Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, from beginning to end
Do Começo ao Fim (English: From Beginning To End) was always going to be a victim of its own hype. The consensus seems to be largely negative, thanks to the perceived lack of insight into the taboo that gets everyone - one way or another - hot under the collar: incest.

Aluizio Abranches' film is a study of two brothers growing up in a comfortably well-off...
Published on 4 May 2011 by Zee Jai

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unfulfilled
On the one hand the topic (the boundless love between two half-brothers in modern-day Brasil) has been carefully chosen and treated with a marvellous lightness of touch. Making the incest a non issue was a deliberate choice just as much as the well-to-do family setting which allows the viewer to concentrate entirely on the love story.
On the other hand direction and...
Published 18 months ago by Furio


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nicely done!, 30 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Beginning to End [DVD] (DVD)
Nice storyline, good acting, quaint setting: you'll be sorry this movie doesn't last at least 3 hours. Loved it, from beginning tot end..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brothers in love, 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Beginning to End [DVD] (DVD)
Controversial love story told in a fairytale way.

In the beginning we meet the boys, age 6 and 12, doing brotherly things. Nothing special in their behaviour but adults are seeing something sexual in their hugs and occasional peck on the cheek. And they do nothing ... Then we skip 15 years and after a tragic event, death of their mother, they are shedding clothes in a very symbolic way and crossing the forbidden line, becoming lovers. And again we are lead to believe that family and friends are accepting their decision as if it was written in the stars some long time ago.

If you are willing to accept this concept then you are in for a treat. Because the movie, logic aside, is a tremendous love story, powerfully delivered by beautiful and talented men. It has some of the best declarations of love (conversation in the bed, intimate wedding vows) I have ever seen on the big screen. And If you are somewhat bored with the brothers there is always a magnificent background scenery of Brazil. Music, although repetitive, also propels their love.

In the end they lived happily ever after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 4 Feb. 2014
By 
Gareth J. Jones (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Beginning to End [DVD] (DVD)
?The guys are great actors, a very usual story and sensitively acted, very believable with a hard topic to approach .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Beginning to End [DVD] (DVD)
Been look for this for a long time and worth the wait to find it. Very enjoyable movie to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable film, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
R. A. Keyho "Anthony rk" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Beginning to End [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film very much. Good storey, beautifully shot.Will watch it over and over again. Acting was good as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing !, 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Beginning to End [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is just AMAZING ! Have watched a few time and still feeling very good after watching again . You'll love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Beginning to End [DVD] (DVD)
When this arrived I thought oh damn another subtitled film but oh how wrong I was.Beyond the words there is a beautiful love story between two men who grew up together and shows that when the love is that strong then nothing else matters..excellent movie xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 20 Jun. 2013
By 
D. Batterham (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Beginning to End [DVD] (DVD)
this film was very good, it took me a while to get into the story but it was well presented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Beginning to End [DVD] (DVD)
A really wonderful, amazing story about true love without limits -no matter how odd the World may consider it to be. I LOVE THIS FILM!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bold and Moving, 21 Mar. 2013
By 
Trevor John Drury (Qatar. Middle East) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Beginning to End [DVD] (DVD)
Provocative but both emotive and sexy. The closeness of the pre-adolescent brothers is particularly moving and is only spoiled by the sudden ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Beginning to End [DVD]
From Beginning to End [DVD] by Gabriel Kaufmann (DVD - 2011)
£6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews