Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cher + Christina = EPIC!
Burlesque is probably the most anticipated movie musical of the year, serving as Christina Aguilera's first starrer and the comeback of legend Cher. Judging from the sequined and flamboyant trailer, Burlesque is a firecracker. The soundtrack is an event in itself containing 10 new recordings, 2 from Cher (her first after 7-year musical hiatus), and 8 from Christina - diva...
Published on 22 Nov 2010 by TJ Valerio

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Movie was better
This soundtrack is very well produced but obviously lacks the visual attraction of Christine Aguilera on screen. Bought it on the strength of tyhe movie but I don't listen to it as often as it sounds much flatter than in the movie.
Published 17 months ago by Bernie


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cher + Christina = EPIC!, 22 Nov 2010
This review is from: Burlesque (Audio CD)
Burlesque is probably the most anticipated movie musical of the year, serving as Christina Aguilera's first starrer and the comeback of legend Cher. Judging from the sequined and flamboyant trailer, Burlesque is a firecracker. The soundtrack is an event in itself containing 10 new recordings, 2 from Cher (her first after 7-year musical hiatus), and 8 from Christina - diva overload.

The 2 Cher tracks are stellar - 'Welcome to Burlesque' sets the tone for the whole movie, swinging, curious and transports the listener to another world - in of course, a Burlesque lounge. 'You Haven't Seen the Last of Me' is a Dianne Warren written power ballad, in which Cher's voice resonates to the gut, emotional and powerful. While the soundtrack houses 2 new Cher tracks, the ultimate star of the set is still Christina Aguilera.

While Christina's signature pipes were somewhat stifled in 'Bionic', they are displayed here to full effect, from the first electrifying bars of 'Something's Got A Hold On Me' and the stomp of 'Tough Lover'-make no mistake - Aguilera is here to stay despite her Bionic setback. 'Express', the main plug of the movie is energetic, grand and urgent, 'Show Me How You Burlesque' with its toe-tapping jive and tongue twisting lyrics could easily fit in Christina's 2006 album Back to Basics, 'Bound To You' is a classic torch song which only Christina could deliver. Closer 'The Beautiful People' curiously samples Marilyn Manson's song of the same name, loud, pretentious and infectious and could have found itself a place in Bionic.

Overall, the soundtrack is indeed an essential companion to the Burlesque movie, if not the driving force of the movie, as the 2 divas pour their heart out in this 10-track collection - well done to the whole Burlesque camp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 LEGENDARY VOICES ON ONE SOUNDTRACK!, 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: Burlesque (Audio CD)
I have been antisipating the arrival of Burlesque in cinemas and the soundtrack to be released in shops for quite some time now. So to my excitement the soundtrack was released earlier this month. As I expected, the soundtrack to the most antisipated musical/drama of 2010 was absolutely brilliant. Two of the finest voices in pop were on top notch on this cd. I have not seen the movie of as yet but I have read movie reviews and they have not said it is a bad film. The film is already nominated for 3 golden globe awards. One is for best original song for motion picture which Christina Aguilera penned for her feature film debut as an actress. A lot of critics were ready and waiting to write bad reviews on how Christina Aguilera performed but they have all said she's not a half bad actress.

You can say what you like about Cher but you got to give her credit for coming back out into movies and singing at the same time and delivering a fantastic performance. Her voice is still very strong.

Christina Aguilera sounds absolutely amazing, spectacular on the cd. The world knows she's got one of the greatest voices in the world and on this cd her voice proves just that very fact. She sings a couple of jazzy legendary Etta James numbers called "something's got a hold on me" and "tough lover". A 1940s Mae West classic song called "A Guy That Takes His Time".

This is a soundtrack that NO ONE should not miss to buy!

Cher is still a Legend and Christina Aguilera is in the making of becoming one of the legendary voices in music today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christina's COMEBACK plus Cher = The Greatest And Most Anticipated Musical of 2010, 25 Nov 2010
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burlesque (Audio CD)
Christina AGuilera essentially came back with her sonic fusion meets Electro Glam album Bionic this summer, and while i feel it was an absolute triumph of the year! it was poorly marketed and wasn't given the level of attention of the masterpiece Stripped album or the arty Back To Basics album which is rather unfortunate in so many ways! As i feel of all the pop albums released in 2010, it was one of the strongest.

However, Christina has put the 'bad press' behind her, and with the media attention on her recent divorce and her reaching new achievements including her own star on the Hollywood Walk Of Fame! Christina has done what should have been done earlier this year and came back with a bang here! Burlesque reflects Christina at her Rockin' edgiest yet! since her anthemic years of Stripped and combined it with the Retro Chic of Back To Basics. Burlesque creates an imagery not too dissimilar to the Back To Basics album, it's got old skool pop, Jazz, funk and soul all over it...and i must say it is the most outrageously fun album of this year!

Christina's vocals have always been unmatched and on here they are shown at their true best, she brings such a raw display of emotion in her voice you can absolutely envision it on the big screen, the songs literally speak for themselves! regardless of plot, it would make a strong concept album by itself!

I must say also that Burlesque reflects a general appeal across the board who loved the Old Skool Hollywood years of the 40's and 50's as it brings back that innocent glam and beauty! it's an absolute pleare to the senses...and that is no understatement!

Bound To You has garnered much attention and has been cited as a possible Academy Award nominee....which is very true in it's display (penned by Bionic contributer and Aussie popstar Sia) and it is absolute raw and an emotional display that gives you a feeling of achievement and progression.

Cher also reflects her 80's Rock sound on this album too with her natural gravity to her voice which is a very warm welcome indeed.

Burlesque is a must have album and also the film itself has garnered very good reviews by movie critics, citing Christina's film debut as absolutely stunning, and absolutely lives up to the hype....by the quality of this record, i genuinely cannot wait to see it!

10/10 gold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Burlesque CD, 11 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burlesque (Audio CD)
Burlesque
Bought this after watching DVD. If you liked that you'll enjoy this. Cher and Christina Aguileras' voices are superb.
Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's gonna make you dance non stop!, 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: Burlesque (Audio CD)
When I first bought this CD, I knew Christina would come up with something good, but the songs are excellent!!! Express and Show me how to burlesque will make you wanna dance, and The Beautiful people is just a gem. The ballads are great as well. The recent Gold Globe awards winner " You haven't seen the last of me" and Christina's Bound To you will melt your heart. Excellent buy. You will not regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 22 July 2011
This review is from: Burlesque Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (MP3 Download)
I love this film and thus love the soundtrack, definetly prone to a bit of dancing in public when listening to this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 2 July 2011
By 
Mrs. T. J. Jackson (hertfordshire,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burlesque (Audio CD)
I loved the film, so i bought the CD, the songs are great and origional and the voices are perfectly suited to the songs.....Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tell me if there's better voice in this world?, 3 Feb 2011
This review is from: Burlesque (Audio CD)
I'm a Aguilera fan, that's a fact! But the tracks prove that this girl have the most beautiful voice nowadays! It's like in "Back to Basics", impossible to listen and dislike it! ^^/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real music, Proper vocals!, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Burlesque (Audio CD)
I bought the soundtrack last week and I haven't stopped listening to it! The songs are great and the vocals amazing which makes this album a must listen whether you've watched the movie or not.

I wholeheartedly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MAGNIFICENT!, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burlesque Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (MP3 Download)
Love it! Love it! Love it! First class film, SUPERB soundtrack. Try it and have your senses awakened. Great story to take you from life's downs, for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews