Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars68
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2011
Who tells you the truth today? Politians? The newspapers? The radio & tv? Your guess is as good as mine. One thing I do know is that during this programme I saw some people being made to squirm very uncomfortably in their seats by John Pilger. He is direct and to the point with his questions and I am sure he would be sure of his facts. I was apalled at the gun-ho, shoot em up attitude of the soldiers in the helicopter footage. It was almost like some peoples lives have no value and are just target practice. I was saddened and angered by the exposures of this documentary but at the same time I am glad that this world has people like Mr Pilger who puts his neck on the line to speak for the dead and devalued people of Iraq and Afghanistan. Yes, atrocities have been committed by extremist groups in Britain. But can this be used to justify lying about Weapons Of Mass Destruction and sending our young people into such hostile enviroments? It took some guts for the journalists to hold their hands up and admit they did not tell the truth. This is excellent journalism by John Pilger and rivetting viewing. Finally the most nausiating interview footage for me personally was to hear Tony Blair annoiunce that sending an armed response to Iran was a possibility. DO NOT LET IT HAPPEN AGAIN!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
I am watching this programme as I type this. A fan and admirer of John Pilger this investigation of the media role in the invasion of Iraq and indeed the role of manipulation of the media by the powers that be is in my view his best work to date. I have to believe and trust in his journalism being objective. Watching this moving, informative and quite staggering piece of journalism has left me feeling angry, sad, frustrated and quite frankly ashamed. He has however brought to my attention some wonderful investigative independent journalists but how do we get to hear their voices in time to prevent so much injustice being exacted by the righteous and powerful on the weak and vulnerable? This piece of journalism should be compulsory viewing throughout the western world.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2011
This documentary is simply mind-blowing. It is both very informative and makes for compellling viewing, even if at times it will shake you to your foundations and leave you despairing at what kinds of wars our governments prosecute in our names. An absolute must see for anyone claiming to be knowledgeable about global politics and interested in ascertaining just how free our press in the western world really is. Don't bother if your in the Tea Party movement or a Zionist!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
I stay in South Africa and visited the USA during 2011. It is a beautiful country with lovely people. However, the everyday US citizen is kept in the dark about what their bankers and policy makers are up to. Like most of us, they form their opinions based on what they see in the media. What happens when the media is not impartial, as it is supposed to be ? John Pilger shows us what can happen. The media convinces everyday peace loving citizens to send their young soldiers to their deaths, not to defend their country, but to defend the business interests of an elite few.

Documenteries like this one are normally dismissed as conspiracy theories or anti-US propaganda. I just wish it can get people to watch a wider variety of news channels, in order to get a better picture of what is happening in the world. Start with documenteries like this one and try watching news channels that are not owned by major corporations. And most importantly: ASK MORE QUESTIONS !
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 December 2011
"In human communication, in particular, in journalism, gatekeeping is the process through which ideas and information are filtered for publication." John Pilger, in this fascinating and important programme, looks at the ways in which information can be, and is, distorted by this process, revealing how, in his usual logical, rational and unemotional way, wars and other events have been reported and information has been filtered.

"Journalism is the rightful guardian of disclosure of news and information, and what should be disclosed and what shouldn't, and has a duty and a right to maintain that position." John Humphries, Radio Four "Today" programme.

For those who have given little thought to the media and, perhaps, have had complete faith in them, this programme will come as an unsettling shock. The Leveson Inquiry into phone-hacking and the appearance of both Murdochs before a Parliamentary Committee may also have dented its armour somewhat. Pilger is a highly competent, very experienced, intelligent journalist, a gatekeeper on what many will regard as the secret garden. Others will consider him a trouble-maker. Watch the programm eot decide for yourself and, even if viewers do not agree with him, he will give plenty of food for thought.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2011
John Pilger has always been the keeper of truth in a world of lies, and this documentary reinforces his credibility as one of the few journalists/writers/film-makers who really knows how to present what is going on in the world today, it's historical contexts and an honest and accurate analysis of its relevance to all our lives.

In my opinion one of the most revealing parts of the DVD is where heads of news and media organisations answer questions about their own integrity and journalistic ethics in a way that shows them to have as much honour as those whose crimes they failed to speak up against.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2011
If there is anyone out there who wishes to know what really goes on in the world and not the sanitised/biased version as put forward by our mass media, then look no further than this film by John Pilger.
One will come away incensed that so much information is withheld from the worlds people in order to, say, bolster a particular regime or to uphold the "System" in general, wherever it may exist .
Very well researched indeed, expertly assembled and superbly presented, John Pilger films are absolute essential viewing for people who truly believe in democracy.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 March 2013
It has been clear for many years that the mainstream television channels broadcast a very limited amount of world news (for example, how often does the BBC show anything about Central or South America?). It has also been abundantly clear that the amount of investigative journalism on the mainstream channels has reduced and reduced over the years. Even something like the BBC's Panorama programme rarely shows anything as challenging as it did 25+ year ago (although it does seem to be recovering from the depths it had reached). With the advent of satellite television and 24 hour news, which largely means sitting on a loop that repeats every 15 or 20 minutes, the depth of news coverage on the traditional channels has got worse and worse. I find it telling that I regularly switch to Al Jazeera English to get more information, both in terms of world coverage and in terms of in-depth reporting.

The lack of knowledge amongst many of my friends, colleagues and acquaintances about what happens in the world, often in their name, worries me. Would our troops have died in Iraq and Afghanistan if people were more informed and more questioning? Would so many civilians have died? Would civil rights across the world have been destroyed to the point that rendition to a place of torture was allowed to happen? Would we allow people who should be on trial for war crimes to run governments?

I have recommended previous John Pilger titles to some of my friends and colleagues, and watching them has opened their eyes to things that they previously knew nothing of. Quite how news coverage has got to the state it is in is what John Pilger covers in "The War You Don't See". I wouldn't say this DVD is as informative, challenging or "in your face" as some of his previous titles, but even so, this is another John Pilger title that people should watch, if only to make them ask what else is out there.

For me, I only learnt one thing from this DVD - the use of white phosphorous by the USA (we criticised Israel for using it, but who knew about the USA using it?), but for many viewers I think the whole DVD could be an eye opener. I think this should be shown in secondary schools to make teenagers ask questions before their minds get too blinkered.

For more challenging viewing, I'd recommend anybody considering watching this to also watch "John Pilger - Documentaries That Changed The World ".

Recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
As along time follower of John Pilgers work i have to say this is does not disappoint - harrowing and painful but nevertheless extremely important dcumentary that needs to be watched by all those who value truth and justice

This is what ture journalism is about which has a moral core which educates and expands minds; to think beyond the rhetoric and propaganda, and to truely see the truth for the greater good

I can't empahsise this enough - please watch this if you haven't already - you owe it to yourselves
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
Like all John Pilger's work this is a no holds barred scathing look at how most of the media are no longer honest investigators and publishers of the truth of what they see but are manipulated and have become sophisticated tools in the propoganda war telling readers and viewers what to think and how to react. He follows the history of the embedded journalist and shows how wars have been misrepresented from Hiroshima to the present day.
Shocking stuff if you have never come across this kind of information before.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)