Customer Reviews


451 Reviews
5 star:
 (256)
4 star:
 (110)
3 star:
 (57)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific stuff
This is a fab origins tale and it delivers more than enough screenplay to compete with the frequent flash bang of sumptuous visuals. Chris Evans has bags of charm which makes him an accessible hero and it's easy to route for him as the under developed weakling who is turned into a super soldier via a secret research programme. Hugo Weaving makes for a dastardly villian as...
Published 19 months ago by Steven

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ought to suck more than it does...
Garth Ennis, author of anti-superhero comic The Boys, has famously said that he dislikes superheroes. As something of a war history buff, he reckons that the character of Captain America is downright offensive. WW2, he argues, was a horrific event which imposed incalculable suffering upon millions of people. And Captain America reduces it to muscley blokes in colourful...
Published 14 months ago by Sam Woodward


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific stuff, 27 May 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a fab origins tale and it delivers more than enough screenplay to compete with the frequent flash bang of sumptuous visuals. Chris Evans has bags of charm which makes him an accessible hero and it's easy to route for him as the under developed weakling who is turned into a super soldier via a secret research programme. Hugo Weaving makes for a dastardly villian as he chews up the scenery as the Red Skull. The supporting cast are excellent and the effects are first class. The armaments being used by Red Skull and his Hydra troops look a lot like a cross between Sky Captain & World Of Tomorrow [DVD] and The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen [2003] [DVD]. The movie is far less jingoistic than I had expected and much more fun than I dared to hope!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of action, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Admittedly I just wanted to see that one scene where Chris Evans steps out of the machine transformed from a puny, little guy into a tall, muscular, lean, mean, fighting machine. It truly was one of the most spectacular things I've ever seen. I actually googled the movie to see if there was another actor portraying the skinnier Steve Rogers and I was stunned that there wasn't another actor or even a stunt double, it's all CGI! I was incredibly impressed by the smooth transition, but also the fact that the muscles are real. There are no effects used after the transformation so I think Chris Evans deserves a round and applause ladies and gentlemen, god knows how many hours he put into toning that physique!

The story revolves around Steve Rogers, a man desperately wants to do his bit for the country by fighting in the war, the only problem is, he was born into a body that simply wasn't made for fighting. Although his body is frail and weak, his mind and his heart are determined and thankfully for Steve the right people see this in him. Thus begins his transformation from Steve Rogers to Captain America. Some say that when this movie starts to go downhill when the action begins, but I don't think this is true. There are enough high powered leaps and shots fired without going over the top and they make your heart beat just that little bit faster.

The accents in this movie are superb. I've often found that a really good movie can be spoiled when just one character speaks with a terrible accent, thankfully, that is not a problem here. Hugo Weaving and Toby Jones do a particularly good German-English accent and I thought it was very convincing. There are some British actors used in this movie which was good to see, not only because it meant diversity in the cast but also because it showed that the US and the UK were united in the war.

On the whole I found this movie quite believable, many a time I have found myself chuckling throughout a superhero movie because it's just so ridiculous, perhaps it is because Captain America is set in the 1940s during the war which was an actual historical event as opposed to a completely made up story. Also there was nothing silly like a spider bite involved, instead he was injected with what were essentially super steroids, which I'm sure will be invented at some point in the future. One thing that annoyed me a little was that when Schmidt's (arrogant bad guy trying to destroy the world) troops saluted him they said 'Hail Schmidt!' and proceeded to raise both arms in the air, presumably to mimic Hitler's Nazis; however, the effect was rather melodramatic and silly (why on earth would you raise both arms?!).

I was quite impressed by the bunch of actors used in this movie, most of them are not only quite high profile actors but are very talented too. In fact, I think all of the actors are fairly famous. Here are a couple names: Chris Evans, Hayley Atwell, Sebastian Stan, Tommy Lee Jones, Hugo Weaving, Dominic Cooper, Richard Armitage, Stanley Tucci, Toby Jones and Neal McDonough. If you haven't heard of any of those people then you need to watch more movies! ... Or maybe I need to get out more...

Towards the end of the movie as the action dies down the romance is dialled up. Well, every superhero needs a lady! The thing that bothers me about the romance between Captain America and Peggy Carter is that they don't spend a lot of time in each others company, they never go out on a date, but they're completely smitten. I did; however, still think that the ending was incredibly heartbreaking. Speaking of the ending, it was terrible. The ending made me extremely angry and it was very unexpected, but not in a good way. I guess you could praise the script writer for creating such an unanticipated end to the movie; however, I feel that it left many loose ends, there wasn't enough detail, and things simply did not turn out how I wanted them to!

Overall, I thought that this was a very good movie with plenty of action and there's a good plot. It's quite fast paced, but not so fast that you get left behind; the romantic aspects generated a few 'aww's so I guess that was a job well done and there are even a couple of funny moments which make the movie lighter and more enjoyable. Apart from the ending, which I was very disappointed with, this was an excellent movie and I highly recommend it - to boys and girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning is The End is The Beginning, 31 May 2013
By 
Theo (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Marvel's Cinematic Universe has been a rather patchy effort. There have been good films, such as Iron Man, but there have also been deeply mediocre ones, such as Thor. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that this was one of their better efforts.

Like so many superhero flicks, this film is a retelling of its central hero's origin story. Of course, in Captain America's case, any such retelling must deal with two fundamental problems:

First, anyone with even the slightest acquaintance with the Marvel Universe knows exactly how this story ends, and the fates of all its major protagonists. Incidentally, for the sake of completeness, yes, I'm now giving you a SPOILER ALERT. But I promise I'm not going to give away anything that anyone who's ever read a Marvel comic book isn't fully aware of anyway.

The screenwriters deal with the problem that we already know how the story ends by beginning with that ending: the wreckage in an ice-strewn landscape where we all know the frozen body of Captain America lies, awaiting resurrection. The point is, they're letting us know that they know that we know. There's no pretence otherwise, so we can all just get on with it. They then go back and tell us the tale of how it all came to this.

Interestingly, quite early on, there is a scene in which the Red Skull is listening to a recording of the iconic "Siegfried's Death And Funeral Music". On one level it's an obvious, perhaps even trite choice of entertainment for a Nazi supervillain. Yet I can't help but wonder if there is a deeper point being made here. There is something operatic about this saga, as its larger than life characters follow their inevitable course to a conclusion as pre-ordained as that of any stage tragedy.

The second fundamental problem the filmmakers must grapple with is that we are dealing with a hero whose origins lie in an age with values profoundly different to our own. Closely entwined with this is the fact that the level of maturity we expect from the superhero genre has also increased beyond all recognition. Together, this combination of developments mean that what was right on the money in the middle of WWII can easily come across as ridiculously, even insultingly jingoistic today.

Yet once again, all of these difficulties are dealt with rather skillfully. In particular I'm talking about how the identity of "Captain America" is created for our hero. However, I'm not going to say any more than that. For those who haven't yet seen the film, I think it's best not to give even a hint. I don't want to deprive you of the pleasure of seeing how all this unfolds for yourself.

One thing I am going to tell you is that a big part of what makes this story work on a more timeless level is that there is far more emphasis on an aspect of the Captain America character that is usually neglected: the frail youth who was refused for military service on grounds of medical unfitness. Not in a facile, Charles Atlas kind of way where the "bag of bones" turns into jock who then smacks around the bullies. Rather, it's more about providing the moral core of the character. A core that stays with him from the very beginning of the film to its very end.

Beyond these most basic issues, there are a number of other points worth mentioning. In keeping with the spirit of this updated retelling, the character of Bucky Barnes is likewise rather deftly re-imagined for an audience no longer so inclined to accept the idea of a child soldier as a harmless fantasy. I also loved the Nazi "super science" we see in the film. It's interesting to compare what we see here to the legends that exist in our own world. I say "legends" because while they certainly have a basis in real technology, they also rapidly extend into the stuff of pure myth. If you're unfamiliar with what I'm referring to here, try Googling "Nazi bell" sometime and you'll see what I mean. This film captures that spirit perfectly. It also ties in no less perfectly with Captain America's own comic book origins.

But what really makes this movie a success is the conviction of the writers, the director, and the actors. All too often with superhero flicks, a film falls down because it's just so staggeringly obvious that the people who made it had no real respect for their source material. They're just churning out yet another summer blockbuster - or so they hope.

Quite recently, in a review of the Green Lantern movie, I said that when someone like Frank Miller comes along and thinks seriously about who his characters are and why they do the things they do, it shows. Similarly so on the acting front when people like Christian Bale and Kevin Conroy portray the Bat. But when someone comes along and says "Hey, let's do a summer blockbuster - we'll make tons of money!", that also shows.

It was the latter kind of thinking that shone through in the Green Lantern movie. Also in Marvel's own Thor. But not, I'm happy to say, in this work.

This is a film made by people who genuinely thought about their characters and their universe. As a result, they have given cinematic expression to both with integrity, just the right level of realism, and finally, with respect for both their source material and their audience.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captain America entertains the world!, 7 Nov 2011
Captain America! I remember seeing the old 90s Movie as a kid and thinking, "wow" hes got a shield and he's got a suit that looks like an american flag! LOL. It was all very colourful and great.
These days though would the Cap hold it against a very cool gadget and weapons driven Iron Man? A Web slinging Spiderman? Or Thor with his Mighty Hammer?
I think Captain America Is about more than just a man with super powers and weapons or gadgets. The Film focuses on the bravery and determination of one man, "Steve Rogers" deemed "not good enough" to join the army during World War 2 because he's too small and skinny.
But Rogers gets his chance to shine when hand picked to become Americas first Super Soldier in an experiment. Its not too long after this that he's running, leaping and muscle flexing all over Europe.
He also has to contend with one other super soldier. Hugo Weaving's, "Red Skull". An amazing bad guy in every respect and a match met for The Cap!
Cue lots of amazing action scenes, explosions, special FX and CGI battles. In 3D this film was awesome. lots popping out of the screen (especially the shield) throughout the film. But Rogers has to remember to do one thing whilst becoming a big hero. He must remember to be "Himself". The Steve Rogers that was picked for the experiment with heart, determination and selflessness and to not get lost in himself or change his ways when fame comes a knockin'.
This Film Just entertains and does it well. Good Plot, good characters and great Action! and it ties in very nicely with all the other marvel films for a nice lead up to the Avengers film coming out next year!
Its loads better than the cheesy 90s version (of course haha) and Is total enjoyment for super hero action nuts everywhere. buy it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DO YOU FONDUE?, 9 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The movie starts at its WWII origins. Chris Evans plays Steve Rogers a puny 4F man who has lied his way into a military science experiment. Tommy Lee Jones plays an excellent Colonel. Meanwhile evil Nazi Hugo Weaving believing he is Darth Maul, has his own plans for world conquest using sharks with frickin' laser beams. (Just kidding about the sharks.) Rogers is a 90 pound weakling who displays intellect, courage, and guts. He is selected for the military's secret program and is transformed into a muscular super hero. The special effects were very good, although we do know from "Last Action Hero" you can't really jump around car roofs. After Rogers is transformed he becomes Captain America to be used as a recruiting tool, as Tommy Lee still has his doubts about the 90 pound weakling.

Of course things change and the rest of the story shouldn't be too hard to figure out, even if you don't read comics. Now the very end utilizes the one-eyed Samuel L. Jackson from Iron Man 2 which hints at an ultimate sequel providing everyone isn't dead by then.

The movie combines action, drama, light comedy, and light romance. Good acting, good dialouge, good frickin' laser beams.

No swearing, nudity, or sex. Safe for the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great start to a marvel superhero, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant start to marvel superhero film. I didn't think it was as good as Iron man but just as good or better than Thor. I would certainly recommend seeing this film if you like marvel films or fantasy action films as this is a great film. Chris Evans was a great act for Captain America and I can't wait to see him in the sequel The Winter Soldier in 2014. Also the action in this film was great not as good as the action in Avengers Assemble but of course it wasn't suppose to be. It is worth seeing if you haven't so yet as I seen the Avengers first so didn't know much about Captain America and how his story begun. But all in all brilliant film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captain Fantastic!!!, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Positives.
Great origin story of Steve Rogers becoming the first avenger,Superbly played by Chris Evans he brings humility to the character without the flag waving.
Good well directed action scenes by director Joe Johnston.
Hugo Weaving is exellent as the Red Skull.

Negatives.
Not many, The Singing routine unnecessary & slows pace alittle.
Would've liked a longer fight scene with The Red Skull.

Review.
I've always been a huge Captain America fan i can relate to the outsider the outcast whom told you'll never do good.

Steve Rogers a 90lb asmatic goes against the odds manages to join the US army & volunteers for the super soldier program that will give him increased strength,Stamina,Fitness he will be the prototype of the US armys weapon against Hitler.

The Red Skull has other ideas finding a power source from another world thought lost long ago (See Thor) with this power source he creates a army more powerful than the Nazis,Hydra a army so powerful that would make The Red Skull ruler of earth.

The cast do well in one Marvels best origin storys,I had doubts that Chris Evans would pull this off as he was the Human Torch in Fantastic Four films came across as slightly cheesy & egotistical but here he brings the character of Steve Rogers a man against the odds a 90lb weaking unfit,unable to join the army to fight for his country to life, Evans bring sympathy to the role yet shows a great internal strength to his character.

Having shown strength of character he is chosen as the first in a super soldier program that will be the US army weapon against Hitler,But when the scientist creator ofcthe program is killed by a nazi spy the program is abandoned with Rogers being the only Super Soldier in exsistance.

What follows is a great 2hr entertaining movie with a great script,Well acted,Superbly shot comic book movie.

The story is reminiscent of the 1960's James Bond Films power mad dictators wanting take over the world.

Hayley Atwell,Tommy Lee Jones,Toby Jones do well in there supporting roles but it's Hugo Weaving again after playing Mr Smith in The Matrix Movies is on great villian form as the Red Skull whom side effects from a earlier strength serum burns his skin off becoming The Red Skull, Weaving adds great menace to the character.

My only gripe was i was expecting a great fight scene against Capt & Red Skull although there is a fight scene i would've hoped for a bigger clash of these two super soldiers a bit more battle of wits but this is just a personel opinion.

Mostly this film delivers the goods to the fans & non-fans & a great addition to the Marvel movies of late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ought to suck more than it does..., 23 Oct 2013
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Garth Ennis, author of anti-superhero comic The Boys, has famously said that he dislikes superheroes. As something of a war history buff, he reckons that the character of Captain America is downright offensive. WW2, he argues, was a horrific event which imposed incalculable suffering upon millions of people. And Captain America reduces it to muscley blokes in colourful costumes punching each other.

I largely agree, plus 2-dimensional icons have much less appeal to me than realistic characters. So I only watched this film because of its Avengers Assemble tie-in, in the hope that it would be better than Thor (it was about the same, although a female nerd friend who nicknamed him 'Phwoar' clearly found the Norse 'god' more appealing). As a stand-alone movie, it doesn't even bring much to the table. The simplistic 'misfit becomes an all-American hero & defeats an evil Nazi' plot is unoriginal & devoid of any interesting twists. Summed up in just over 90 minutes, there is a lengthy Avengers tie-in epilogue to flesh it out to 2 hours.

But then there's the script.

It's just so charming, darn it! Somehow I found cappy much more engaging than I ever thought possible. The whole thing was silly & unoriginal but also incredibly fun. The set action pieces weren't particularly inventive & the plot was one we've all seen thousands of times before. But the slower character-building scenes saw Chris Evans shine, illuminating some rather nice dialogue with just the right balance between straight acting & self-deprecating irony. An action film where the action scenes are the weakest points.

This generic & unashamedly corporate b-movie blockbuster won't be remembered as a classic but it has a certain quirky, nerdy charm. Without this it would have been terrible. As it stands it's eminently watchable, in an undemanding way. But still one to rent instead of buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Popcorn Action Fluff, 7 May 2012
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Set in 1942 at the height of World War 2, Chris Evans (Fantastic Four) stars as the puny yet courageous american Gi wannabe, Steve Rogers. But fortune shines on him as Dr. Abraham Erskine (Stanley Tucci -The Hunger Games) who is recruiting for a special top secret experiment, Project Rebirth, see's beyond Rogers physical failings to give him a shot as a candidate, much to the dismay of Col. Chester Phillips (Tommy Lee Jones -The Fugitive) who doesnt see the same as the good Doctor does. Eventually being the chosen candidate, Rogers undergoes an experiment to change him from a puny regular Joe into a super human solider....Captain America is born.

Overall, Captain America: The First Avenger is a watchable bit of entertainment first & foremost, but does have it's failings. The Story starts out very well & introduces us into how this physicaly under sized man with a big heart becomes Captain America, in the opening 30 minutes. But it then drops from 5th gear into 1st gear, as Captain America is used as a propaganda tool for the war. Which is kinda the calm before the storm i guess. As the film then trys to get back into 5th gear with its action sequences, but doesnt facinate as much as it did at the begining imo, as it gradually pushes into 3rd & 4th gears.

Although we have to respect that the hero will ultimatley win out, we could had been respected a bit more with the action sequences. The enemy "storm troopers" who look like something out of Return to Castle Wolfenstein toting big futuristic weapons, yet have the armour of a gnat, as they fall over like rolling pins doesnt elude too much in the believability stakes. But i guess this is what we have to swallow with it being an action hero flick.

I was impressed with the way they CGI'd Chris Evans as a puny looking weakling, then un-CGI'd him, i've not seen much of the guy, but initially i thought the actor was a stand in & then Evans would appear later, colour me impressed. The rest of the CGI was well done too. The 1940's setting also looked good & a nice change from modern based adventures. Now, not being a comic book reader myself, but having enjoyed the recent Marvel film offerings, i did appreciate the subtle introductions/hints of the other Marvel comic characters, like Iron Man's father & Samuel L. Jacksons, Nick Fury(more astute fans may have noticed more than i). Which all lead into the latest Marvel comic blockbuster, Avengers Assemble, which imo the film made very enticing by it's ending.

The acting was pretty good on the whole, Evans was solid but lacks the screen presence of true Holywood stars imo, Tommy Lee Jones, Stanley Tucci, Toby Jones & Dominic Cooper all added gravitas to the movie. Hayley Atwell as Rogers love interest didnt really impress for me & seemed overwhelmed in the acting stakes with her big moment near the end, that she lacked beliveability imo. Hugo Weaving (The Matrix [Agent Smith]) was impressive, or over hammy depending on how you see it, as the villian Johann Schmidt aka The Red Skull.

In conclusion, Captain America is an enjoyable watch dispite it's few failings, it's not the very best Marvel comic movie i've seen, but it certainly isnt the worst. Reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably my favourite of the Marvel characters and movies, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
That is... until the second Captain America came out recently. I like this one because of the 1940's setting, and it sets it apart from other Marvel movies for this reason alone. The movie also has a lot of heart and emotion going through it. The plot makes sense to me, and I really like the characters. If you're wondering what my take on a 'bad' Marvel movie is, then I'd go for the second Thor movie. As much as the producers intended for a solid film, that fell into the trap of spectacle ahead of a satisfying follow-up to the decent first film. On the other hand, this film makes you feel for the characters and leave you wanting for more by the end.
I have watched all the extras and if I were to rate those, I'd go for a 4/5. So you're not short changed, they're pretty good...Lots of deleted scenes, a listenable commentary, fun one shot and some good features which I invested more time in and appreciated more purely because I enjoy the movie. For context, I'd rate a release with extras along lines of LOTR extended a 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Captain America - The First Avenger: Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) [2011]
Used & New from: £5.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews