Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't you see I'm so trapped and I don't know what to do...
After a host of original Doctor Who novels for both The Virgin New Adventures series and the BBC books series that followed it, this is Simon Messingham's first Tenth Doctor novel - and it doesn't disappoint.

As with the previous book in the series, Martha in the Mirror; some of the elements from stories from both the `classic' (i.e. 1963 - 1989) as well as the...
Published on 15 Dec 2008 by Captain Pugwash

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too confusing
I read this while in the library in one straight sitting. It was fine enough on how it was written in style, but the overall storyline was completely messed up, until i just wanted to scream and throw the book across the room. I managed to read it through to the end and of course the ending was even more confusing with an invisible scene being the way they managed to make...
Published on 16 Aug 2009 by Tessa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Can't you see I'm so trapped and I don't know what to do..., 15 Dec 2008
After a host of original Doctor Who novels for both The Virgin New Adventures series and the BBC books series that followed it, this is Simon Messingham's first Tenth Doctor novel - and it doesn't disappoint.

As with the previous book in the series, Martha in the Mirror; some of the elements from stories from both the `classic' (i.e. 1963 - 1989) as well as the current series' are used; something that will appeal to the older fans amongst us as well as fascinating and intriguing younger readers. Robert Shearman's Ninth Doctor adventure `Dalek', immediately springs to mind when reading the account of the space museum housing different alien species, whilst the museum's curator and the despotic ruler of Planet 1 - Sebastiene - has antecedents in both The Celestial Toymaker and The Master of the land of Fiction from 1968 story `The Mind Robber'.

Messingham develops an idea first purported in the 2006 TV story `Love and Monsters'; that The Doctor's travels are ardently followed by hordes of fans. Although this idea may seem spurious to the older generation of `Whovians' it provides the necessary backdrop to a story of dim-witted dopplegangers, demented droids and deluded dictators; as The Doctor becomes the prey in a deadly game of cat and mouse...

The Doctor's current travelling companion, Donna Noble, is sidelined early on in the story, and this allows The Doctor to fight this particular menace unshackled, making for a fast-paced and fascinating battle of wits.

The audiobook version, read by Russell Tovey (Midshipman Frame in 2007 Christmas Special 'Voyage of the Damned'), is unfortunately abridged, and consequently squeezes too much plot into too short a space. I would definitely recommend going for the hardback version; unless you have a worryingly short attention span.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent audiobook. Russell Tovey really makes the characters come alive., 11 Sep 2009
I've really said it all in the title of my review.
This is a truly excellent audiobook, one of the best I've ever heard.
Russell Tovey makes the story come alive, so that it's more like listening to a real audio adventure rather than just a reading of a book. He does such a brilliant job of creating the different characters, especially the character of Sebastian. His talent for creating the different voices and tones of speech is unsurpassed in my view.
He really does bring the characters in the story alive.
Usually, audiobooks need the inclusion of music and sound effects to really work, but you don't get any in the audbiobooks featuring the current Doctor Who stories, as you do get in the classic Doctor Who audiobooks. But you do get the Doctor Who theme tune, which you don't get in the 'classic' Who audiobooks for some reason, (maybe the BBC not wanting to use any Dr Who theme in their audiobooks except the current Doctor's theme?) Anyhow, a lot of the time, the current audiobook versions are not usually as good as some of the 'classic' Doctor Who audiobooks, mainly for the lack of music and sound effects, but even without any of that, this story just LIVES, thanks to the excellent reading skills of the narrator. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunt the Doctor, 7 Mar 2011
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An original Doctor Who novel, telling an all new story not seen on tv. It features the tenth Doctor and his companion Donna Noble.

Like all in this range it runs for just under two hundred and fifty pages, can be read by readers of all ages - although this one might be a bit much for the very young thanks to a rather labyrinthine plot - and the two leads are recreated perfectly on the printed page, with dialogue you can imagine them saying on tv.

The story sees the Doctor fall foul of Sebastiane. The mysterious man who rules a world called planet one, which has some very sophisticated computers and robots. He acts like a victorian gentleman. And he likes to hunt. And what better to hunt than rare species? Like the last of the time lords.

Sebastiane is also slightly crazy and this makes him dangerously unpredictable.

So when the Doctor and Donna fall into his hands, they have a fight on their hands in order to survive.

Not least because the Doctor has a plan of his own...

The initial developments of the plans in this story result in a plot that whilst fast moving might have you saying 'what's going on here?' for a while. But stick with it because things to do quickly become clear, and when they do it's all very clever. And it all adds a gripping extra level of danger to the story. Because Sebastiane really is quite a superb villain, so very human and so dangerously unpredictable. A slight flaw is that if he wasn't, the Doctor might not get away with some of the things that he does, but that goes with the madness.

The Doctor and Donna are separated for a lot of the story but that does give her an intriguing plot strand of her own, and adds some interesting extra tension and questions of trust also.

And the pace of the book never lets up for a moment, the story constantly moving on and changing and throwing in some excellent twists at just the right points.

There are some digs at Doctor who fandom but they never gets nasty or snide, so they're not a problem.

A very involving and entertaining read and one of the best in this range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 1 July 2009
By 
Mrs. S. E. Sexton "Sheila" (Norfolk England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this was an excellent audio book brillently read by Russell Tovey. I really enjoyed the book must have for all Dr Who fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor trap made my head spin, 24 Sep 2008
"The Doctor Trap" is one of the first Doctor Who novels to feature Donna as the Doctor's companion. Though, through the first half of the book she isn't very present, as the Doctor and her get seperated on the first pages.
Sebastiene, the ruler of his own planet, has set out to hunt the doctor down and kill him. Therefor he brought a couple of hunters to Planet 1, all infamous for wiping out rare species. He even created a Doctor-double, made from the Doctor's "biggest fan", Baris. The Doctor manages to swap places with Baris, though and now has not only to rescue Donna, but also get back his TARDIS and escape from the planet.

When I read the book description, I was afraid this could be a second "Last Dodo", another Doctor Who novel where he is hunted for being the last of his kind. But "The Doctor Trap" certainly does not imitate that one. It is faster and more exciting. Again the Doctor and his companion are very well written (including some small banters the way I liked them on the TV series). Plus, I really had to use my brains at one point - the "Doctor Trap" and it's explanation (or the explanation Sebastien though it had), made my head spin. So confusing.
A really good read I'd certainly recommend to Doctor/Donna friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different and original, 20 July 2011
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Really different from the rest of the series - being hunted on a world controlled by one man and a robot workforce, with someone who believes he is the doctor. The twists of plot are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Audiobook is NOT background listening material. The hardback is much better., 25 Mar 2009
The audiobook was an enjoyable story, but sufficiently puzzling at points that it required my full attention. Having subsequently read the hardback edition I could see why - as with Beautiful Chaos, I don't think that the abridgement covered all the background and plot points well enough, and would recommend the hardback if choosing between the two.

That aside, the audiobook is a good enough offering - Russell Tovey reads well and with reasonably good characterisation in his voice. I prefer the books actually read by David T. and Catherine T., but this would definitely sit happily alongside those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Planet 1 is Not What It Seems, 16 Nov 2008
By 
Ruth King "BookishRuth.com" (Spring City, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Excitement, tension, the thrill of the chase, these were a few of his favourite things."
- The Doctor Trap, p. 187

Sebastiene is physically flawless, incredibly powerful and more than a little bit maniacal. As the ruler of Planet 1, Sebastiene has everything he could ever want, but that will never be enough. He's taken to hunting down alien species, the more dangerous the better. For his ultimate prize, however, Sebastiene must enlist the help of the Endangered Dangerous Species Society, a group of the most ruthless hunters in the galaxy. Sebastiene wants to add the most dangerous being in the universe to his collection: the Doctor, the last of the Time Lords.

Sebastiene uses a genetic copy of the Doctor, a man named Baris, to steal the TARDIS and kidnap Donna. The doppelganger lures the Doctor to Planet 1, but it doesn't take long for the Doctor to turn the tables on his twin. He manages to switch places with Baris, which only complicates matters. Now he has to save Donna, recover the TARDIS and keep the hunters from killing Baris. Can the Doctor escape Sebastiene's trap or will Sebastiene find himself in a trap of the Doctor's design?

The Doctor Trap is an action-packed story filled with twists and turns, alternating between confusing and clever. Sebastiene was an interesting villain but I felt that the story would have been stronger without the final twist; it felt rather anticlimactic compared to earlier revelations.

This is one of the first novels to feature Donna Noble as the Doctor's companion. While they spend most of the story separated (one of my personal pet peeves with the Doctor Who novels), there are some nice moments of Doctor/Donna banter that the show's fans came to expect during Series 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor Trap., 23 Mar 2009
By 
Ms. J. Wolfenden "phoarlord" (Lancashire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This audio book is brilliant. The narrator couldnt have been better and the story is just absolutely fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too confusing, 16 Aug 2009
I read this while in the library in one straight sitting. It was fine enough on how it was written in style, but the overall storyline was completely messed up, until i just wanted to scream and throw the book across the room. I managed to read it through to the end and of course the ending was even more confusing with an invisible scene being the way they managed to make the thing they used to defeat the monsters, no clues at all. I couldn't even tell how Donna got kidnapped in the first place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Doctor Trap
Doctor Who: The Doctor Trap by Simon Messingham
£2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews