous than Quatuor Mosaiques. I love all three sets in their different ways and which is best for you will depend on your personal taste.

For a complete set of Mozart's String Quartets I really don't think you can go wrong with this box. They are beautifully played and excellently recorded, and the extras are a real pleasure, too. Even if, like me, you have a number of recordings already I'd say this is well worth getting; it has a fresh and very enjoyable feel and offers some new insights, too, and at this price for 7 CDs it's an absolute steal. Very warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mozart String Quartets - aural heaven!, 15 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. H. S. Arloff "Steve Arloff" (Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This CD box set is a fabulous one with supreme performances at a really attractive price. NOONE who loves this music should hestitate for a second but should snap it up while stocks last - there'll be no disappointments only unalloyed joy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mozart Chamber Music, 18 Jun 2014
By 
B. Fields (Leics, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A distinctive packaging for distinctive music.The instruments can be heard individually with the utmost clarity. A feeling of separate identities but totally united as a group with an obvious respect and care for the Mozart creations.
The music itself has delightful rhythms and melodies. The problem is moving through the 106 tracks - the urge to hear the first few quartets time and again means slow progress in hearing them all. A good problem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, 6 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well played version of the String Quartets. Detailled sound, good recording. And The Hagen Quartet sure knows their Mozart. Each time I put in the CD player I find new aspects of this wonderful music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough, 15 May 2009
This is a stunning piece from Deutsche Grammophon. The purity and brilliance of these recordings is breathtaking. One of the finest pieces in my collection. A real must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I know, it's only classical music but i like it !!, 11 Jun 2014
By 
Julio Guiomar "Julio Guerra" (Porto - Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's Mozart, it's the Hagen quartet, it's a DG recording. That's all..... Buy it even if you're not a classical music expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews