Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars10
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
2
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Sounds of falling metallic rain, hitting a soft roof landing, then running onto glass buildings. It then cascades off the tinted windows forming into running rivulets, finally joining together into water streams.

Echoes of life, capturing a special moment, when, lucidity briefly appears, before then whisking away, in an about turn and marching into a pinpoint.

This is mood music, resonating with introspection, as it ensnares moments when the crack in the earth opens up, quickly reveals something, before disappearing, leaving you to put a name to it.

It does whatever you want, so if you have the time to let your mind drift and float, this will provide one crucial aid.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2006
Beautifully atmospheric pieces. 'Meditation 1' seems to be a reworking of some of the material Eno and Fripp covered in 'Evening Star'. It sounds even better played on the mallet instruments.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2001
From the first shimmering, vibrant tones of Laraaji's hammered dulcimer, aided and abetted by the consistently brilliant Brian Eno, this album ensnares the listener in an organic soundscape that shifts in fascinating patterns. Beautiful and sublime - recommended.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I have a number of Brian Eno ambient albums and bought this on the back of them. It is OK, but quite not much variety. It is quite hypnotic due to the repetitive nature of the sounds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
What I've always loved about this album is that, while most ambient music (even in this series) is poignant, melancholy and introspective, this album is light, happy and radiant like virtually no other music. As such, it is a perfect companion to the rest of the Ambient set. Four extended pieces shimmer and float along - two rhythmic, two echoing and soft. Uplifting ambient music is so rare that this is highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Like all of Brian Eno's ambient albums, this is pure quality from start to finish, highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
Had the LP of this in the eighties and gave it away, but Laarigi still sounds great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
not good production, but good music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
I made the mistake of buying this CD thinking Brian Eno had some musical input. Prior to purchasing the CD I did not know who Laraaji was, but after listening to this CD I still do not want to know anything about him. As many have noted, the music on this CD is very repetitive, simple and unpleasant. It reminds me of music that the Hari Krishnas play during their marches; serious headache inducing music that makes your spirit want to escape this sphere of existence just to avoid this damn music.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a very dull record.
Brian Eno's inteligence should avoid certain errors. And I am a fan of his work since 1973! I know what I am talking about.
66 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)