Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feelin' good with the 'Magic' touch.
The title gives a clue - West Side Soul. In this ground breaking album, Magic Sam uses his soulful vocals to excellent effect, backed by the west side Chicago sound epitimised by contempories such as Otish Rush and Buddy Guy. This approach was a step up from the more traditional Chicago sound of Muddy Waters etc. Magic Sam was poised for greater things, having just...
Published on 26 Sep 2002 by elsticks

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hugely overrated
Don't get me wrong, this album is some pretty foot-tappin' blues/soul, with some more than passable guitar playing, and Sam is a powerful shouter. But that's it.

I don't know where this album has got its reputation as "best blues album ever". Somewhere along the line the hype got out of control. It might scrape into the top 50, but seriously, no higher...
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by Angry bluesman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feelin' good with the 'Magic' touch., 26 Sep 2002
This review is from: West Side Soul (Audio CD)
The title gives a clue - West Side Soul. In this ground breaking album, Magic Sam uses his soulful vocals to excellent effect, backed by the west side Chicago sound epitimised by contempories such as Otish Rush and Buddy Guy. This approach was a step up from the more traditional Chicago sound of Muddy Waters etc. Magic Sam was poised for greater things, having just joined Stax Records when he sadly died of a heart attack. Luckily this album stands as a testiment to his greatly missed genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul meets the blues and explodes, 3 Sep 2003
By 
Mr. C. W. Smith "karyobin@hotmail.com" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: West Side Soul (Audio CD)
Sometimes things just do live up to the hype, I'd heard about this recording in hushed tones from 'serious' guitar players and singers for years and I never believed a word of it. Well it's all true this is a masterpiece par excellence.
Although people tend to put Sam in the Hendrix camp he is a lot less distortion & flash and more feel and harmony his singing is somewhere between Otis Redding and Sam Cooke maybe a little reedier but a beautiful thing all the same.
Every track is a classic and you've heard them all a thousand times played by every bar band you've ever seen but you've never heard them like this, go on do your ears a favour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars West Side Soul, Magic Sam - Lookin' Good!, 24 Nov 2009
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West Side Soul (Audio CD)
Having recorded for a number of years at various Chicago studios, Magic Sam finally made his breakthrough with this album recorded for Delmark. Tragically, he would only record one more album before his untimely death.

The music is exactly what is promised in the title - a mixture of West Side blues, and Soul music. The tunes are big, the guitar exceptional and the vocal perfectly suited for the grand ambition. Check out the definitive recording of Robert Johnson's much covered `Sweet Home Chicago' to see what I mean.

This is a fairly basic release from Delmark, with only the original liner notes and little remastering. The sound is still pretty good however, and this is a release well worth getting until a properly remastered version comes along.

If you like this, then check out Black Magic and the Complete Cobra, Fire and Crash recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing, 16 Nov 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: West Side Soul [VINYL] (Vinyl)
After reading the good reviews I wanted to see the track Listing.
But Amazon has not provided one.

This is not a review in any sense please (read the other excellent ones on Amazon).

The Tracks Listing is
Album Tracks

1. That's All I Need,
2. I Need You So Bad,
3. Feelin' Good,
4. All Your Love,
5. Don't Want No Woman,
6. Sweet Home Chicago,
7. I Found Me a New Love,
8. Every Night, Every Day,
9. Lookin' Good,
10. My Love Will Never Die,
11. Mama Talk to Your Daughter, and

12. Don't Want No Woman [An alternate Take] .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Track Listing, 16 Nov 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: West Side Soul [VINYL] (Vinyl)
There's no track Listing on Amazon so if, like me, you'd like to know whats on the Lp here is a track listing.
Album Tracks

1. That's All I Need,
2. I Need You So Bad,
3. Feelin' Good,
4. All Your Love,
5. Don't Want No Woman,
6. Sweet Home Chicago,
7. I Found Me a New Love,
8. Every Night, Every Day,
9. Lookin' Good,
10. My Love Will Never Die,
11. Mama Talk to Your Daughter,
12. Don't Want No Woman [ An alternate Take]
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're gonna boogie!, 2 Jan 2012
This review is from: West Side Soul [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The standout track for me is 'I Feel so Good', a driving, electric version of a classic Junior Parker cut. This version is a relentless, boogie groove played to outstanding effect on Sam's guitar, just how I like. 'Lookin' Good' gives you a rock n roll variation with creative guitar work and no vocals.

The opening 'All I need' is another new fav - a simple soul/blues tune while 'My love will never die' is a psycadellic blues holler that could only come from the sixties.

These tracks seperate the album from regular blues collections although the other tracks are great takes on typical blues sounds, reminicent of lowell fulsons fifties style.

The sound of this recording is perfect for vinyl and in all, essential for any blues lovers, guitar players and anyone who'd appreciate a varied collection of electric blues music. The pressing is not flawless but won't distract you from some great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this the greateat blues album ever?, 12 July 2011
This review is from: West Side Soul - digipak - remastered + rare photos (Audio CD)
I have seen on quite a few occasions that this album regularly tops polls of the 'best blues albums' For some reason i have shied away from it, until now.
Best blues album is a very heavy bag to carry.
Do i think it is?.....no. Would a delta blues aficionado think it was?.....probably not.
Having said that i have given the album 5 stars. The mans guitar work is cool, but what really grabbed me was his voice.
Within the first 30 seconds you realize you are listening to something special. Maybe more than a touch of Sam Cooke, which, by the way is high praise indeed.
My advice, buy it. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 30 Mar 2013
By 
A. Jones "dogsbody" (lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West Side Soul - digipak - remastered + rare photos (Audio CD)
no sophisticated review i`m afraid but if you like good guitar then this is the boy for you.pure enjoyment.does what it says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST ALBUM OF ALL TIME????, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West Side Soul - digipak - remastered + rare photos (Audio CD)
I have always found it hard to say which albulm was my favourite of all time....This could be it. I had heard the reviews so I though I would give it a try!!! I have now been listening to West Side Soul for 20 days non-stop. Sam's guitar playing is amazing and perhaps only betterd by his powerful stiring voice....He must surely be one of the most underrated musicians of all time!!!!!! Sam Cooke is considerd to have one of the greatest voices of all time...Well imagine if he could play the guitar at the same level???? Sam can!!! As a blues lover I have always considerd the blues to be the roots of most popular music.....This album is the best example of this...Blues meets rock meets soul meets pop.....If I had to describe real music..This would be it!!!AWESOME!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For soulful chicago blues it can't be beat, 7 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West Side Soul - digipak - remastered + rare photos (Audio CD)
Great, great reissue of a great, great album. This is top 10, desert island disc music. If you like the likes of Otis Rush, Buddy Guy, B.B.King but don't know this, don't hesitate. In fact, if you like any blues or any soul, don't hesitate. Sam's guitar is like a soulful version of Buddy Guy and his voice almost a cross-over from blues to soul. The overall blend is unique and really hits home. The CD runs the gamut from the most ecstatic up-tempo jump blues imaginable ("Feelin' Good" aka "I Feel So Good / Wanna Boogie") to spine-tingling slow and soulful blues (e.g. "I need you so bad"). Classic sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews