Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent mix of genres
"Just Say Love" is a wonderful mix of genres, using the strengths of stage production and presence, with the effects of movie direction and story telling. Centered around two characters finding love, albeit is a very different way to what one would expect, the story evolves around the respective motivations and desires that find expression with each of the characters...
Published on 9 April 2011 by Kurt Clare

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Best kept on stage
It would be wrong to say I didnt enjoy this film.... I did. The thing is 1 1/2 hrs approx with just 2 characters, very flimsy sets and obviously a very low budget film to produce.. and at times it showed.

I think on stage it probably works better where the audience would be transfixed from every word said. To move this stage play to the bigger screen, for me...
Published 11 months ago by incognito spirit


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent mix of genres, 9 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Say Love [DVD] (DVD)
"Just Say Love" is a wonderful mix of genres, using the strengths of stage production and presence, with the effects of movie direction and story telling. Centered around two characters finding love, albeit is a very different way to what one would expect, the story evolves around the respective motivations and desires that find expression with each of the characters. Initially attracted to each other physically, the two men embark on a voyage of self-discovery, which ends with both characters finding precisely what they wanted in life. Guy (Matthew Jaeger) is a quiet, introverted man who has spent most of his life in the pursuit of love. He philosophies the spirituality of love, and constantly yearns to find that one man who will love him as he is. Doug (Robert Mammana) is a married construction worker, who is a primarily sexual being, finding both self-identity and fulfillment is his sexual prowess. The writer concedes that this has the making of many a sexual fantasy, but utimately one is surprised at the depth of each characters inner turmoil.

The setting is indeed minimalistic, designed as one would expect the stage production to look like. In this way, it has a look and feel of "Lilies", although the subject matter is entirely different. The design works in the movies favour, as the audience concentrates on the two characters and their intentions as opposed to the special effects and music. In this regard, the dialogue is extremely clever, although at times I felt that it went on a little two long (a consequence of stage direction I suspect).

The actors Matthew Jaeger and Robert Mammana are superb in their respective roles, and I found them to be both sympathetic and believable. In fact, it was a pleasure to see the inherent comfort both actors had with each other, and this made for a sincere and sensitive exploration of human sexuality. The fundamental question being whether love is found initially on the physical level from which it develops, or is it a something far more complex than that?

My one criticism is the ending, and here I shan't spoil it for others who wish to watch this movie. My only comment therefore, is that it ended far too conveniently, and as such I found myself doubting the crisp resolution of such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Men, A Park Bench, Beer - Stuff Will Happen!, 19 Jan 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Just Say Love [DVD] (DVD)
This is an adaptation of the stage play and is directed by Bill Humphreys. He has taken the very brave move to play this straight (no pun intended), in that it is almost a straight filmatic version of the stage play. It is shot all in a blacked out sound stage with the various sets all in view to begin with.

The basic plot is that Guy (Mathew Jaeger) is reading Plato on a park bench, when the sweaty carpenter Doug (Robert Mammana) comes up sits down to have his lunch with a gassy beer and starts a conversation. He then goes on to proposition him for some après lunch oral exercise in the bushes. They do seem poles apart especially so as Doug admits to being married and having a baby on the way.

The relationship develops and what at first springs from sexual desire eventually takes on something more meaningful. The strengths of this film are the inter play with the actors. They are comfortable together even when they are having to be awkward. The direction is minimal as are the sets, which means that they have to be even more engaging - and they really both are.

The stage play sets act as an alienation device for the audience, in that you are constantly being reminded of the unreality of the situation - but that is exactly what happens in a play anyway. The stage devices are a bit off putting like eating when there is clearly no food in the bowl and the set echoes in places. However, there is a well done love scene that then lapses into arty shots that are also unrealistic. Let's face it after some man on man coital activities, you don't start doing naked catalogue poses - at least I don't. This though is an exploration of the psychology of love and all else is a part player. In that the film succeeds, it is not rushed and the tale is simple but engaging.

If you are a fan of gay cinema then this take will be of interest to you, the ending may leave some feeling that Ms Blyton had a hand in the script, but it is just an ending to a new beginning and I did not mind when I watched it. At 75 mins this will hold your attention, but is probably one to rent as I would not be falling over myself for a second coming - I mean viewing (what am I like?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably, Brilliant Film, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Say Love [DVD] (DVD)
To take a stage play, film it as a stage play with a stylised set, is very, very dangerous. But they did it, and it worked magnificently. The two guys in the film had such chemistry. I cannot recommend this film too highly, it was / is brilliant. Thank you to the cast, crew and the Director for producing such a film that will become a classic. FANTASTIC !!!!! (and the leads are gorgeous)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A piece of good acting, 25 Mar 2011
This review is from: Just Say Love [DVD] (DVD)
"Just say love" proves that it is possible to create a gay theme movie with good acting and not bad directing.
The concept itself (similar to "Dogville" by van Trier) is very interesting. The whole film is shot on a theatre-like-stage. The art direction is quite minimalistic, but it leaves space for the imagination.
The actors deliver very mature and eye catching performances.

There is one thing which made me deduct 1 star from my rating. It is the love scene, or rather its ending. The scene is beautiful, but the odd and unnecessary shots after the climax ruined the whole impression.
Otherwise, higly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, unusual, and it works, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Say Love [DVD] (DVD)
I found this film to be an enjoyable experience to watch. A film of a stage play with for the most part, only two characters, the stage is set to go on an interesting journey! The two starts when a very straight, sweaty, rugged looking carpenter, Doug (Robert Mammana) meets on purpose a gay guy, named Guy, (Matthew Jaeger) sitting on a park bench while reading a book "The Works Of Plato"
The relationship between the two deepens....and moves from sex to love, and a very surprising ending!
This is a film of a stage play that is simple, unusual, and works. It may not appeal to everybody, but I liked it...I liked it a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Neither one thing or the other, 14 Oct 2013
By 
R. A. Keyho "Anthony rk" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Say Love [DVD] (DVD)
This film of a stage play shot on a stage like studio set was pathetic, and the storey line rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 20 Jun 2013
By 
D. Batterham (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Say Love [DVD] (DVD)
this film was very good and i really enjoyed it, would recomend it to anybody your sure to enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Best kept on stage, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Say Love [DVD] (DVD)
It would be wrong to say I didnt enjoy this film.... I did. The thing is 1 1/2 hrs approx with just 2 characters, very flimsy sets and obviously a very low budget film to produce.. and at times it showed.

I think on stage it probably works better where the audience would be transfixed from every word said. To move this stage play to the bigger screen, for me just didnt quite work.

That said, I watched it to the end.. and it was fine...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A stage adaptation is always going to grate a little., 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Say Love [DVD] (DVD)
Moments of this are too "stagey". The audio is pretty ordinary in large chunks.

The acting is quite good and probably is the thing that sustains interest when other elements detract.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stage to film, 7 Aug 2011
This review is from: Just Say Love [DVD] (DVD)
I never saw the play, but the pauses between scenes in the film made me think very much of the theatre. Cleverly done, the story covers an ideal - gay man meets a bi man who is with a straight woman. Very Platonian. Cleverly filmed with an interesting twist at the end, this gentle descent into a love story has some of the ahwwwww factor and none of the schmaltz. Worth a winter night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7692504)

This product

Just Say Love [DVD]
Just Say Love [DVD] by Bill Humphreys (DVD - 2011)
5.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews