Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than expected
After reading other reviews I almost didn't buy this film. I would have missed out! better than I expected with an original story line, good acting and not too bad an ending. Its not a scary as many films I have watched but does keep you guessing. Well worth ignoring the bad reviews for
Published on 14 Mar 2011 by :(

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SHAME ON YOU IF YOU DIDN'T SEE THE TWIST
The movie starts out with an a priori that the devil exist and takes human form. Part of the movie is narration. His gateway is a suicide, which happens early, as a man falls on a Bethel Bread truck. (Bethel is Hebrew for house of God.) An investigator, who lost his family in a hit and run 5 years ago is talking in a restaurant to a man we never see again. He tells him...
Published 10 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than expected, 14 Mar 2011
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
After reading other reviews I almost didn't buy this film. I would have missed out! better than I expected with an original story line, good acting and not too bad an ending. Its not a scary as many films I have watched but does keep you guessing. Well worth ignoring the bad reviews for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good suspense movie, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
The two genres I generally dislike are westerns and horror flics. Therefore I'm not entirely sure how I got to watch this horror outing, but my goodness me did I enjoy it. OK, it was more suspenseful than gory, but it had me gripped, even though it's all pure hokum.

The film starts spookily well with aerial scenes of Philadelphia but with the camera turned upside down. This creates an unsettling sense of other worldliness that sets exactly the right tone for the events ahead.

The cast is good, the acting believable enough and the whole affair trundles along at just the right pace.

It has all the enjoyable fun of reading a cracking good short story and if you're prepared to not over analyse the daftness of it all, this movie makes for good flat-lining entertainment. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed it, 17 Jan 2011
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Despite the reviews I really enjoyed this movie, five people trapped in a lift with one of them being the Devil, there to torment them before he takes their souls. The largely unknown cast do a fine job with no bad performances to mention and the story keeps your attention until the end, what more can you ask? The blu ray print is spot on and the soundtrack is also excellent. If you have a subwoofer you will jump when the lift stops. Yes the shocks and jumps are the old fashion sort but don't you get a little bored of constant slaughter and torture porn? This is a good film but sales will suffer from one serious problem. Once you know who the Devil is, what's the point of watching it again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killer Twist, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Katina Allen "KJA" (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
gripping with a twist in the tale, if horror is what you like Recommend it, an unexpected end very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple but effective, 25 Jan 2011
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
Devil, like Buried is a simple story very well told.

An ordinary day. 5 people enter a lift only for it to stop dead. They have all done bad things, and the Devil has come for them.
By rights this should not be enough material to make a movie but somehow it does, and an absorbing one at that. The claustraphobia, creeping distrust, rising panic, blackouts and and effective switch between those trapped in the lift and those trying to get them out.

Suspend sceptisism, relax and enjoy a decent horror story with a good dose of suspense and jumps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'BETTER THAN ANTICIPATED IN TRUTH', 4 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Devil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Well, in recent years we've had many offerings from the mind of 'M.NIGHT SHYAMALAN' i've found them to be either pure genius or total 'pants' among the really good 'The Sixth Sense' and 'Unbreakable' among the 'pants' 'The Village' and 'The Happening' with maybe 'Signs' in the middle ( though i did like that one ) 'DEVIL' does fall in the inbetween bracket.
The story tells of five strangers suffering the trauma of a lift-breakdown, each of them seem to hold secrets from the past they would rather forget, one of them is 'looking for a soul to steal'
The story is made more interesting because of the fact that both security officers and a detective are looking on totally helpless to prevent what happens..
It's a tense film well worth a watch at the very least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SHAME ON YOU IF YOU DIDN'T SEE THE TWIST, 24 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
The movie starts out with an a priori that the devil exist and takes human form. Part of the movie is narration. His gateway is a suicide, which happens early, as a man falls on a Bethel Bread truck. (Bethel is Hebrew for house of God.) An investigator, who lost his family in a hit and run 5 years ago is talking in a restaurant to a man we never see again. He tells him that "the ability to forgive determines the quality of the rest of your life." While investigating the suicide, another murder happens with 5 people trapped in an elevator.

We don't know much about these people, or for that fact we never get to know any of the characters. We do know from all the narration chatter that one of these people is the devil. It is up to us, the audience, to figure out who it is. I won't tell you who it is, but I was able to nail the person right off, having seen "10 Little Indians." There is a fleeting clue in the film too. For someone who is new to horrors with twists, this might be a good beginner. For seasoned viewers, you might find the movie a bit slow and predictable.

The acting was good and did what it could to save the script, a solid three and a half stars overall. I will say one thing, the Philadelphia Fire Department was never that slow when Rizzo was mayor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The view from www.drunkenmovieramblings.co.uk, 12 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
The 'Devil's premise is simple, a group of strangers, all with shady backgrounds, are stuck in a lift, soon sinister happenings are a foot as the emergency services and Police try to rescue them....before it's too late!

Creepy, edgy and spooky, this is a fine thriller I really was expecting the worst from, why?
Well when "Produced by M.Night Shymalam" is attached to the movie you really do fear the worst, but don't, this is an edgy, tense and nervy horror/thriller with a real fine twist at the end to chew over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real corker, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this originally on holiday, and had to get the disc to see it again. It is a real mini masterpiece, with lots of twists and turns. I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jump!, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil [DVD] (DVD)
This film made me jump a couple of times. Good film and well cast, would happily recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devil [Blu-ray]
Devil [Blu-ray] by John Erick Dowdle (Blu-ray - 2011)
6.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews