Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Indeed
This was my first read on the subject and I was very glad I chose it.

It's not glamourous; it's not sensationalist. This book is a crystal-clear statement of the facts as they are known about these terrible crimes, and feature those all-important then-and-now photographs which illuminate and bring the past to life in a way so few other titles manage...
Published on 30 Dec 2011 by badlymademan

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Different edition on kindle and tablet
On the tablet its the full illustrated ed.
On the Kindle.....just a bit of text! And not the vast amount of text in the tab version........why?
So I got way more info on android than my Kindle.
Published on 31 Mar 2012 by Harry7059


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Indeed, 30 Dec 2011
By 
badlymademan (Shropshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London of Jack the Ripper: Then and Now (Kindle Edition)
This was my first read on the subject and I was very glad I chose it.

It's not glamourous; it's not sensationalist. This book is a crystal-clear statement of the facts as they are known about these terrible crimes, and feature those all-important then-and-now photographs which illuminate and bring the past to life in a way so few other titles manage.

I have bought another JTR book and will soon see if it adds to the perception I have gained of this awful period in our history. That such crimes exist I'd be naive to deny or ignore. They were in no way palatable or exciting no matter who tells the story. I'm glad I chose this book as my first because it laid out the facts as they are known - by an experienced researcher - and helped my understanding.

I thank the authors for their diligent work and recommend the title to anyone else who would like a factual overview of this terrible period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The London of Jack the Ripper: Then and Now, 24 April 2011
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London of Jack the Ripper: Then and Now (Kindle Edition)
I have read a few books about Jack the Ripper now and so this little volume was too good to miss. Written by two extremely knowledgeable guides and researchers, it contains photographs of the crime scenes for all the possible victims of the Ripper, many of which were taken in the early sixties by the amateur criminologist John Gordon Whitby, before urban development plans and slum clearance finished what World War II had already devastated. The early photos give you a real sense of what the places must have looked like during the Victorian times and, side by side, is a photo of how the location looks now, making it easy to find should you want to do so. There is also a basic summary of each murder - where and how it happened and whether the victim is generally seen as a possible or probable Ripper attack. The authors have listed locations for not only the widely accepted victims, such as Annie Chapman and Catherine Stride, but have also mentioned Martha Tabram, Ada Wilson, etc and any other in, or close to, the location of Whitechapel whose cases have been discussed in other Ripper books. As a book it is also of interest to anyone who wishes to study the area of Whitechapel, or the East End of London, and how the area has changed. For Ripperologists, it is essential reading and a great reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing look at Jack the Ripper's London although a couple of the pictures aren't for the faint hearted., 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London of Jack the Ripper: Then and Now (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, I bought the kindle edition and didn't come across any errors unlike the previous reviewer. The presentation of this volume is concise and informative with lots of locations shown not just the murder sights themselves. The period photos themselves are particularly effective and the book would be of interest to anyone who is interested life in Victorian times. One photo I felt was really eerie and that was the picture of Miller's Court from the outside taken on the morning of Marie Kelly's murder. I would exercise caution to those of a sqeamish nature, as a couple of photos one of Catherine Eddowes and one the crime scene photo of the mutilated Marie Kelly really aren't for the fainthearted showing as the do the injuries inflicted at the hands of the Ripper. For those who are fimiliar with the Ripper this doesn't need saying my caution is for those approaching this book for the people who might be viewing this for the locations. It's a investigative work of the highest calibre and was thoroughly enjoyed by this reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings Jack the Ripper's London to life, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London of Jack the Ripper: Then and Now (Kindle Edition)
I found this a very useful and well written book and a must for anyone who is interested in the world of Ripperology. It is extremely helpful both as a social and cultural account of life in 1888 and for working out the modern day locations of the crimes. The photographs of buildings and people really enhance your understanding of the kind of world in which Jack the Ripper was operating. The book also offers insights into murders that took place before and after the murders of the 'canonical 5' victims. Unlike many books out there on the subject, it does not claim any one particular suspect as the killer but provides a concise summary leaving the reader to draw their own conclusions. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive visual feast for the amateur Ripperologist, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book contains just about every available image pertinent to the case of Jack The Ripper. It also provides thorough details of everything that is known about all of the possible victims. There is no attempt to investigate the crimes or identify the perpetrator; this book is purely a guide to the people and places involved and is an invaluable resource to anyone interested in this subject, from the faintly curious to the most ardent Ripperologist. However, it isn't quite perfect: there are no colour images, despite the fact that some of the archive originals are in colour; all of the images, old and new, are presented in black and white - contrary to any impression the front cover may give and there are no other composites. The book is a little over A5 size, so the images are all fairly small, some especially so and many would probably benefit from some image enhancement. Nonetheless, this is still a fantastic book. [NB: there is one (very special) image that is not included - this can be found in the co-author's [Philip Hutchinson] later book 'The Jack the Ripper location photographs', published in 2009.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 23 July 2012
This review is from: The London of Jack the Ripper: Then and Now (Kindle Edition)
This book is a must for any newcomer to the case.

Whilst it contains a few minor errors (which factual book doesnt?) these do not impact upon the details.

As a student of the case it is the first port of call for any geographical informtion I require. An excellent reference book, not overbearing , just keeping to the facts with a touch of the unknown, superb use of imagery (blending the modern with the contemporary).......fantastic if you are new to the case or an old stager like me.

One of THE books in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a photo book, 2 Jun 2011
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was expecting a series of side by side Then and Now photosets, but that is not what this book is about. In fact I would not mind a few more of such photo duos. No, this book is a lot more than a just a collection of photographs. There is plenty of text here masses of information about the Whitechapel Murders and the topography of the area.

This is a book well worth investing in and I reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpfull, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London of Jack the Ripper: Then and Now (Kindle Edition)
Well written, lots of interesting details, an excellent companion for walks around the area or armchair planning. Very enjoyable, heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting and well written book. It sticks the facts about Jack and I found the modern day pictures of where the incidents happened fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Author, 20 April 2014
If you plan on taking one of the Ripper tours whilst in london then check out the tour what this guy gives, thoroughly entertaining and informative. [...]/ is the web address of the company he gives tours for. You will not be dissappointed. As for the book, excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews