Customer Reviews


223 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless
It's a rare occurrence when I sit through a film so utterly engrossed that I have no criticisms of it at all. But True Grit managed that feat. Which makes the plethora of negative reviews all the harder to understand.

Beautifully and atmospherically shot (with a slight fairy tale quality), it also boasts engaging performances from Jeff Bridges, a hard to...
Published on 10 Sep 2011 by Mr. R Robertson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars even paced
This seemed typical Coen Brothers, the movie moved along at an even pace, rarely hitting a crescendo but offering enough to maintain interest. Overall, it was well acted, especially Hailee Steinfeld who gave a great performance. My main gripe was trying to understand Jeff Bridges who was incoherent throughout - maybe he was playing the role too well. It was a good film,...
Published on 14 Aug 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 10 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: True Grit [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
It's a rare occurrence when I sit through a film so utterly engrossed that I have no criticisms of it at all. But True Grit managed that feat. Which makes the plethora of negative reviews all the harder to understand.

Beautifully and atmospherically shot (with a slight fairy tale quality), it also boasts engaging performances from Jeff Bridges, a hard to recognise Matt Damon and especially the young Hailee Steinfeld who is totally captivating. Most of the film's charm is due to her precocious self-confidence.

I've not seen the original, so can't compare, but I urge you to ignore the poor reviews here, see the film and make up your own mind.

And all this from someone who doesn't usually like the Coen Brothers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable film, 1 July 2011
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been looking forward to seeing True Grit for a while, missing it at the cinema I bought the Blu-ray. I was not disappointed, the film lived up to its reviews. While I did not want to compare it to the original I could not help particularly comparing Hailee Steinfeld's performance as Mattie Ross with that of Kim Darby. I would have to say that Hailee Steinfeld won it by a whisker. Hailee being a 14yr old playing a 14yr old where Kim Darby was 22 when she played the role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Grit, 22 Jun 2011
By 
T. Ross (Worthing, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Grit [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
Definitely the best film I've seen this year. Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon both play outstanding roles, with without doubt the star performance is by Hailee Steinfeld.
If, like me, you have fond memories of the original film with John Wayne and Kim Darby, and are worried that it might be just a pale re-make - don't be. It's a brilliantly scripted, directed and shot film that stands up in its own right.
It deserves a place on anyone's one-to-watch list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same plot as John Wayne version, very different effect. Watch both!, 4 May 2013
This review is from: True Grit [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
I suppose the simplest way to describe this movie would be to say it's a remake of the John Wayne version with all the sentimentality (not to say camp) drained out. Whether you think that makes it more enjoyable than the original depends greatly on what you're looking for in a movie.

John Wayne has been, beyond question, in some outright great movies, and he makes the earlier version highly watchable basically by just doing his John Wayne thing throughout. But his very best movies have got something more, and personally I think he often did quite a bit better than "True Grit." (Best of all in "The Man who shot Liberty Valance", where his John-Wayneness is shown to epic advantage by the terrific compare-and-contrast performance of James Stewart.)

Not even Jeff Bridges can really make up for not having John Wayne in a Western, but for my money (YMMV and I don't blame you) this is a better film in every other respect. In particular, Hailee Steinfeld does a great job of making the 14 year old avenging angel Mattie Ross actually believable (no mean feat when you stop to think about it.)

Comparisons are odious. Watch both! (If you watch the JW version first, you'll have the bonus of picking up some sly homages in the later version, too.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this remake def has some 'TRUE GRIT', 23 Oct 2011
This review is from: True Grit [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
Watched this terrific Coen Bros remake - back to back with Waynes original movie , its now my second fav Coen bros film ,and just behind my fav ,which is Fargo

Love both the True Grit films ,and this TRUE GRIT remake is fantastic ,it definitely does the original justice - and then some , its perfectly cast , and all the actors are magnificent in there roles ,it's funny in places , sad in places ,and has some great moments of suspence and action

Some of the most memorable lines from the original movie are back , but one line that was left out ,that I would like to have seen left in - was when Mattie says something about Cogburn definitely having True Grit / when Cogburn on horseback single handedly charges the four other cowboys near the end of the movie - just felt it was far too memorable a remark ,and shouldve been kept in ,and I felt that the final shootout scene was a bit more epic in this remake , there's also some great new scenes in this movie ,I also felt that the end few scenes brought more emotion out of me in this one - than they did in the original film , the end is changed slightly in places , but it works really well

A must see western , and one of the best classic movie remakes EVER - period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless... one of the best films to come out of 2010, 21 July 2011
This review is from: True Grit [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
typically, westerns are not the genre of film that i would usually steer towards, but this film has changed my outlook and opinion completely. True Grit is essentialy central around the theme of redemption and companionship and shows that a decent film can arise from a fairly straightforward storyline. i initially watched this due to its universal reception and was not disappointed and upon the release to home media i purchased the blu ray format which made the experience even more fantastic.

specifically on amazon, there seemed to be an expression of dissappointment, with claims that the original was far superior. because of this, i saw the original, which was good, however i feel that this remake was in every way an improvement, especially in terms of Hailee Steinfeld who delivered a fantastic persomance for a debut role. I understand that the original was something to try and develop and improve on but without letting the streghth of it could my judgement i feel that this version deserves a solid 5 star rating.

this really is timeless and the Coen brothers have delivered once again a brilliant, enjoyable and memorable film, i would reccommend this to anyone (specifically on blu ray format), even if you're not a die hard fan of Western, please do not let the 3.5 star rating put you off, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Digital Copy, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As you may have encountered before the digital copy of the film has expired as of june 2012. I did finally get around this by trying clicking on another films title (that hadn't expired) and then inserting my disc in itunes to bring up True Grit and code entry. The usual routes its just says sorry expired. I don't think Paramount give out new codes just by asking (Warner Brothers has quite a good reputation for example) so was quite relieved by this. Just wanted to name and shame Amazon for listing this as a triple play when it clearly isn't anymore. There should be a way for consumers to see the expiry date online. Great Film of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars even paced, 14 Aug 2011
This review is from: True Grit [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
This seemed typical Coen Brothers, the movie moved along at an even pace, rarely hitting a crescendo but offering enough to maintain interest. Overall, it was well acted, especially Hailee Steinfeld who gave a great performance. My main gripe was trying to understand Jeff Bridges who was incoherent throughout - maybe he was playing the role too well. It was a good film, but I was left feeling a little disappointed particularly as there was such a strong cast involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of a Coen Brothers film than a western. But so what?, 13 Feb 2011
This review is from: True Grit [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
This story begins with a narration; a woman reminiscing about when she was a child and how she hired a US marshal, Rooster Cogburn, to hunt down and kill the man who murdered her father. We then quickly go into flashback and the hunt begins, with Texas ranger LaBoeuf joining Cogburn and the girl on their quest.

Best you know now that the hunt takes a while before it begins. And that it begins at a slow pace. And that it generally keeps a slow pace throughout. The Coens are in no hurry to catch the killer; they are more interested in the posse following after him; how they interact with each other and, consequently, what we learn about them - information we retain until it matters.

This is not an action film as some people who criticise it seemed to think before watching it. The Coens like characters. They like to put them in close-up and have them snipe at each other. And they like beautiful wide shots. The cinematography by Roger Deakins is perfect as always and needs to be seen on the big screen to be fully appreciated. The film is very true to the book upon which it is based and the book perfectly suits the Coen's style.

When the periodic action does come in the style of a set-piece, it is masterfully handled; always with tension and panache, sometimes with humour, only once with extreme violence. But you are aware that conversation is allowing action to intrude, often briefly, rather than the other way round

The best thing about the movie was the acting of Hailee Steinfeld who plays the determined 14 year old girl, Mattie Ross. You hang on her every word in the first part of the movie as she pushes it single-handed with her crisp, confident delivery and amusing refusal to be fobbed off or cheated by anyone.

Matt Damon really shines as the windbag ranger from Texas; a character you can really believe in and laugh at at the same time.

Jeff Bridges as the one-eyed drunken marshal, Rooster Cogburn, is great as he always is, but be warned, his southern accent is so strong and he mumbles so much its often quite difficult to understand what he is saying. Being from the UK I missed a lot of his best lines, but it never hinders comprehension of the plot which is as basic as they come anyway

The minor parts are all played well, especially the villains, but don't expect too much screen time from them. The opening narration makes clear that the whole film is from the girl's point-of-view. We aren't going to see any bad guys until she does, and then, only what she sees and knows.

In summary, be prepared for a beautiful-looking, slow-moving, well-acted, dialogue-heavy, often quirky Coen Brothers Film. Above all be prepared for, what is, in the end, a truly moving story. For it is not until the last 10 minutes that I realised what it is really about and I wondered if I should have known it all along. Like the characters I became so wrapped up in the importance of the quest to the exclusion of everything else. At the end of the movie I was reminded of the John Lennon line 'life is something that happens to you when you are making other plans.' Just like that line, this film has stayed with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Coen's True Grit, 12 Nov 2011
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: True Grit [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
True Grit is a fantastic poetic film from the Coen Brothers. Set in the old west it follows a fourteen year old girl Mattie (Hailee Steinfield) whose father has been killed in cold blood by outlaw Chaney (Josh Brolin). Mattie seeks retribution and tracks down hard-drinking, trigger happy Deputy U.S. Marshal Rooster Cogburn (Jeff Bridges)a man with 'True Grit'to find Chaney and kill him. Along the way they are joined by Texas Ranger LaBouef (Matt Damon)who has been pursuing Chaney for other crimes.

The films plot is told and played out in a unhurried manner and character development is given priority over action and tempo which is a refreshing change to most films.

Jeff Bridges is brilliant in his role as Cogburn, but for me the star of the film is Hailee Steinfield who steals the film.

I would highly recommend this film and if you have any doubts about it being another western film or being a remake of the awful John Wayne movie then don't let those things put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Grit [DVD] (2010)
True Grit [DVD] (2010) by Joel Coen (DVD - 2011)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews