Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Bang Bang!
Countdown To Lockdown is the fourth wrestling memoir from the hardcore legend Mick Foley. This one is built up around his "Six Sides of Steel" match at TNA Lockdown in 2009 against Sting, telling the tales of the training involved for the match-up, his promos leading to this main event, his transition from the WWE to TNA, attempting a reality TV show, the unfortunate...
Published on 9 Nov. 2010 by Dr Evil

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No more, thanks
While I often roll my eyes when I see caveats such as this at the start of reviews, let me just confirm my devotion to Mick Foley. As an entertainer he is without peer. His work in many guises in the world of wrestling is as enjoyable as that of any other performer. As a writer, his success is truly heartwarming. That a man famous for championing a sports medium so...
Published on 11 Nov. 2010 by Paul McNamee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No more, thanks, 11 Nov. 2010
By 
Paul McNamee (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While I often roll my eyes when I see caveats such as this at the start of reviews, let me just confirm my devotion to Mick Foley. As an entertainer he is without peer. His work in many guises in the world of wrestling is as enjoyable as that of any other performer. As a writer, his success is truly heartwarming. That a man famous for championing a sports medium so relentlessly pigeon-holed could establish such a devoted literary following is a continued joy, impressive in itself.

Perhaps it is telling that, while I consumed Foley's last two autobiographies (Foley Is Good and The Hardcore Diaries) in a day each, Countdown to Lockdown took me the better part of a month to read. I can only speak for myself of course, but I think that while it is at times a compelling read, it's hard to shake the feeling that it really wouldn't have been missed if it hadn't been written.

Ultimately, Countdown to Lockdown is an account of a career winding down, and even in Foley's capable hands it feels at times slightly unnecessary. The framework (borrowed from The Hardcore Diaries) of alternating chapters dealing with the preparation and promotion for a single match and tangential musings on politics, music and theme parks doesn't feel as justified here as it did in 2007. In fact, when the actual Countdown chapters focus on the specifics of wrestling (as opposed to what Foley thought of his latest flight or hotel room), the redundancy of reading detailed descriptions of events most readers are likely to already have watched (more than a year ago, no less) is painfully distracting. I found myself just switching off many times while reading this, a problem which never presented itself with his previous efforts.

Foley's insights into the workings of the western world's second largest wrestling promotion (that's TNA) are welcome, as it was clear from his last book and from the WWE-specific chapters of this one that he wasn't happy working for that company. That said, most of the topics covered here (job dissatisfaction, substance abuse) have been written about extensively before, so again one can't help but feel their time is wasted re-reading it.

It's hard to call it an exercise in self-indulgence, because it's not written with any sense of passion or determination. Ultimately, it feels like a collection of blogs loosely organised around the story of a man for whom comebacks are almost annual: without structure, without cause, and without worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I love Mick Foley so this is purely a review on ..., 12 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Countdown to Lockdown: A Hardcore Journal (Kindle Edition)
I love Mick Foley so this is purely a review on the book and not him personally.
Ever since the success of Foleys first book 'Have A Nice Day', Mick has a massive ego in regards to his 'literacy genius.' On every other page there is some form of self praise for what a great writer he is and how successful his books have been. He is more full of himself over his writing than he is his wrestling career. Truth is, Have A Nice Day is the only good book he has written. I can only assume this is the case because he didn't know he was a 'genius writer' back then so he wrote from the heart and it worked. Everything since is just dribble, ramblings, any thought that enters his head, lists of things he likes, minor stories of no importance or interest, self praise, self praise, self praise, self praise etc.
In Have A Nice Day this Lockdown match would have covered about 2-3 pages, but in Countdown To Lockdown we get every tiny and uninteresting thought that occurred to Mick over a period of several weeks sprawled out into an entire book, constantly being reminded of what a great book we are reading and all the other books are.

The last paragraph in Countdown To Lockdown has Foley telling us, the reader, what a good book we have just read.

Love Foley, hate the literacy ego.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but not the worst, 26 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book because of Mick Foley. This book is not a good as his first book Have A Nice Day but let's face it not many books are. Many people think that Mick should not have written another wrestling memoir book. I disagree!!!!! His third book Hardcore Diaries was written a down point of his career and life, for such as beloved entertainer it would have been sad to have been remembered for that. Countdown is a more positive ending and a better way for Mick to go out with. Also Mick has written this book with pro-wrestlers and potential pro-wrestlers in mind. He again explains his thought process while making a promo and building up a PPV match. This information is invaluable to wrestling today as many agree the promo is a lost are as many are told what to say and repeat it as if reading lines from a script. He also tries to emphasise the importance of wrestlers planning for their futures, the dangers of excesses in the world of pro-wrestling (Drugs & partying among others), and what to expect for those "lucky" enough to make it to the big leagues and how easy it is to lose everything. Mick also gives at closest account that any outsider is likely to receive about the Chris Beniot tragedy. The rest of the book is divided between Mick's on screen character promoting his upcoming match, Mick Foley getting physically getting ready for the match and Mick's own political and personal opinions, but hey it is his book and that his part of what you have to expect when you buy an autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bang Bang!, 9 Nov. 2010
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Countdown To Lockdown is the fourth wrestling memoir from the hardcore legend Mick Foley. This one is built up around his "Six Sides of Steel" match at TNA Lockdown in 2009 against Sting, telling the tales of the training involved for the match-up, his promos leading to this main event, his transition from the WWE to TNA, attempting a reality TV show, the unfortunate deaths of some of his wrestling colleagues, meeting Tori Amos (this is a bigger deal than it seems for Foley) and many other behind the scenes and at home moments.

I'm not a big reader of biographies or auto-biographies but with Mick Foley, I know his books are always going to be a great read. Under the blood, scars and sweatpants, Foley does seem like a genuinely nice guy who also has a good sense of humour that makes him all the more likeable and his books easier to read. There's plenty of wrestling content here (there's even a "Wrestle-O-Meter" at the beginning of each chapter to tell you how much is actually about wrestling itself) including the fantastic move-by-move rundown of the Lockdown match itself, so fans of WWE, TNA and Foley's previous books should love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Expected, 21 Aug. 2011
By 
Christian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is, as acknowledged by Mick, his fourth part of his life story. But unlike most stories it is premised around six weeks of his life, a lead up to a cage match against Sting. Except it isn't. Sure the story does go through a countdown but it also goes in other directions to talk about the end of his time in WWE and his falling out with Vince McMahon. His charity work is referenced as is a chapter that is Mick's manifesto on drug taking in the wrestling industry.

Sometimes extremely witty, sometimes serious this is an always engaging book. It continues in his theme of giving strong glimpses behind the scenes and stories that normal fans would not normally see. It also contains a random chapter on his issues with Vince when colour commentator written in a fantasy format.

Overall it does sometimes seem more like glimpses of the thoughts running through Mick's mind than the well rounded writting of his previous books. And then there comes a chapter that really interests you and all is forgiven. Not for the casual fan, this lends colour. Don't expect extreme revelations but do expect a well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From cage matches to ChildFund International, 20 July 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the only bad thing about is it will be the last set of Mick Foley's memoirs for the forseeable future! Whether you are a wrestling fan or not, this latest journey with the Hardcore Legend will make you think, make you laugh and make you want to find Foley and simply shake his hand. The nicest man in sports-entertainment muses on everything from cage matches to ChildFund International, and what's more he'll make you care about both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mick's forth book!, 22 Oct. 2011
Mick's latest book profiles his exit from WWE and his entry into TNA, peaking at the Lockdown match with Sting. I found this book quite interesting. Its more upbeat than hardcore Diaries which was somewhat depressing. There is a lot of personal exposure here also, where Mick speaks of his wonderful charity work. I'd reccomend this book to anybody with even a passing interesting in the man, or wrestling itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really gets you into his life, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Tw Walton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this after seeing a Foley match on TV and being curious about him, I wanted to hear why a guy would roll around on pins, etc while wrestling. But, I feel like I found a new friend on reading. Foley seems very warm and spiritual and his writing really makes you feel like you're on the road with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Overall a pretty good book., 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Countdown to Lockdown: A Hardcore Journal (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this book after finishing Foley's previous entry; "The Hardcore Diaries" which I really enjoyed.
This book is very similar and yet somehow feels as though it has a lot less passion behind it.
Insider stories on the wrestling business are great and Foley's own personal experiences and beliefs are interesting and explore well but I just got the feeling that it was more of a chore than desire that was responsible for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much the same as Hardcore Diaries, 4 July 2013
By 
Adrian Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Countdown to Lockdown: A Hardcore Journal (Kindle Edition)
If you like Hardcore Diaries then you will like this - as it is the same book essentially!

Mick's moaning and constant lack of self confidence gets a bit much after a while as he is a 20 year plus pro at this point with well over a decade in the lime light.

But an enjoyable read all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews