Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough
My first portable speaker. It has a good weight to it... not too heavy. The audio lead is very short, but then again not a problem if your portable music player is right next to it. The sound is ok, I mean, for the price and size, it would be unreasonable to expect hi-fi sound. It does sound surprisingly good. Since it has no volume control (just an on/off button), volume...
Published on 17 Jun 2011 by skw

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice sound but not durable
It has a nice sound though will distort at high volumes. I bought two of these and despite being careful with the speakers, each time the cable broke where it goes into the headphone jack. The speaker cable is just so flimsy and was not made to last. Just the slightest of tension in the cable will over time loosen it from the headphone jack and expose copper wire. The...
Published 19 months ago by Rosebead


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough, 17 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
My first portable speaker. It has a good weight to it... not too heavy. The audio lead is very short, but then again not a problem if your portable music player is right next to it. The sound is ok, I mean, for the price and size, it would be unreasonable to expect hi-fi sound. It does sound surprisingly good. Since it has no volume control (just an on/off button), volume is controlled by the music player. On my player, medium volume is more than enough to fill a room of 6m x 3m. But at max volume, I did detect some cracking sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful!!, 15 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
this has really good sound within the average room and also in the car. the aaa batteries last ages and it is such a handy size to carry around with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 Years and still going strong, 17 Jun 2013
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
Just as a preface: electronics don't last long with me. Whether it's by my own ham-fisted repairs or just general wear and tear, most things tend to die in 4 months. Speakers and headphones even more quickly.

So. I bought this little gem in Alice Springs, on my gap year in early 2009, hoping to replace a larger and more cumbersome Logitech mm50 as the main source of public music. Buying the Orbit was a bit of a departure from my usual, "rechargeable and has a remote control" flashpacking routine, but cash and space were tight.

Boy, did it do exactly what I wanted! 3 AAA's got you anywhere between a week and a fortnight (if you didn't forget to turn it off) of proper use, but it was good enough to use instead of the car hi-fi when we couldn't get the tunes through to that. It's been on beaches, deserts, lakesides, pretty much any caustic or abrasive environment you can think of, and still works. I can't count the number of times this thing has bit the asphalt and shrugged it off. It just keeps going.

Obviously it's never going to match a full blown Hi-fi, it even distrorts a little at max volumes. But it's still powerful enough to be heard over a bunch of drunk Aussies, so I call that good enough. Seriously, if you're fed up with the terrible tinny tunes your phone/music player spits out, get one of these, and it'll serve you well

On a side note, never dare anyone to throw it at you- it will hurt, despite being deceptively light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice sound but not durable, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
It has a nice sound though will distort at high volumes. I bought two of these and despite being careful with the speakers, each time the cable broke where it goes into the headphone jack. The speaker cable is just so flimsy and was not made to last. Just the slightest of tension in the cable will over time loosen it from the headphone jack and expose copper wire. The speaker also emits an annoying loud high pitch squeal when the batteries go flat so it's not a good idea to fall asleep with it on.

I suggest the first thing you do if you buy this speaker is tightly wind some gaffer or electrical tape around the bit where the speaker cable goes into the headphone jack otherwise you will be sorely disappointed within a year when it falls apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab speaker, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
Like everyone else internet purchases make me nervous, lets face it you can't pick the goods up and play with them. But trust me if your after a speaker thats small enough to carry around and still provide you with good quality sound look no further you won't be disappointed. Fab speaker at a fab price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
What a great little thing this is - good bass and very crisp and sharp - so good I bought another 2 for my teenage daughters who are equally impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for a travel speaker, 29 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
Very good sound for a speaker this size. Intending to buy a second one and a 'stereo to 2x mono' cable so I can have L and R speakers. If it had a volume control I would give it 6 stars :-). My work around is to add in a dedicated 'in-line volume controller' which sits between speaker and audio source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant speaker for it's size!, 6 Jun 2011
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
I previously purchased the Altec Orbitm IMT237 and was delighted with the product. A case for the speaker was provided. Unfortunately, that speaker was lost/stolen and so I purchased this later model.

Having owned the earlier speaker I assumed that the same case would be supplied and was disappointed when the speaker arrived with no case inside! I tore open the packaging before I realised that there was no case provided meaning that I could not return the product to Amazon.

I purchased this speaker specifically to travel with as I can imagine most people do. I appreciate that the lesser packaging is a good thing for the environment etc however I think that eliminating the provision of a case let's a great product down. When travelling with the speaker either in your suitcase, handbag or on the beach you need a case you protect the speaker from damage, wear and tear, spillage, sand etc.

However that said this is a great speaker, excellent sound, good base and nice and compact!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
this speaker is superb , such a lot from such a small speaker ! I have an i-pod which produces a really good sound , however my friend has a htc phone and the sound was even better ,a lot louder ! we listened to it most days for 2-3 hours and didnt neet to change the batteries over a 2 week period . This was recommended on the gadget show and i can,t fault it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice portable speaker, 5 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
Bought this in order to listen to iPhone on holiday. Found it worked well with a good volume, enough to fill a room. Clear and crisp sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa986e018)

This product

Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews