Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reccomend this item, 15 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Stanley Gibbons Super Stamp Collecting Starter Pack (Paperback)
I bought this item for my son and it is an ideal first album. There is information provided and plenty of stamps to start off your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stamp Collecting Starter Pack, 29 May 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley Gibbons Super Stamp Collecting Starter Pack (Paperback)
When my son said he wanted to collect stamps, I looked at several products before deciding on this one. It is good value for money and comes in a nice boxed set (would be ideal as a present) with a stamp album, 250 worldwide stamps, a pack of stamp hinges, a booklet about stamp collecting, a map of the world and some little tweezers and a tiny magnifying glass. The only downside with this set is that you just about need a magnifying glass to find the magnifying glass and you can't add more pages to the stamp album. However, it really does contain everything a child needs to start this hobby and has kept my son happily occupied for several hours over a wet, half term holiday. It is educational, interesting and good value for money and I would not hesitate to recommend it. Putting the stamps in the book is a little fiddly though, so probably eight or nine is as young as I would consider buying for and it is probably more suitable for 10+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As a starter pack very satisfactory, 15 Jun 2011
This review is from: Stanley Gibbons Super Stamp Collecting Starter Pack (Paperback)
The pack contains all that is needed as a starter pack, bought for grandson age 12, has achieved what was required and supported his interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good starter pack, 6 Mar 2011
By 
Peter James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stanley Gibbons Super Stamp Collecting Starter Pack (Paperback)
The starter pack has a great hard back stamp album, a nice large pkt of world stamps and hinges. The magnifing glass is rather small and the tweezers snapped pretty soon after opening the box. There is a nice book explaining the art of stamp collecting. There are a couple of magazines and a catalogue which are not really suitable for children at all. Overall it is a nice starter set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value and an ideal starter to encourage a new hobby, 8 May 2013
By 
Debbie Young "Debbie Young" (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley Gibbons Super Stamp Collecting Starter Pack (Paperback)
I bought this to encourage my 8 year old daughter to take up a new hobby that didn't involve plastic toys and collectibles, and was really pleased that she was drawn in by the pack and its presentation. I like the fact that it has all the bits and pieces that you need to get started, and is ideally suited for small hands. While she doesn't play with it that often, when she does, she spends much longer than I had expected her to, really enjoying looking at the details of the different countries and taking a lot of trouble to stick the stamps very carefully into place. Great for improving her geographical knowledge (I know mine benefitted from stamp collecting when I was a child too). A great gift for anyone who is sick of buying commercial toys. I was so pleased with it that I bought another set for my nephew of the same age when his birthday came round, and he was equally pleased, despite being as firmly addicted to his plastic toys as my daughter is to her cuddly ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine, but could be better, 3 Sep 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "Frances" (Lancaster United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stanley Gibbons Super Stamp Collecting Starter Pack (Paperback)
A nice looking album, with a generous 250 stamps which almost fill the album's 10 pages. The magnifying glass is small but effective but the plastic tweezers failed to pick up the stamps. A useful magazine is provided, but more aimed at adults than children.

Overall, acceptable but with some disappointments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Gift, 26 Jun 2014
This review is from: Stanley Gibbons Super Stamp Collecting Starter Pack (Paperback)
This was given as a gift to my grandson. He loved it and I (a stamp collector of old) liked it just as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for children to get started with., 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley Gibbons Super Stamp Collecting Starter Pack (Paperback)
Plenty of things in the kit for my 9 year old daughter to get started with and hold her interest. Loads of stamps. She loves it and is just getting started learning about the stamps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley Gibbons Super Stamp Collecting Starter Pack (Paperback)
great activity book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stanley Gibbons Super Stamp Collecting Starter Pack
Stanley Gibbons Super Stamp Collecting Starter Pack by Stanley Gibbons (Paperback - 2010)
Used & New from: 22.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews