Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good suspense movie
The two genres I generally dislike are westerns and horror flics. Therefore I'm not entirely sure how I got to watch this horror outing, but my goodness me did I enjoy it. OK, it was more suspenseful than gory, but it had me gripped, even though it's all pure hokum.

The film starts spookily well with aerial scenes of Philadelphia but with the camera turned...
Published on 7 Feb 2011 by Jones the Film

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SHAME ON YOU IF YOU DIDN'T SEE THE TWIST
The movie starts out with an a priori that the devil exist and takes human form. Part of the movie is narration. His gateway is a suicide, which happens early, as a man falls on a Bethel Bread truck. (Bethel is Hebrew for house of God.) An investigator, who lost his family in a hit and run 5 years ago is talking in a restaurant to a man we never see again. He tells him...
Published 11 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good suspense movie, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
The two genres I generally dislike are westerns and horror flics. Therefore I'm not entirely sure how I got to watch this horror outing, but my goodness me did I enjoy it. OK, it was more suspenseful than gory, but it had me gripped, even though it's all pure hokum.

The film starts spookily well with aerial scenes of Philadelphia but with the camera turned upside down. This creates an unsettling sense of other worldliness that sets exactly the right tone for the events ahead.

The cast is good, the acting believable enough and the whole affair trundles along at just the right pace.

It has all the enjoyable fun of reading a cracking good short story and if you're prepared to not over analyse the daftness of it all, this movie makes for good flat-lining entertainment. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than expected, 14 Mar 2011
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
After reading other reviews I almost didn't buy this film. I would have missed out! better than I expected with an original story line, good acting and not too bad an ending. Its not a scary as many films I have watched but does keep you guessing. Well worth ignoring the bad reviews for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 18 Oct 2012
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
Devil is about, well, um, the Devil (in case the title didn't tip you off) and how he likes to mess with the bad people destined to join him in hell for all eternity. And, in this case, he chooses five people with dubious pasts to trap in a lift and then generally mess with in the most grisly way he can think of.

The first thing I should say about Devil is that it's quite a short film, therefore talking about the plot may give away a few twists that might spoil the enjoyment. It doesn't need to be too long. Not all the action takes place inside the lift (as there is a team working on getting them out of there), but it's still quite a condensed atmosphere that doesn't lend itself too much scope to expand. Therefore, in this case, less is more.

It's actually quite good. Oddly enough, despite being a horror film, it's rated 15 (or even PG13 in some places), meaning there isn't an awful lot of blood and entrails floating about the place. What `scares' come are largely jumpy and `atmospheric.' However, that doesn't seem to matter. It's a condensed little film that should appeal to horror buffs with some decent performances and enough twists to hopefully surprise you.

Probably not a classic up to The Exorcist's standards, but entertaining enough in what it gives you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Devil, 16 July 2011
This review is from: Devil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'd heard some bad things about this film so I was rather sceptical when I watched it. However, it held my attention from start to finish and I found it to be very entertaining. The basic premise that there are five people in an elevator and one of them is the Devil is fairly fresh. And in spite of the fact many of the bad reviews I read said it was obvious who the Devil was from the start, I'd have to be honest and say that I suspected each of the characters at one time or another during the film. At the end it would have been easy to say I knew it was X all along, but it would be a lie to say I was absolutely 100% certain, and that's what gives the film its tension, you can never be entirely sure you know what's going on. Devil has an interesting premise and some decent twists and at around 90 minutes it doesn't hang around long enough to get boring.
I definitely recommend giving this film a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed it, 17 Jan 2011
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Despite the reviews I really enjoyed this movie, five people trapped in a lift with one of them being the Devil, there to torment them before he takes their souls. The largely unknown cast do a fine job with no bad performances to mention and the story keeps your attention until the end, what more can you ask? The blu ray print is spot on and the soundtrack is also excellent. If you have a subwoofer you will jump when the lift stops. Yes the shocks and jumps are the old fashion sort but don't you get a little bored of constant slaughter and torture porn? This is a good film but sales will suffer from one serious problem. Once you know who the Devil is, what's the point of watching it again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple but effective, 25 Jan 2011
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
Devil, like Buried is a simple story very well told.

An ordinary day. 5 people enter a lift only for it to stop dead. They have all done bad things, and the Devil has come for them.
By rights this should not be enough material to make a movie but somehow it does, and an absorbing one at that. The claustraphobia, creeping distrust, rising panic, blackouts and and effective switch between those trapped in the lift and those trying to get them out.

Suspend sceptisism, relax and enjoy a decent horror story with a good dose of suspense and jumps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid little thriller, 11 Dec 2011
By 
J. Fernandez "amazonjez" (Wantage, Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Like a lot of reviewers, I was pleasantly surprised by this, the first of Shyamalan's "Night Chronicles". I was expecting a one-set premise, taking place entirely within the lift where each of the characters slowly reveals more and more about their background. Kudos then to Shyamalan for widening the field and adding Messina as the on-duty cop trying to figure it all out. What appeals here is the mystery element - who are these people? Why did they come to the building on this particular day? Do they have any connection? Some have criticised the contrivance of the devil actually being one of them, but it works much better this way. Otherwise, why and how would a serial killer (or hitman) plan to knock off four people within the confines of a lift, which is monitored by a security camera?

This is a lean, taut little number with some good shocks and restrained use of cliches. It's got a healthy dash of "Identity" and "Final Destination", so if you liked those two, this is well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable supernatural whodunnit, 19 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
Considering a large part of this film was set in a lift, it's surprisingly interesting! The story covers a group of people who get stuck. At first they are just tense, but then odd things start to happen and people get hurt. The police are called, and start to realise that something supernatural is happening. Who or what is causing the people in the lift to die?

Obviously the storyline is not intended to be particularly believable, but it is handled well. I found myself going in mental circles over who was the "bad guy" - an unusual whodunnit! It's also interesting to see the different characters' reactions and how they start to suspect each other. As there were no major stars, you very much had the sense that anything could happen to anyone, and the suspense built up well. A fairly straightforward tale overall really - if you tend to like M Night Shamalayan's films then it's one to watch. May prove a bit slow going/too far fetched for some though - probably a 3.5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple premise. Did not help my fear of lifts!, 17 Feb 2011
By 
J. Watkin "Jessica09" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
I really did enjoy this movie. I am a fan of horror movies. Whereas gore filled movies, slasher flicks etc are enjoyable, they are generally predictable and in all honestly not that frightening.

The best type of horror movie to me is one that keeps you guessing. One that has small frights and big frights, a film that builds up fear/suspense/suspicion and keeps you on the edge of your seat wondering when the next scare will come.

I like movies that are spooky, thought provoking and this is one of them. It is one of the best horror movies I've personally seen in a long time. I watched it with my mum, we were sat there both with terrified expressions on our faces. I felt on edge and shivery throughout the movie. It was genuinley terrifying.

Its a simple premise, people stuck in a lift. Honestly? I wasn't going to bother watching it, I thought 'Really, a whole horror movie where people are in a life, how boring' But it really isnt!

I'd recommend giving it a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a look, 9 Nov 2011
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
Seen the Exorcist, the Omen and a hundred other films in the same genre, well this is nothing like them; and that is its main plus point. Its sufficiently original, and well made that I think it will become something of a cult classic in the coming years.

The premise of the story has already been laid out by other reviewers and by the advertising so I won't repeat that. Yes some people are stuck in a lift, but its not only about them....

In what is a short film (77mins) the story is well developed and keeps you guessing until quite near the end, when a few loose ends are neatly tied together. I enjoyed it more the second time through, and would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devil [Blu-ray]
Devil [Blu-ray] by John Erick Dowdle (Blu-ray - 2011)
6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews