Customer Reviews


377 Reviews
5 star:
 (274)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The living and the Dead
This box set contains all six episodes of the first season of the Walking Dead. Spread across two dvds.

Just in case you haven't read the comic from which this is adapted:

The central character is Rick Grimes. A sheriff's deputy in Georgia, who is left in a coma following a shooting. He wakes up to find the world has changed in the meantime...
Published 23 months ago by Paul Tapner

versus
215 of 242 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY UK release - Heavily Cut
The Walking dead is a marvellous 5-star show for any fan of the zombie genre.

But! Zombie-fans like their gore, and much or it has been removed from this DVD release.

If you want to see this show the way it should be seen, buy a Region 1 release, not this one.
Published on 22 May 2011 by Mike Garvey


‹ Previous | 1 2 338 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missed it on TV, 15 Sep 2013
By 
The Green Man (Bromsgrove, Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Frankly I didnt bother with this on TV - just figured it was another crappy US programme.

But I was wrong !

Thoroughly enjoyed the first series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly good, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A great series for all the gore and shock lovers out there. I really enjoyed the mix of human emotion and apocalyptic chaos that this show offered, my only criticism is that it is rather short- some of the story seemed rushed. Still worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An OK series but they should have stuck to the script... Or rather comic., 28 Feb 2013
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Not a bad series, although not without it's faults. Having read the original comics I can tell you that it starts out the same but doesn't stay true to the original story.

The writers have taken some of the original ideas and built on them a bit and then taken others in a completely different direction. Personally, I think the comics story lines were better than that of the TV series.

some of the script and characterisation was a bit weak, and there are some blatant lose ends - like what the hell happened to Merl (Though maybe he pops back up in season 2)?

Also, the final episode was a complete let down. A total shambles, ending the series on a short fizzle and a small puff of smoke rather than a bang.

It was still a good watch though. The make up and effects were good but I hope they writers get the story line back on the track and follow the story lines in the original comic books. Not because I'm a huge fan - just because they are infinitely better than those of the TV series so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicted!, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this on a recommendation from a friend and I'm very glad I did.
I watched the entire series in two days and loved it.
I can't wait for the second series to be a little cheaper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Awesome, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Started out watching it on the TV, but couldn't really commit to following it so I bought the DVD for me and my girlfriend to watch. We really enjoyed it from start to finish, with the characters pulling us into the story, and also the interesting twists and turns which happen along the way. Is definitely worth a buy, especially for the price they're asking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE best show on TV, period, 4 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Finally a deep, immersive and character driven horror experience that actually makes you think and shows you just how human behaviour and relationships change under extreme circumstances.
Although there are only 6 episodes, each one is very satisfying and filled with nail-biting tension, drama, twists and of cours, gore for all bloodthirsty zombie lovers! This show has me on the edge of my seat wondering what's going to happen, who's going to die...things are just so unpredictable, you can't be sure of anything!

If you're tired of all the tired, boring horror movies coming out and want a deep and emotional story of survival, then look no further. This is the best show on TV right now, no question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb show, UK release not up to scratch, 24 May 2012
This is currently my favorite show on TV but the UK release of this blu-ray was a let down for me. The episodes are slightly cut and there is a lack of special features. I imported the USA version but this requires a multi-region blu-ray player which I know is not for everyone. It's just unfortunate that we didn't get the same quality release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 17 April 2012
By 
Amy (Cambs, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
So this story really begins when Sherrif Rick Grimes (the lovely Andrew Lincoln) wakes up from a coma after being shot on duty and finds not only the hospital deserted but also the town, apart from the odd 'Walker'. So he sets off to try and find his wife and son.

This does appear a little bit '28 Days Later' but it's way better.

There are twists and turns galore and with it being a series rather than a film, the characters are able to develop and you find yourself getting drawn into the storyline (sometimes even shouting encouragement at the characters to run/hide/kill that zombie!).

It's good that a genre such as this has finally been a small screen opportunity with a big budget along with one of the best special effects make up artists in the business, Greg Nicotero, on board to really do it justice.

Both my husband and I really enjoyed seasons 1 and 2 of 'The Walking Dead' and am looking forward to season 3 later this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 30 Dec 2011
By 
M. Watson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not usually one for series, or even horrors. But I was hooked from the first episode. Sat down and watched the whole 1st DVD in the 2 DVD pack (3 hours) in one sitting. Very good watching.

It always amazes me how they get to shoot some of the footage. The scenes are just breath taking and very realistic. Ok, it's a bit over the top with some of the shooting and decapitations, but even that seems to be done tongue in cheek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING. (I bought from Amazon.com not UK), 11 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Amazing. Simply amazing. Must watch. Frank Darabont (Shawshank Redemption) makes this the BEST movie/ tv series of the century. Way too good for tv...

Well worth your pennies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 338 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walking Dead - Season 1 [DVD]
The Walking Dead - Season 1 [DVD] by Johan Renck (DVD - 2011)
£9.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews