Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Four of Vatta's War, 15 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You really need to read the earlier volumes to get the the best from this book. Most of the main characters are busy doing their separate activities in different systems so it has the effect of being like several amalgamated short stories. Nevertheless it is still a very enjoyable book with lots of plotting,action,and adventure. This is Elizabeth Moon at her best and once started hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fourth.. and best?, 18 Jun 2007
By 
C. Donaldson "Ramorak" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I originally started reading Vatta's War: Trading in danger because it was the only SF book my local bookshop had in that looked remotely appealing (and that I hadn't already read).

I am so glad I did. Vatta's War is turning out to be one of my favourite SF series and this, the fourth book, is almost impossible to put down (suffice to say I am running low on sleep ;))

As the series progresses numerous sub-plots and characters are evolving wonderfully, and unlike many books (including some bestsellers) I am drawn into every one of them, turning each page without a thought as I plunge towards each milestone.

Roll on Book 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command Decision: Vatta's War: Book Four (Kindle Edition)
This fourth book is as good if not better than the first three can't wait to start reading book five
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command Decision: Vatta's War: Book Four (Kindle Edition)
I love the Vatta books and actually find the protagonist more sympathetic that Weber's Honour Harrington, another female orientated space military series. The battles and characters are interesting, and the story moves along at a good pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought the first one as a discarded library book and got completely hooked on the series.
The characters are really well worked out and given time to develop. The 'SF' part of the story is subtle, not one of those books that is blinding you with science. Very good story telling with enough detail to make it rich and colourful and so that you can almost taste and smell it. For me the only other SF author that created the same intensity was Ray Bradbury. I really loved the volumes 1 to 4. The 5th one is still good but feels oddly rushed in some parts and drawn out in others.

You need to start with the first one though, or it will be difficult to understand the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Space opera, 13 May 2012
By 
John Ellaway (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good read. Some of the novels like the first have less action as they are setting the plot but this one is full of action and is, in some ways, better than the last in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars (Book 4) It does what it says on the tin..., 12 Feb 2011
By 
M. Thompson "Mike Thompson" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Command Decision: Vatta's War: Book Four (Kindle Edition)
This book was enjoyable, and is probably the slowest of the five books. Ky's experience and reputation begin to really grow. Her idea to actively defend what she believes in takes hold with others starting to follow, however all is not all roses as there are deaths and loses to contend with.

Stella also starts to blossom out in her experiences and also starts to find out what it can be like to be a parent looking after her younger cousin. Not only does the Vatta name resurface for trading, it also braches out, and as per the Vatta motto (trade and profit) it prospers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't wait for it, 25 Sep 2010
By 
To me the book only makes sense as part of the whole series. This is part 4 out of 5.

The story line is a bit of James Clavell's Taipan set in space. There is the corporation under attack, the enemy is space pirates, the authorities are tools of one side or the other there are politics and high adventure. But! Problem solving is typical for women fantasy writers. The hero is still the hero but relationships play a much bigger role. There is competition and rivalry between the characters but it is mainly based (and blamed) on lack of communication. Conflict is so easy to solve (as long as the characters are on the same side). It makes the books very readable. We have come across it with authors like Anne McCaffrey and even J. K Rowling.

In this book the heroin, after having earned the status and the respect in the story, wins the tools for the final battle. The military background of the author shines through and professionalism is celebrated.

My recommendation: If you enjoy sci-fi, adventure and a gripping read buy not just this book but the whole series.
I'm told that men prefer to read books from male authors whilst women don't mind male or female authors. This is not a series just for women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, 22 Feb 2010
I wont give my version of the story but ...

Really great fun, good story well told. Nothing to make you think hard about new ideas. Easy to get started (some books take an age and a real struggle to get into - not this series). Then difficult to put down.

However, think of the series as a single large book and read them in the correct order. One excellent aspect about the series is that, unlike some multi-book series, the start of each book assumes you have read the previous book and does not spend ages recapping the story so far. Personally I hate it when you read the 2nd/3rd/4th book and you have to plough through loads of recapping the book before. In this series each book just continues directly from the end of the previous one making all 5 books like one book but split for convenience. So read them in the right order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews