Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars August LP205R Laser Presenter
Summary: Very easy, very good, very pleased.
Main points:
1. It's a well made, neat, lightweight, effective slide changer/presenter with a red laser which is good for general use.
2. We use it with PowerPoint and it's very straightforward, has simple controls and is and easy to use, so ticks all our boxes. A number of our users are in the non-technical...
Published on 22 Aug 2011 by Geoff

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Which it worked for PRezi
Good product well made and with a good little case. With PowerPoint it is excellent, however it does not work with Prezi which is the format I most often use.
Published 10 months ago by MR P E Poor


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars August LP205R Laser Presenter, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: August LP205R Wireless Presenter with Red Laser Pointer - Cordless Powerpoint Slide Changer with Shortcut Keys - Remote Control Range: 15m - Battery Powered (1xAAA Inc.) (Office Product)
Summary: Very easy, very good, very pleased.
Main points:
1. It's a well made, neat, lightweight, effective slide changer/presenter with a red laser which is good for general use.
2. We use it with PowerPoint and it's very straightforward, has simple controls and is and easy to use, so ticks all our boxes. A number of our users are in the non-technical category but they can operate it without any problem once I have pointed out what the five controls do and not to use the bottom one. The limited functions are what makes it easy to use and pretty well foolproof. Main use is right button for forward with occasional top button for blank slide or left button for backwards and laser pointer in the middle. Couldn't be any easier.
3. Buttons are well placed and well spaced so they don't get pressed accidentally. Before buying the August We had an other brand which was smaller but it was a nuisance as the controls were too close together and therefore got mixed up with some interesting, but distracting, results.
4. We plugged it in an it worked first time without any set up procedure. We use Windows 7.
5. Manual on/off switch is easy to use and located out of the way so can't be accidentally switched off when changing slides.
6. The usb receiver is stored inside the unit so doesn't need to be held separately.
7. Takes one commonly available AA battery and has room in the case for a spare.
8. Case holds the unit and a spare battery so keeps everything together. It's a generic zip case so not specifically shaped for this unit, but it's ok.
Minor issues:
1. Storing the usb receiver inside the back of the unit is very neat, but it can be fiddly to get out if you have short finger nails. A bit of practice helps.
2. I wonder whether removing the back cover to access the usb receiver every time you use it will result in the cover becoming loose after extended use. I'm considering buying an August LP107T as well to compare as that one stores the usb receiver in the end of the main unit making it more accessible.
3. If I forgot to switch it off after use I'm not sure how long the battery would last so I try to make a point of ensuring it's off at the end of each presentation. Perhaps an auto switch off if not used for a time would be possible. However, having space for a spare battery means you won't be left high and dry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and easy to use, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August LP205R Wireless Presenter with Red Laser Pointer - Cordless Powerpoint Slide Changer with Shortcut Keys - Remote Control Range: 15m - Battery Powered (1xAAA Inc.) (Office Product)
I plugged the USB receiver into my Windows 7 laptop and it just picked up the presenter. However, if you use automatic updates (which I discovered on another laptop), it might take about 10 minutes to get the latest driver from Windows update. Consider testing well before your presentation.

I have tested the presenter with Outlook, Word, Excel, Powerpoint, Adobe Acrobat, Notepad and it works very well. The laser is very powerful and clearly visible in the daylight -I have tested it across 50 feet. Seriously consider keeping it away from children. The button click sound is not such a bother or distraction.

Delivery was very quick and the product is certainly value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice quality and good value, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August LP205R Wireless Presenter with Red Laser Pointer - Cordless Powerpoint Slide Changer with Shortcut Keys - Remote Control Range: 15m - Battery Powered (1xAAA Inc.) (Office Product)
This product is well built and comes in a useful zip/fabric case. It sits comfortably in the hand and is intuitive to use. The range is remarkable - I got over 25 metres in open space (and ran out of space before I ran out of range). It works well with power point and open office.com, I have used it with windows XP and a brand new Apple Mac with no problems. The laser pointer (red) is easy to see on the screen. It can switch the software from edit mode to screen show and back, change slides and set screen to black as required. It is as good as any I have used (which is quite a few). Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Which it worked for PRezi, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August LP205R Wireless Presenter with Red Laser Pointer - Cordless Powerpoint Slide Changer with Shortcut Keys - Remote Control Range: 15m - Battery Powered (1xAAA Inc.) (Office Product)
Good product well made and with a good little case. With PowerPoint it is excellent, however it does not work with Prezi which is the format I most often use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good little clicker but no mouse function, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August LP205R Wireless Presenter with Red Laser Pointer - Cordless Powerpoint Slide Changer with Shortcut Keys - Remote Control Range: 15m - Battery Powered (1xAAA Inc.) (Office Product)
I needed a clicker for a series of presentations and this model came at a very nice price. It came in a sturdy zip pouch, which is a bit big for the clicker but has space for a spare battery or maybe a USB key. The clicker has the standard buttons for moving forwards and backwards through your slideshow. it also comes with a 'black' button to take your audience's attention off the screen and back to yourself. Another button let's you start or stop the slideshow with one click. This is handy to quickly restart you slideshow. The big button in the middle is of course for the laser pointer. The clicker fits quite nicely in your hand with a logical position of all buttons. The one thing that this clicker does not have is a mouse function. If you have links in your slideshow that require you to click at a certain point on a slide, this clicker won't do it for you.
The USB receiver lives in the battery compartment and can be a bit fiddly to get out of there. The on/off button is also a bit difficult to operate. If you want to avoid the risk of accidentally moving forwards/backwards during a longer presentation it is not easy to temporarily disable the buttons. The buttons give an audible click but this is not disturbing.
All in all quite a nifty clicker for a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to use and set up, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August LP205R Wireless Presenter with Red Laser Pointer - Cordless Powerpoint Slide Changer with Shortcut Keys - Remote Control Range: 15m - Battery Powered (1xAAA Inc.) (Office Product)
This is such a great little pointer, compact, comes with a case and the USB fits inside it. Very pleased with it and VERY glad I did not buy a more expensive one. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK product but quite big and the clicks are noisy, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August LP205R Wireless Presenter with Red Laser Pointer - Cordless Powerpoint Slide Changer with Shortcut Keys - Remote Control Range: 15m - Battery Powered (1xAAA Inc.) (Office Product)
This clicker is good but beware the clicks are noisy. When presenting in a small to medium sized room it's quite distracting and obvious so I'll be looking for something quieter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it is good, handy with bright laser spot., 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August LP205R Wireless Presenter with Red Laser Pointer - Cordless Powerpoint Slide Changer with Shortcut Keys - Remote Control Range: 15m - Battery Powered (1xAAA Inc.) (Office Product)
its amazing, happy with the purchase. it comes with pouch and compact. Price is better than available in market. Will of course recommend others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very reliable product, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August LP205R Wireless Presenter with Red Laser Pointer - Cordless Powerpoint Slide Changer with Shortcut Keys - Remote Control Range: 15m - Battery Powered (1xAAA Inc.) (Office Product)
Does what it states. Well built and very ergonomically designed. Good value for money. Has no connectivity issues which are often found at low end presenters. Having an additional mouse control will be great. Also as the usb connector is inside the battery case you need to remove the battery cover at every presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to choose, easy to use!, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August LP205R Wireless Presenter with Red Laser Pointer - Cordless Powerpoint Slide Changer with Shortcut Keys - Remote Control Range: 15m - Battery Powered (1xAAA Inc.) (Office Product)
Having now mastered Power Point for presentations, I needed a pointer to remotely click through my Lap Top's slides & indicate on the big display screen any references for discussion or note taking etc, etc. The August LP205R seems to tick all of the boxes. Very ergonomically neat and fits snugly into the palm of my hand: basic controls to advance, rewind & point with are easily figured out. Typically Plug & Play. A small zipper case for storage, will prevent it & the tiny USB sensor from going MIA. Using the 'Express' delivery option, I ordered on Friday evening, 29/08 and as guaranteed 'David' the courier from DPD was on my door step by Sunday 31/08 at around mid day. Amazing what can actually be achieved!! Good product & great delivery thereof. BIG Thank you to all concerned with my order ☺️👍
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews