Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good a compression tool as ever
Having used Winzip at work for years I was pleased to get hold of this at home.

Winzip is a tool used to shrink your files down to make it much easier to either store/archive them or for distribution.

It can shrink files substantially and is a huge help when needing to email big files.

The latest version was easy to install and is very...
Published on 20 Feb 2011 by Kevin Trebell

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still my favourite file compression utility but becoming uneccessary
With the ever increasing sizes of Hard Drives at cheaper prices it is somewhat surprising that we would still find a need for a file compression utility.
Most operating systems now of course offer a compression and zip file extractor as built in without you knowing it.
Having always used it though from the initial freeware versions I have kept current with the...
Published on 20 Feb 2011 by Tellboy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still my favourite file compression utility but becoming uneccessary, 20 Feb 2011
By 
Tellboy (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: WinZip 15 Pro Single User (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With the ever increasing sizes of Hard Drives at cheaper prices it is somewhat surprising that we would still find a need for a file compression utility.
Most operating systems now of course offer a compression and zip file extractor as built in without you knowing it.
Having always used it though from the initial freeware versions I have kept current with the various versions but the limitation imposed making this a single licence utility I do find annoying. I cant see many customers opting to install it throughout their home network with this limitation.
It will unzip more formats now including .rar.
I am not sure that the Winzip 15 Pro version which includes the backup utility would replace my reliance on Acronis TrueImage to do this for me.
As with most good software more and more functions get crammed in with every release until the tipping point is reached where you dont use most of it.
I think that point has arrived with version 15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful, functional program but free alternatives are available, 26 Feb 2011
By 
Jack Percival (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WinZip 15 Pro Single User (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The increasingly crowded market for Zip software is becoming more competitive with WinZip and WinRar having to compete with free alternatives such as PeaZip or built in functionality in operating. With WinZip 15 Pro, your paying less for the core functionality and more for the extra elements that Corel have included, the name and the user interface which combined probably aren't worth the money. The program itself uncompresses formats including Zip, Zipx, 7Z, BZ2, CAB, LHA, JAR, TAR, ISO and the nice addition of RAR reducing the need for having an extra program to deal with these files on your computer. However most operating systems (including Windows XP & 7) can deal with several of these file types and Peazip would do the rest.

So why would you purchase this product? Your not going to buy it for the core compressing and uncompressing functionality however the inclusion of backup tools, the ability to create highly customised multi-part files and encryption functions are essentially what you are paying for. The Pro version also offers little over WinZip 15 Standard with only the adding of some automated backup features. On Windows 7, the program integrates well and runs efficiently on my general use laptop.

Overall, there are some nice extra features in this software but nothing worth the price tag. Operating systems own built-in functionality will be enough for most users with Peazip providing some extra functionality where required. Only individuals or businesses who find themselves needing to compress large files with specific requirements or file formats should purchase this software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Buy - Its a Rip off, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WinZip 15 Pro Single User (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Although Corel Zip is supposed to be a great product, this does not work and its pre activation is locked. When you contact them for corel for support they give you the run around and suggest you waste more money, really common guys. I would strongly suggest looking else where as their are products as equally as good if not better, for instance WinRar, simple and effective to use even on windows 8 with a support team which helps. Try this for a great product, with help and long lasting results. [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good a compression tool as ever, 20 Feb 2011
By 
Kevin Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: WinZip 15 Pro Single User (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having used Winzip at work for years I was pleased to get hold of this at home.

Winzip is a tool used to shrink your files down to make it much easier to either store/archive them or for distribution.

It can shrink files substantially and is a huge help when needing to email big files.

The latest version was easy to install and is very easy to use. It integrates into the Windows User Interface so you can right click any file/folder and choose to Winzip it. You can also load the main Winzip front end and do it that way.

The Winzip tool is an excellent tool and now has an FTP Upload feature. In the past I've had to buy specific FTP software to upload to my websites so this is a welcome addition.

It's fair to say that it's not as essential as it once was, as Windows comes with a built in ability to zip files now but it's still well worth a look if you want to do lots of compression and especially if you wish to encrypt your files for security.

Well worth having to meet your compression needs. A good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works as advertised, but expensive for what it provides., 13 Mar 2011
By 
Clashcity Rocker "Clashcity Rocker" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: WinZip 15 Pro Single User (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Don't get me wrong, WinZip is a great zip utility, and the Pro version has lots of extra bells and whistles there is no questioning that. The real problem (and the main reason I have only given it 3 stars), is it does not really stand out from the crowd of much cheaper (and often free) alternatives. There are some serious shortcomings in the performance area too.

My main gripe concerning performance is that compared to something like 7Zip, not only does WinZip take longer to compress files (typically 20% longer), it also results in slightly larger files too.

I also find it amazing that in 2011, Winzip is still a 32bit application, as compressing/decompression is something that can greatly benefit from a native 64bit engine. This may explain why it did not perform as good as the 7Zip software.

The other point I have marked it down on, is that during registration you are forced to go online and activate the software which involves putting your email address in. Corel then use this email address to spam you with other "solutions". There is no initial way to opt out of this.

It's not all bad thou. The user interface is nice, it's very intuitive and file format support is very comprehensive (much better than older versions of Winzip).

Pros:
Nice intuitive User Interface
Flexible licensing (upto 2 PC's non concurrent use)
LOTS of features.

Cons:
Slower than other compression apps
No 64bit version
Some features feel a little disjointed and don't belong.
Corel Spam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 13 May 2012
By 
Grev (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: WinZip 15 Pro Single User (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one of those programs where what it does it does well - but being only a casual pc user I use it for hardly any of it's functions other than to unzip downloaded files. Still, you're bound to need files unzipping every once in a while, so sooner or later it's bound to come in handy.

Not the most thrilling of reviews, but then WinZip is never going to be the most exciting of programs! It's simple and it works. And that's about as thrilling as a program like this will ever get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The de facto standard for Windows Zipfiles, 20 Mar 2011
By 
Peter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: WinZip 15 Pro Single User (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
WinZip is the original compression programs for Windows. Based on PKWare's PKZip for DOS, it was for a long time one of a very few compression and packaging utilities. You could use the shareware version indefinitely without registering, and this no doubt added to its popularity.

Nowadays, things have moved on a bit. WinZip is owned by Corel and is not shareware, and Windows provides a certain amount of native support for ZIP files. Disk space has also become ridiculously cheap, and consequently the need to compress files to store locally is significantly reduced. So, why buy a compression utility like WinZip?

Well, it's convenient, for a start. It adds a context menu to Windows Explorer, so you can right-click on a file or folder, and zip it or zip and email it directly from the drop-down that is displayed. It also offers a higher level of compression, using the ZIPX file format, which can adapt the compression method to the type of file being compressed - so that even JPG images can be slightly reduced in size. It also offers 256-bit AES encryption, which is pretty effective. You can also split your zip file into equal-sized parts, which is handy if you want to copy them onto CDs or DVDs. And you can create self-extracting archives, so your recipients don't need a copy of WinZip to open the files. Note also that WinZip is useful for keeping files together - for example, if you're distributing a package of documents, you can bundle them into a single compressed self-extracting file.

I was a bit disappointed that WinZip doesn't offer support for ARJ files: you still occasionally find these files on the internet, and you need a program to uncompress them. Other than that, it's reasonably comprehensive - you can even open up Windows CAB installation files and look inside.

I quite like the basic backup software that's included in this Pro version. It really is basic, but you can use it to keep compressed copies of your important files on an external or network drive. It oddly suggests that if you want to schedule these backup jobs, you should use the Windows scheduler directly rather than scheduling jobs inside WinZip (which you can, albeit with basic settings). It can take a very long time to zip a lot of files though - disappointingly, the executable is 32-bit, and the program can only use a single CPU, so having a multi-core processor won't speed things up. On the plus side, it is a very small utility - the installer is just 15Mb - so the disk footprint it uses is negligible. It also typically uses only about 7Mb - 30Mb of RAM.

You need to be connected to the internet to register the software, and it can only be used on one PC at a time (although if you're recovering from a disaster, you can use it for a few days without reregistering it).

To find out how much space WinZip can save using the new ZIPX format, I tried compressing a variety of file types. Outlook email PST files compress by 60%-70% (so 20Gb of PST files became 7.5Gb), program installation files compress by about 35% and high-quality JPG photos compress about 12%. MP3 and Video files are reather less impressive, saving 3% and 4% of their original size respectively.

I think the thing I like best about WinZip 15 is that none of the useful features from previous versions have been broken. It still has the feeling of being the de facto standard for Windows compression, and it's still easy and unobtrusive to use. But it needs to watch out, because with limited native support for compressed files in Windows, and several free alternatives available it runs the risk of pricing itself out of the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong activation code., 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WinZip 15 Pro Single User (PC) (DVD-ROM)
I ordered product from Amazon. It came in a sealed package. I installed software and when inputting activation code, I was told this has already been used. How could somebody have used the code which came a sealed package. I have emailed Winzip help line and provided all proof of purchase and all I got is a reply in a foreign language and I am still stuck with a product that I cannot use. I think Amazon should be vetting his suppliers before unleashing them on innocent customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great compression utility, 4 Mar 2012
By 
John Nunn (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WinZip 15 Pro Single User (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one of the best compression tools out there, there are some which can get a little bit more compression, some which take less time. however there are not many which have the level of integration and support that you get from WinZip. The ability to create scheduled backups of important files to a compressed archive is a great feature; as is the ability to compress a file (or files) and send them via email.

The fact Corel is now the owner of this great tool is a mixed blessing, the support of the product is great as is the future development, however Corel do try to send emails promoting their other products once you have registered. Opting out of theses emails is fairly simple after you have received the first one, as this is fairly standard nowadays this is not so much of a problem.

Where winZip realy does com into its own is when you consider some of the addons available like courier which integrates with your email client and automatically zips any attachments reducing the size of the email, and if the file is going to be larger than a set size uses a file server to send the file through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The classic zip program, 30 July 2011
By 
This review is from: WinZip 15 Pro Single User (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Most everyone would have come across a file compression tool at some stage down the years. Winzip is the original file compression program for windows. There are so many enhancements to this version that make it amongst the best file compression tools around. its large feature set includes drag and drop support as well as JPEG compression, being able to zip files from your camera. One thing I am not a fan of is the google toolbar support. This happens during installation so keep an eye out for it if you don't want anonymous usage data being collected. However, it does provide all the features necessary to create simple backups, e-mail file compression as well as managing downloaded files from the Internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WinZip 15 Pro Single User (PC)
WinZip 15 Pro Single User (PC) by Corel (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews