Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough
My first portable speaker. It has a good weight to it... not too heavy. The audio lead is very short, but then again not a problem if your portable music player is right next to it. The sound is ok, I mean, for the price and size, it would be unreasonable to expect hi-fi sound. It does sound surprisingly good. Since it has no volume control (just an on/off button), volume...
Published on 17 Jun 2011 by skw

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice sound but not durable
It has a nice sound though will distort at high volumes. I bought two of these and despite being careful with the speakers, each time the cable broke where it goes into the headphone jack. The speaker cable is just so flimsy and was not made to last. Just the slightest of tension in the cable will over time loosen it from the headphone jack and expose copper wire. The...
Published on 2 Sep 2012 by Rosebead


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough, 17 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
My first portable speaker. It has a good weight to it... not too heavy. The audio lead is very short, but then again not a problem if your portable music player is right next to it. The sound is ok, I mean, for the price and size, it would be unreasonable to expect hi-fi sound. It does sound surprisingly good. Since it has no volume control (just an on/off button), volume is controlled by the music player. On my player, medium volume is more than enough to fill a room of 6m x 3m. But at max volume, I did detect some cracking sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful!!, 15 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
this has really good sound within the average room and also in the car. the aaa batteries last ages and it is such a handy size to carry around with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice sound but not durable, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
It has a nice sound though will distort at high volumes. I bought two of these and despite being careful with the speakers, each time the cable broke where it goes into the headphone jack. The speaker cable is just so flimsy and was not made to last. Just the slightest of tension in the cable will over time loosen it from the headphone jack and expose copper wire. The speaker also emits an annoying loud high pitch squeal when the batteries go flat so it's not a good idea to fall asleep with it on.

I suggest the first thing you do if you buy this speaker is tightly wind some gaffer or electrical tape around the bit where the speaker cable goes into the headphone jack otherwise you will be sorely disappointed within a year when it falls apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
What a great little thing this is - good bass and very crisp and sharp - so good I bought another 2 for my teenage daughters who are equally impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for a travel speaker, 29 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
Very good sound for a speaker this size. Intending to buy a second one and a 'stereo to 2x mono' cable so I can have L and R speakers. If it had a volume control I would give it 6 stars :-). My work around is to add in a dedicated 'in-line volume controller' which sits between speaker and audio source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
this speaker is superb , such a lot from such a small speaker ! I have an i-pod which produces a really good sound , however my friend has a htc phone and the sound was even better ,a lot louder ! we listened to it most days for 2-3 hours and didnt neet to change the batteries over a 2 week period . This was recommended on the gadget show and i can,t fault it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice portable speaker, 5 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
Bought this in order to listen to iPhone on holiday. Found it worked well with a good volume, enough to fill a room. Clear and crisp sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Speaker, 28 Sep 2011
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
Great little speaker with excellent sound quality, works well with both the Acer & Dell laptops we have. Well worth the money, though a carry bag would have been useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds Fantastic!!!, 30 Jun 2011
By 
G. Burke (Redcar, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
Bought this speaker to use with my Nano on holiday, Recomended on the gadget Show,
I was not disappointed, the sound is amazing, batteries were provided and speaker still going strong after possibly 3 hours a day over the two weeks, Fits great into carry case, I cant see how it can turn itself on, other reviews, must have been really squeezed in somewhere. All in all, Brilliant speaker , brilliant price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad - if only there wasn't something better, 12 May 2012
By 
Mrs. C. Lalani (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker (Electronics)
I bought myself the Altec Lansing Orbit with high hopes from what the other reviews have said. I received it this morning and after a good listen to a variety of genres, the Altec is worth 15 but I would not buy this product again.

It's not bad by any means, the 360 degree sound field does actually work and it does go quite loud. I was just expecting a bit more quality, I knew that it didn't have its own volume control but I also didn't know how much of an effect it would have, with other portable speakers you can adjust volume on the device enabling to make slight volume changes, whereas with the Altec, its all or nothing. Along with instructions, it came with a little note saying 'the best way to get the most out of your Altec is by having your mp3 player on 85-90% volume'.. What they meant was, any higher than this and the sound becomes heavily distorted. Don't get me wrong you don't need to go any louder (if you're inside) and the quality below 90% volume is decent.

However, if you want best value for money, I would advise going for the X-mini's. It's not that these are terrible, just for the same money, you could get a better product with the exact same function in the X-Mini's.

All in all, worth a try, but not something I'll be rushing to buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker
14.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews