Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for what we bought it for
Bought to chop nuts, breadcrumbs and herbs, which it does very well. The plastic blade was a bonus and has already been used to produce guacamole. The reservations are that its motor does make an awful noise (banshee wail!), any prolonged use would require ear defenders! And when I bought it last week it was £35, for some reason this week it has gone up to £60 and at...
Published on 1 May 2012 by spwells

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent results, but really awkward to use
First, the upsides. As well as the base unit and bowl, the Magimix Micro comes with a lid with a hole through which to feed liquid ingredients slowly (terrific for making mayonnaise), a metal blade for chopping and blending, an emulsifying plastic blade for making sauces and mayonnaise, and a spatula. It also comes with an excellent little recipe book (and the recipes...
Published 22 months ago by A. Byrnes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent results, but really awkward to use, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
A. Byrnes "Andie" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First, the upsides. As well as the base unit and bowl, the Magimix Micro comes with a lid with a hole through which to feed liquid ingredients slowly (terrific for making mayonnaise), a metal blade for chopping and blending, an emulsifying plastic blade for making sauces and mayonnaise, and a spatula. It also comes with an excellent little recipe book (and the recipes work), which also has assembly, usage and cleaning instructions. The results so far have been great, with and without the recipes. It chops wonderfully and the mayonnaise it makes (my main reason for buying it) is really stunning. So far so good. If I measured this piece of equipment wholly on the results, I would give it five stars. But it has failings.

The downsides are topped by the fact that it has a single recessed button to operate it. The button, as the instructions make clear, must be held down by hand throughout the period of the chopping or blending. The top of the button is more or less flush with the level of the unit and as the mechanism is recessed it has to be pushed in to the unit very firmly to make it work. Even with small, strong fingers this is a pain and I have turned to using the end of a pencil to do the job, because it is difficult to hold the button down for the times required for longer processing. There is no way of leaving it to go on its own - there is only one button and it has to be held down manually. This means that pulse mode and continuous mode are achieved by finger work, and you need strong fingers. Heaven help anyone who doesn't have a muscular index finger. It is a major design flaw. It also feels like a really obvious point of failure - I have very little confidence that the button will last long enough for me to get my money's worth out of the machine.

The second problem is that because the button requires so much pressure to make it work, you have to push it up against something or the entire unit travels all over the place. That drove me insane because my previous bit of kit had switches rather than buttons and could be used in the middle of a work surface. Having to push the unit up against the wall before it would work really annoyed me.

The third design flaw is that the handle, which has to lock into position like most of these machines, locks into position over the top of the button at the front. That means that if you want to actually see the button when you push it, you have to bend down to see it beneath the handle of the bowl's handle. That just seems silly when the handle could have been locked into any position elsewhere on the base unit, like every other food processors and blender that I have used.

Finally, the instruction manual gives instructions for cleaning. However, the dishwasher instructions indicate that you need to wash the components only at the minimum heat setting of less than 40 degrees centigrade and disable the drying function. Not all dishwashers are that programmable so be careful before you place the plastic parts and blade in a dishwasher.

"Which?" gives it a good rating but prefers the Bosch equivalent, and I really wish that I had purchased that because even though it makes great mayo, the button is such a poor design feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for what we bought it for, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magimix 18104 Mini Chopper Black (Kitchen & Home)
Bought to chop nuts, breadcrumbs and herbs, which it does very well. The plastic blade was a bonus and has already been used to produce guacamole. The reservations are that its motor does make an awful noise (banshee wail!), any prolonged use would require ear defenders! And when I bought it last week it was £35, for some reason this week it has gone up to £60 and at that price there may be better alternatives, so I have taken a star off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Magimix!, 4 July 2013
By 
Mr. R. Bolt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recently purchase a new Magimix 4200 processor and as an afterthought I also went for the 18103 Mini Chopper
In red to match my new kitchen.
I have to say that I find I am using the Mini Chopper far more than its large relative. It chops nuts, onions, herbs and
lots more and because of its size is a doddle to rinse out. It feels nice and heavy like its larger brothers and I would certainly recommend it for cooking enthusiasts.
Great value for money in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the extra money to purchase this mini chopper, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best mini chopper I have ever had. As noted by everyone the blade is sharp so handle with care!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 29 Jan. 2013
By 
Mrs. M. A. Stuttard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fabulous little gadget, super sharp blades, useful little recipe book. looks good and does exactly what it claims to do!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magimix, a super little machine, 26 Oct. 2013
By 
R. Bain - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magimix 18104 Mini Chopper Black (Kitchen & Home)
I have a huge Magimix food processor, but wanted something which would be easy to pop in and out of the cupboard.
Ideal for the smaller jobs, - sauces, scone mix, small amount of pastry, chopping. This machine would be improved if it also had a small shredding disc. Perfect for the single person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth paying the extra for, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magimix 18104 Mini Chopper Black (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this mini chopper to replace a Kenwood mini chopper which had over heated and stopped working. This chopper is far superior. It has more capacity than most which means more space for the ingredients to circulate. Also the capacity is ample for chopping the contents of a 400g tin for instance to make hummus.
The blade is very sharp, and set at an angle which chops better than a flat blade. Small items and liquids can be added through the lid without stopping the machine.
There is only a pulse button, so you will have to hold it down for the entire period of chopping, however it only need a light press.
The supplied spatula is a good fit for the bowl, and every part is dishwasher safe.
The manual warns against running for over one minute continuously, which is a common requirement for smaller kitchen machines as the motors overheat, but this time is plenty long enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A handy blender ..., 2 April 2014
By 
A. J. McGowan (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
... but just a little too small. If you're making tiny quantities, this is your man - powerful and efficient at blending stuff up. But if you're cooking for more than a couple of people, it struggles. Still, though, the small size makes it easy to store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magimix 18104 Mini Chopper, 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magimix 18104 Mini Chopper Black (Kitchen & Home)
Exactly what was needed - a small quantities machine. Neat and small so sits on the work surface almost hidden. Seems well made - our larger model is 20+ years old and still going strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magimix 18104 chopper, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magimix 18104 Mini Chopper Black (Kitchen & Home)
Great little machine, it so far has chopped all I have needed, powerful, useful, LOVE IT..... Would recommend to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magimix 18104 Mini Chopper Black
£49.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews