Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars126
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on 22 November 2010
Burlesque is probably the most anticipated movie musical of the year, serving as Christina Aguilera's first starrer and the comeback of legend Cher. Judging from the sequined and flamboyant trailer, Burlesque is a firecracker. The soundtrack is an event in itself containing 10 new recordings, 2 from Cher (her first after 7-year musical hiatus), and 8 from Christina - diva overload.

The 2 Cher tracks are stellar - 'Welcome to Burlesque' sets the tone for the whole movie, swinging, curious and transports the listener to another world - in of course, a Burlesque lounge. 'You Haven't Seen the Last of Me' is a Dianne Warren written power ballad, in which Cher's voice resonates to the gut, emotional and powerful. While the soundtrack houses 2 new Cher tracks, the ultimate star of the set is still Christina Aguilera.

While Christina's signature pipes were somewhat stifled in 'Bionic', they are displayed here to full effect, from the first electrifying bars of 'Something's Got A Hold On Me' and the stomp of 'Tough Lover'-make no mistake - Aguilera is here to stay despite her Bionic setback. 'Express', the main plug of the movie is energetic, grand and urgent, 'Show Me How You Burlesque' with its toe-tapping jive and tongue twisting lyrics could easily fit in Christina's 2006 album Back to Basics, 'Bound To You' is a classic torch song which only Christina could deliver. Closer 'The Beautiful People' curiously samples Marilyn Manson's song of the same name, loud, pretentious and infectious and could have found itself a place in Bionic.

Overall, the soundtrack is indeed an essential companion to the Burlesque movie, if not the driving force of the movie, as the 2 divas pour their heart out in this 10-track collection - well done to the whole Burlesque camp.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 28 December 2010
I have been antisipating the arrival of Burlesque in cinemas and the soundtrack to be released in shops for quite some time now. So to my excitement the soundtrack was released earlier this month. As I expected, the soundtrack to the most antisipated musical/drama of 2010 was absolutely brilliant. Two of the finest voices in pop were on top notch on this cd. I have not seen the movie of as yet but I have read movie reviews and they have not said it is a bad film. The film is already nominated for 3 golden globe awards. One is for best original song for motion picture which Christina Aguilera penned for her feature film debut as an actress. A lot of critics were ready and waiting to write bad reviews on how Christina Aguilera performed but they have all said she's not a half bad actress.

You can say what you like about Cher but you got to give her credit for coming back out into movies and singing at the same time and delivering a fantastic performance. Her voice is still very strong.

Christina Aguilera sounds absolutely amazing, spectacular on the cd. The world knows she's got one of the greatest voices in the world and on this cd her voice proves just that very fact. She sings a couple of jazzy legendary Etta James numbers called "something's got a hold on me" and "tough lover". A 1940s Mae West classic song called "A Guy That Takes His Time".

This is a soundtrack that NO ONE should not miss to buy!

Cher is still a Legend and Christina Aguilera is in the making of becoming one of the legendary voices in music today!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 25 November 2010
Christina AGuilera essentially came back with her sonic fusion meets Electro Glam album Bionic this summer, and while i feel it was an absolute triumph of the year! it was poorly marketed and wasn't given the level of attention of the masterpiece Stripped album or the arty Back To Basics album which is rather unfortunate in so many ways! As i feel of all the pop albums released in 2010, it was one of the strongest.

However, Christina has put the 'bad press' behind her, and with the media attention on her recent divorce and her reaching new achievements including her own star on the Hollywood Walk Of Fame! Christina has done what should have been done earlier this year and came back with a bang here! Burlesque reflects Christina at her Rockin' edgiest yet! since her anthemic years of Stripped and combined it with the Retro Chic of Back To Basics. Burlesque creates an imagery not too dissimilar to the Back To Basics album, it's got old skool pop, Jazz, funk and soul all over it...and i must say it is the most outrageously fun album of this year!

Christina's vocals have always been unmatched and on here they are shown at their true best, she brings such a raw display of emotion in her voice you can absolutely envision it on the big screen, the songs literally speak for themselves! regardless of plot, it would make a strong concept album by itself!

I must say also that Burlesque reflects a general appeal across the board who loved the Old Skool Hollywood years of the 40's and 50's as it brings back that innocent glam and beauty! it's an absolute pleare to the senses...and that is no understatement!

Bound To You has garnered much attention and has been cited as a possible Academy Award nominee....which is very true in it's display (penned by Bionic contributer and Aussie popstar Sia) and it is absolute raw and an emotional display that gives you a feeling of achievement and progression.

Cher also reflects her 80's Rock sound on this album too with her natural gravity to her voice which is a very warm welcome indeed.

Burlesque is a must have album and also the film itself has garnered very good reviews by movie critics, citing Christina's film debut as absolutely stunning, and absolutely lives up to the the quality of this record, i genuinely cannot wait to see it!

10/10 gold!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 21 January 2011
When I first bought this CD, I knew Christina would come up with something good, but the songs are excellent!!! Express and Show me how to burlesque will make you wanna dance, and The Beautiful people is just a gem. The ballads are great as well. The recent Gold Globe awards winner " You haven't seen the last of me" and Christina's Bound To you will melt your heart. Excellent buy. You will not regret it!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 11 July 2011
Bought this after watching DVD. If you liked that you'll enjoy this. Cher and Christina Aguileras' voices are superb.
Well recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ah the old ones are the best. Like musicals then love this.

I Loved Chicargo it was like going to the pictures during the seventies with the addition of a decent sound system. I defy you not to tap your feet to this soundtrack, it has none of the bang bang bang shouting and swearing my daughter plays with lyrics that I cannot figure out or make any sense of.

Belt em out songs will always be a favourite of mine and thats why I love this soundtrack. Christine has an awe inspiring voice as does Cher. If you went to see Renne and Catherine in Chicago go and see this and then rush to the shops or better still to Amazon and then buy this.

It will have you smiling believe me and singing (badly in my case) as I push the hoover around the house with my ipod on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 23 January 2011
I bought the soundtrack last week and I haven't stopped listening to it! The songs are great and the vocals amazing which makes this album a must listen whether you've watched the movie or not.

I wholeheartedly recommend it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 3 February 2011
I'm a Aguilera fan, that's a fact! But the tracks prove that this girl have the most beautiful voice nowadays! It's like in "Back to Basics", impossible to listen and dislike it! ^^/
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 2 July 2011
I loved the film, so i bought the CD, the songs are great and origional and the voices are perfectly suited to the songs.....Love it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
Didn't really rate the movie for the simple fact that Christina cannot act but Cher more that makes up for that with her awesomeness. The soundtrack is amazing, so emotional in parts and I liked how Christina showcased her talent by writing several of them. Ones to check out are Bound to You, You Haven't Seen the Last of me and Show me how you Burlesque. I went to see my friend in a Burlesque show and they pretty much used this entire CD for their performance.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Lotus [Explicit]
Lotus [Explicit] by Christina Aguilera

Back To Basics
Back To Basics by Christina Aguilera


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.