Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!
Just like Kingdom Hearts 1 and 2, Recoded gets into the story quite quickly. The levelling up system is a lot different but it's pretty simple to grasp. The battles are similar to 1 and 2, but so far for the most part it's just Sora fighting alone, no parties... Although in Olympus it changes to a turn-based battle system with a slight twist which I thought was...
Published on 17 Jan. 2011 by Kris

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent game, but can the spin offs just stop already?
The last DS Kingdom Hearts game, 358/2 Days, was a bit of a let down for me back when it came out. As you can imagine, I approached Recoded with some apprehension, but thankfully it is a pretty big improvement on it's predecessor in technical and gameplay terms, but there are still a number of problems here that get in the way of it being a genuinely great title...
Published on 14 Mar. 2011 by John Clayton III


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent game, but can the spin offs just stop already?, 14 Mar. 2011
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts: Recoded (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The last DS Kingdom Hearts game, 358/2 Days, was a bit of a let down for me back when it came out. As you can imagine, I approached Recoded with some apprehension, but thankfully it is a pretty big improvement on it's predecessor in technical and gameplay terms, but there are still a number of problems here that get in the way of it being a genuinely great title.

Seemingly taking place after KH2, the story (nonsensical as it is) revolves around Jiminy Cricket's journal charting Sora and company's adventures which was wiped clean at the climax of GBA KH title Chain of Memories. King Mickey, Donald and Goofy discover an ominous new message/warning in the previously mostly blank journal and decide to do what Mickey Mouse does best: Digitise the journal by using a supercomputer to break it down into data and have a computer generated copy of Sora travel into said data and uncover both the meaning behind this new message and why the journal ended up being wiped clean originally. What follows is more or less the same thing as Chain of Memories as a memory loss suffering Sora relives a watered down take on the events of KH1, with occasional snippets of central plot used to break up the repetition. The plot is both convoluted and at times confusing, falling into the same pitfalls that have plagued this series since every game after the first one. It would be one thing if this story had a satisfying payoff at the end, but it doesn't even have that. The plot and how it is presented is this game's biggest failing.

Thankfully, the gameplay is a different story. The combat is a slightly stripped down take on KH2, with fast, button mash heavy battles that are mostly well put together but hampered by the usual KH camera issues and a deeply annoying lock on system. The levelling up system and special move set up could have done with being a bit more intuitive and simply laid out, but overall, the combat element of the game is pretty solid. Exploration is also pretty well handled, as rather than try to create large areas to explore, the game emphasises instead smaller, puzzle/challenge driven areas (With an unusual fetish for blocks and block based puzzles) occasionally broken up with completely new gameplay elements (You could even call them mini-games if you must) that see some areas take the form of homages to games like Mario and Space Harrier. These serve as interesting breaks from the normal gameplay and are well enough put together, so again: solid stuff. There is an intense amount of repetition in here though, and there is a real lack of actual side quests and additional content, and the controls can frustrate alongside THAT camera also. You have been warned.

Visually, the game is a big improvement on 358/2 Days, with smoother performance and slightly better texture work. It's still quite jagged and bland in places, but it is still an improvement, with the trade off for the graphical improvements seemingly being much smaller play areas. Whereas 358/2 Days had several huge open areas to explore, Recoded has nothing of the like, as mentioned above. The soundtrack is again a series of reused tracks from KH1-2, with the bare minimum of voice work in game, spared for the rare FMV cutscenes. Nothing new on this front to be honest.

It smacks very much of a game made on the quick to cash in on the KH name, with the whole experience feeling like so much aimless filler in what it accomplishes. It's great Square-Enix put the effort in to refine the technical aspects of the game, and it IS fun to play but I was left feeling deeply unsatisfied by the end of it. I think by this stage, I for one am pretty sick of the constant 'beating around the bush' of the KH spin off games and would say it's long past time Square-Enix started working on KH3 already, but seeing as there is already yet another spin off title coming for the 3DS this year, and it sounds like ONCE AGAIN it's premise involves retreading the events of KH1, I fear that they're likely to run this series so far into the ground before the actual threequel arrives that no one will care when it eventually does.

I mean, when there are three times as many spin offs in a series than actual installments, it is taking things a bit too far, isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, 17 Jan. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts: Recoded (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Just like Kingdom Hearts 1 and 2, Recoded gets into the story quite quickly. The levelling up system is a lot different but it's pretty simple to grasp. The battles are similar to 1 and 2, but so far for the most part it's just Sora fighting alone, no parties... Although in Olympus it changes to a turn-based battle system with a slight twist which I thought was interesting.

The only thing I'm not too happy about is that although it's on the DS you don't actually need to use the touch screen at all, which I think is a shame because isn't that basically the point of the DS?

But other than that I'm really enjoying playing this game, I'm about 9 hours into it and had to force myself to put it down so that I don't finish it too quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great game, 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts: Recoded (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Present for my Grandson. He said it was great and it certainly kept him occupied for quite some time which is all you can ask for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Feb. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts: Recoded (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is an excellent game, if you're a fan of KH like me you'll love it. It carrys on from the story in KH2, the only thing is the story can sort of become repetitive towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game but not as good as the older Kingdom Hearts., 31 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts: Recoded (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I enjoyed it but it could've been better...... Like it's good and all but I found this one very easy to complete. it was still challenging sometimes but the older Kingdom Hearts games were more challenging and had better stories.
One thing I don't like is the idea of making the characters data. Like instead of the real Sora your playing as Data Sora.....

But still, In another way it was really fun and great in it's own way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but really repetitive., 19 Jan. 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts: Recoded (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
WHY, out of ALL of the Disney levels that you could POSSIBLY add into this game, did they only choose Agrabah, Wonderland and the Colosseum? While Wonderland was a breath of fresh air after not seeing it for several games, Agrabah and the Colosseum are incredibly lacking in fun and originality. The plot is interesting but badly cobbled together.
My advice to anyone wanting to buy this game? Wait until you can get a used copy for less. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All in All, Worth it!, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts: Recoded (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The company is trustworthy, I know that because my product didn't come in due date and when I complained they offered a refund or sending another, not just that, they also explained that the delay was because of the weather conditions in the US back when I ordered it and that I will eventually get two games but it's okay as long as I'm pleased. Of course, I agreed to wait without having them sending another copy and it did come shortly afterword. The game is great, as expected form Kingdom Hearts and I love it. I recommend this product for whoever is a fan of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 4 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts: Recoded (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The sequel on the DS is just as dynamic as the previous game interacting with Disney icons in a completely original story. The graphics are good and the battle system plays well - worth buying if you haven't played any other games in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good game in the serie, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts: Recoded (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
i might be prejudiced as i am a big fan of the serie, who just caught up with those older titles now that i have acquired a Nintendo DS, but so far i m enjoying it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts: Recoded (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
So far a nice edition to the kingdom hearts family, not as good as kingdom hearts birth by sleep or 358/2 but still playable. Have yet to complete it as it hasn't held my interest fully like other KH games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingdom Hearts: Recoded (Nintendo DS)
Kingdom Hearts: Recoded (Nintendo DS) by Square Enix (Nintendo DS)
£14.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews