Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Much Better Actor, 14 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rawhide - The Complete Series Two [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
A very gritty (for its day) take on the western series. 'Starring' Clint Eastwood, but he was only the second lead there was a much better actor who had top billing, Eric Fleming (who was tragically killed on location in 1966). Watch Fleming's strong performance he's laconic, he's the linchpin that holds everything together, he only speaks when there's something worth saying - traits Eastwood would later borrow for characters like the man with no name. Eastwood's Rowdy Yates is only ever a silly 'boy', always getting into trouble. In the final season of Rawhide, they sacked Fleming, to cut costs and made Eastwood's character, Yates the trail boss. Allegedly the head of the studio watched one episode and cancelled the series, saying Eastwood couldn't carry the series like Fleming did. I am an admirer of Clint Eastwood's work, but Fleming's untimely demise robbed us of a far better actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yihahhhhh ! Perfect Picture and Sound...., 15 July 2011
This review is from: Rawhide - The Complete Series Two [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
The first season I must claim the bad NTSC to PAL transfer with GOP structure errors and double frames. But I am surprised with the second season of this great TV western show.

Here the picture and sound is great without jumps and double frames. And a bonus, too for everyone who need this: The second season has english subtitles.

That's the way to present a season of a great TV show.

I hope that "Revelation" will do a re-issue of the first season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When men were men, 5 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rawhide - The Complete Series Two [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
I love this series. Cracking score with Frankie Lane; great interaction between the characters. One of the greatest western series ever made.
Only thing I don't like is the box which says "starring Clint Eastwood" and doesn't mention Eric Fleming.
I loved Series 1 as well but the quality of the dvd recording is much higher for this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every minute enjoyable, 11 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rawhide - The Complete Series Two [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
Rawhide is great TV. It is really funny and somehow not dated. It is one of the best western series ever made. I would recommend both Series 1 and 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An oldie but still great, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rawhide - The Complete Series Two [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
Bought it for my Mum who is a big Clint Eastwood fan. She loved it and it brought back great memories of black and white telly when the violence wasn't so gratuitious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars they just keep rolling!, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rawhide - The Complete Series Two [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
As good, if not better than series 1 and 3. Cannot wait for series 4 to come out in April. Am I right in thinking this will be in colour? If it is what a bonus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAWHIDE SERIES 2, 19 Sep 2012
By 
Mrs. KC BEADLE "Kaf" (Hull, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rawhide - The Complete Series Two [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
I recieved this series 2 very quick and it was cheap too.I am very impressed indeed.Rawhide will bring back such great memories. I cannot comment on the dvd because I have not watched it because I have decided to give it to my husband for christmas now along with series 1 and series 3 fron other sellers. I have become impatient and feel excited with strong urges to watch them, but I must not. We both grew up with Rawhide and thoroughly enjoyed them when we were young. So I may give him them for his birthday in November if I don't last til christmas. Anyway, I'm looking forward to watching them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still strong, 3 Jun 2012
By 
F. A. Stoop - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rawhide - The Complete Series Two [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
I enjoy every episode of this great western show. They all have good stories and every head character got enough room to show himself in all reality and emotions. They don't make them no more like these nowadays. Magnificent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Round 'em' up, 15 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Rawhide - The Complete Series Two [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
Great to see this Western series again, Great quality picture considering it was made in 1959, terrific Stories, Fast Moving Plots, It's good to see Clint Eastwood in his early days as an actor. Great Bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clint Eastwood in the early days, 21 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rawhide - The Complete Series Two [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
If, like my Husband you remember this the first time round,you will not be disappointed. It features Eastwood in his early TV role as Rowdy Yates, the tough-as-nails cowhand and Eric Fleming as Rowdy s strong-minded trail boss, Gil Favor. With fantastic locations, a long list of guest stars, and Frankie Laines unforgettable hit theme song, Rawhide gives one great storyline after another! Clint Eastwood proved even then just how good an actor he was, his role as Rowdy Yates was perfect.
Anyone who enjoys a good western with great stories and an excellent cast will not be disappointed with this set of DVDs. Well worth the money.
If you have already bought Series 1 then you wont need much convincing to get Series 2 it's a must for Western fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rawhide - The Complete Series Two [DVD] [1955]
Rawhide - The Complete Series Two [DVD] [1955] by Clint Eastwood (DVD - 2011)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews