Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars30
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.60+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2012
Most Lesbian Vampire cinema serves the male gaze, We Are The Night is a little different. For a start, it's not as 'clothes off' as the usual sapphic bloodsucker offering, focusing instead on the twisted dynamics that exist between the characters. There's a family unit at the heart of the movie - four Vampire vixens who are not dissimilar to the women of Sex In The City, albeit with a thirst for blood. They treat eternal life with a hedonistic abandon and enjoy spreading chaos.

I can't recommend this film enough. It's from the same production house as Urban Explorers and it makes use of similar abandoned locations and unused urban squalor. Although it's tricky to make an original Vampire movie, We Are The Night brings some fresh ideas to the table.

We Are The Night [DVD]
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
I have to agree whole heartedly with the 5 star reviews on here. This is a terrific modern European vampire film, stylish, and well acted it briskly travels a well worn vampire story arc but is done with bags of style and panache. The score is also fantastic, where most modern vampire films usually opt for clichéd by the numbers nu-metal, we are the night combines European techno and dance by the likes of Soulwax and Covenant with a beautiful and evocative original score by Heiko Maile (who was apparently inspired by Hans Zimmer's score for The Dark Knight). If you like a good vampire yarn, I couldn't recommend this highly enough.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
It's been awhile since I've watched a film with subtitles. The last one was the brilliant Swedish horror flick Let the Right One In. Wir Sind Die Nacht (We Are the Night) is equally enjoyable, but of a much different style and tone.

The movie opens with pictures of Berlin through the ages, and haunting, operatic music, beginning with modern day Berlin and moving backwards in time, to the Fall of the Berlin War, the Second World War and further into the past. The same women appear in photos throughout these historical eras. One of them can be seen in an oil painting, giving us an idea how old this lady is. An intriguing voice-over asks: "If you knew that there is only one person in the whole world who is able to make you happy. And he is the right one for you, what would you sacrifice to find him? How many centuries would you spend searching for him? And if you finally found him, would you ever let him go again?..."

Vampire boss Louise (Nina Hoss), her second in command Charlotte (Jennifer Ulrich) and the younger, fun-loving Nora (Anne Fischer) jump from a plane over Berlin having killed the passengers and crew. The next scene introduces us to the troubled Lena (Karoline Herfurth) who immediately reminded me of Lisbeth Salander from The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. She picks the wrong guy to steal from, and ends up being pursued, in a highly enjoyable and exciting chase through the city by a cop, Tom (Max Riemelt - FYI, he's lovely ladies). You have to laugh at a cop who sees the funny side of being punched in the face and kicked in the groin by the thief he's chasing.

Lena has the bad luck to show up in Louise's vampire nightclub one night. She reminds Louise of her dead maker and the woman she loved, and Louise wastes no time in making her into a vampire. Max tracks Lena down but she has already been turned and is under the scrutiny of the deranged Louise. We know this love triangle isn't going to end well.

We Are The Night is a slick and stylish, lightweight movie. In this universe, there are no male vampires. Wondering why? You'll have to watch the film to find out! Louise and co spend their time dancing, eating, having sex and driving fast cars. They live a life of luxury and decadence and feed without remorse, the latter of which Lena struggles with. The most interesting vampire for me was Charlotte who looks like she stepped out of the 1920s. We discover she was an actress in the silent film era when Louise took a shine to her and promptly removed her from her human life where she was married and had a child. Once we learn this, Charlotte's cold and seemingly detached personality makes a lot more sense.

These vampires are traditional in nature: they cast no reflection, can't come out during the day and they kill humans. The film loses its way about halfway through but the action picks up again towards the end. If you're looking for high drama and a deep and meaningful story, this film isn't going to provide that for you. On the other hand, if you're after some harmless entertainment with nice acting and a handsome human police officer who's in love with a vampire (I'll mention him again, Max Riemelt :) ), give this a watch.

I had never heard of any of these great actors before, and We Are the Night made me want to watch more European films. And of course being the sucker for paranormal romance that I am, I was hoping Lena and Tom would find a way to be together.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
I would agree with the previous commentators who extolled this film. The reason for adding to their comments is to emphasise that not only is the film itself interesting because of the strong female leads, but also because the plot of the story deals with the most basic of human emotions — love. There is a tangle of interweaving love strands, not all to be expected from a vampire film, nor from the ‘lesbian’ epithet given to the film. Indeed the natures of these loves is quite well dramatised and therefore questioning. The vampire nature of the film allows obsession to be seen as being heightened over time alongside love lost, and also the vampire element brings out the self-satisfying and self-destructiveness of obsession. The opening sequence is reminiscent of telling a story as a backdrop to the titles seen as in Watchmen. And this brings me on to the excellent music that accompanies the film.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Modern day Berlin.Centuries old Vampire Queen Bee Louise(the always excellent Nina Hoss)together with acolytes the moody Charlotte(Jennifer Ulrich)and mod tramp Nora(Anna Fischer)are cutting a dash through the underbelly of Berlin society feeding at will and having a high old time of it.However Louise has been seeking,for a long time it transpires,for the right replacement for her own mentor burned years before and thinks she's found her in the guise of petty street criminal Lena(Karoline Herfurth)who as convention dictates finds the transformation into a vampire somewhat problematic and things are not helped by an attraction to hotshot cop Tom(Max Riemelt)

Don't be put off by the trashy cover art,this is no bottom of the barrel straight to dvd fodder.Admittedly there is nothing particularly original here and the bravura opening 30 minutes is a little too fast paced if anything but all the women are ace(and I mean acting),the innate eroticism of the vampire lore is well conveyed and there are some clever touches(each characters backgrounds are stylishly sketched in in the opening credits sequence and Charlotte has two very well nuanced scenes -one when she is watching herself on film and another at a hospice which is strikingly touching and the action is well done throughout.

A pulsating soundtrack nicely underscores their decadent lifestyle and although it goes pretty much where you expect it to go,We Are The Night is superior fare.

The extras showcase two alternative endings and being a sucker for endgame clarity I wished they had used number 2 and the film is revealed to have been a long standing pet project between Christian Becker(producer)and Dennis Gansel(director)that took them over 10 years to get onto the big screen.
It was worth the wait.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
For me, the best vampire films of the 2000's are Let the Right One In, Stake Land, 30 Days of Night, Frostbite and this film. This is the best out all of them and is a well acted, kinetic, actionpacked meditation of love and immortality.

There is a little something for any one here; great acting (always preferred), good action (too rare), great music and cinematography (this film is a feast for the senses), attractive ladies (for us guys), strong and well written female characters and a hunky cop (for you ladies out there), taking lesbian-romance seriously and not for explotation purposes (for all LGBT-people and anyone hating the stereotype of lesbian vampires), a deep but subtle conveyed message about love, immortality, gender roles and sexism.

The acting is amazing, escpecially Jennifer Ulrich who should have got a freaking award for her acting in this film. The script and directing is top notch, there are no 2D villians in this film. Just some very tragic victims. The cinematography is wonderful, Berlin is captured suggestivly on 35mm. Don't waste time thinking about the bad cover. Buy it now!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
High quality film about a trio of German female vampires who, unlike the Dracula types, are affected by real human emotions [not just demons possessing dead human shells] and burn up in sunlight [a surefire way of committing suicide]. Apparently ruthless blood drinkers, these glamorous girls soon show their tender and jealous side after a new girl joins them, when the going gets tough and one of them dies. There are problems of love, grief and loneliness regarding immortality with a particularly poignant scene where one of them goes to see a dying old lady in hospital - her own daughter.

It is well acted and well thought through. with great colour photography, good music and a decent plot. I saw this first at the Bram Stoker Horror Film Festival at Whitby and liked it so much I had to get the DVD. If you like vampire films then this is for you too.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
I personally enjoy vampire films, although they do vary and rightly so. I personally viewed this film on Netflix not really knowing what to expect and was really surprised to find it was a great film, it has polished gloss and a good story line in the all female line up, each character bringing in their own personalities through in a powerful way and also sad and tragic way too. Personally I think it's a quality film. Also I believe if Hollywood had made this film we would have had a poorly made film with a poorly matched soundtrack. The soundtrack I believe is really good too, nicely tailored. The film centers on 3 (soon to be 4) care free vampires all from different times in our history living dangerously and carefree and neglecting descretion which becomes their downfall.

P.s If you like this you may like Kiss Of The Damned.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
This has to be the best vampire-related film ever made, both glamerous and thought-provoking, with scenes that tug at the heartstrings until they threaten to break. All the actors - and actions - in this film are simply outstanding, from seasoned veterans like Nina Hoss and Arvid Birnbaum down to younger talents like Max Riemelt and Anna Fischer, although special plaudits have to go to Jennifer Ulrich as the bookish highbrow, Charlotte, evidently of French extraction, and to the overall prima donna of the film, Karoline Herfurth (who, incidentally, also appears in that excellent film 'The Reader'), who, as Lena, is seduced into becoming a vampire and fellow-traveller of the trio led by Luisa (played by Nina Hoss), thus establishing a quartet of female vamps who wreak havoc in pursuit of pleasure and in the interests of survival across Berlin. Some of the scenes are simply mind-blowing in their explosive effect, but overall I was most impressed by the romantic relationship which, despite all the odds, gradually develops between Tom, the young cop played by Riemelt, and Lena, who has to overcome her initial reluctance to become involved with someone who was on her trail and determined to book her for an offence unconnected with her subsequent induction into the female vampire sisterhood. This film, despite the gore and bloodshed (inevitable with such a genre), is simply outstanding in every way, and I heartily recommend it, not least for Arvid Birnbaum's role as the senior detective who reluctantly comes to terms with what his younger partner has become amorously involved with. See is you can detect Jochen Nickel, that veteran of films like 'Stalingrad' and 'Auf Herz und Nieren'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
In this 2010 German [with full English soundtrack option] vampire horror film petty thief, Lena, almost gets arrested by police officer, Tom, who takes an instant liking to her, but she escapes and ends up at a nightclub, gets bitten by a female vampire [one of a group of 3] and becomes part of their world when she kills a Russian Pimp. Tom investigates the murder case not knowing it involves the vampires but they live the high life and move on the edges of society. Can he track them down and what will happen when he meets Lena again?
There are a number of good features to the story that other films have ignored and this also illustrates some of the ‘real’ issues of being a vampire such as the consequences of immortality and how they get their ‘kicks’ and deal with ‘life’ when the moral restraints are removed. The thumping music in the club scenes, eerie sound track, combined with some stunning sunsets all create a remarkable atmosphere
The single disc opens to 3 trailers then goes to main menu offering play, scene selection, special features [making of, deleted scenes, alternate endings, video diary, behind VFX] and set up [german 5.1 or English 5.1, subtitles on’off].
With swearing, violence, drug abuse and covering themes of depression, self-harm and suicide it’s hardly surprising this is a 15 rating. Not your traditional Hollywood vampire love story, this gives it all a fresh view and is a worthy ***** if you want a darker edge to your vampire movies.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.