Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I expected!
Criticised by just about everyone on release, and with a seemingly endless list of mediocre or down right bad reviews I decided not to purchase this album and did not add it to my collection until only a few weeks ago. This is a perfectly good Michael Jackson album with perfectly good songs. Hold My Hand with Akon is just beautiful and so poignant, just listen closely to...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. G. Robinson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Album Of Mixed Emotions
Michael (Album).

Product Info.
1xCD
Posthumous Album
11 Tracks

Track Listings.

1. Behind The Mask
2. Hold My Hand
3. Hollywood Tonight
4. Keep Your Head Up
5. (I Like) The Way You Love Me
6. Monster
7. Best Of Joy
8. Breaking News
9. (I Can't Make It) Another Day
10. Behind The...
Published 2 months ago by Timelord-007


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Album Of Mixed Emotions, 9 Oct 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
Michael (Album).

Product Info.
1xCD
Posthumous Album
11 Tracks

Track Listings.

1. Behind The Mask
2. Hold My Hand
3. Hollywood Tonight
4. Keep Your Head Up
5. (I Like) The Way You Love Me
6. Monster
7. Best Of Joy
8. Breaking News
9. (I Can't Make It) Another Day
10. Behind The Mask
11. Much Too Soon

Timelord Thoughts.
25th June 2009 & the legendary king of pop Michael Jackson is found dead at his home in Neverland & as the world mourned his passing & fan's including myself celebrated his musical achievements, however Sony Music decided to release a posthumous album in December 2010 that features unreleased demos & vocals from Michaels 2001’s 'Invincible' sessions that have now been spruced up & remixed that feature collaborations with musical artists 50 Cent, Akon & Lenny Kravitz to name but a few.

Given what a musical perfectionist Michael Jackson was I'm not certain he would've appreciated this release as these songs obviously wasn't up to the king of pops high standards & it's doubtful many of these songs to have seen the light of day even if he hadn't died.

The songs aren't quite up to the high standards of Michaels previous albums & without the king of pop's musical creative input this is essentially just a remix album & someone else's vision, these tracks feel more like B' sides than hit singles & it's easy to see why Michael never included them on his previous albums although to be fair 'Much Too Soon' is a beautiful country type song that includes a wonderful acoustic guitar sound by the excellent Tommy Emmanuel while '(I Can't Make It) Another Day' is another gem enhanced by Lenny Kravitz superb guitar solo.

This album received mixed criticism & bad press with claims some tracks use a vocal double of Michael, whether there is any truth to these rumours should be left to the individual to draw there own conclusions, but is 'Michael' a cheap cash in album of a musical genius & artistic legend or a nostalgic appreciation of Michael Jackson & the excellent legacy of music that he left behind with this album more deseving of critical appraisal?, well that's for you to decide.

Timelord Rating.
6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I expected!, 12 July 2013
By 
Mr. G. Robinson "garyrobinson15" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
Criticised by just about everyone on release, and with a seemingly endless list of mediocre or down right bad reviews I decided not to purchase this album and did not add it to my collection until only a few weeks ago. This is a perfectly good Michael Jackson album with perfectly good songs. Hold My Hand with Akon is just beautiful and so poignant, just listen closely to the opening line. The remaining 9 songs, are perhaps best described as 95% songs, all good songs but not perhaps polished and then finished to MJ standards. That being said, as far as I am concerned there isn't a bad song on the whole album and that can't be said about many albums including some MJ albums.

To sum up, if you're an MJ fan you probably already have this, however if you're not buying it because of bad press and comments, think again. At less than £2 it's fabulous value for money. Go on you know you want to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Farewell My Summer Love Volume 2, 7 Jun 2012
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
In 1984 at the height of Michael Jackson's post thriller career, his former record label Motown released an album called Farewell My Summer Love which consisted of songs recording in the 70's overdubbed by an 80's sounding band, presumably in an attempt to pass it off as a new Michael Jackson album. The Producers of "Michael" have attempted the same conceit.

Like Farewell My Summer Love, "Michael" is technically a decent album. It seems to cover all the bases and sounds like how you might imagine a Michael Jackson album to sound. Unfortunately, the listener is left with a rather hollow feeling because a vital element is missing - Michael himself. This is not his vision, he did not make any artistic decisions. As fans know, he would agonise over every note of every album. The fact that he did not do that here means that he is simply being used as a product. This is essentially a remix album - someone else's vision.

This may have been a more interesting album if the producers had provided a bonus disc with the raw tracks that they had used so that listeners are able to identify how the album was put together.

It would always be inevitable that Sony would be issuing posthumous material, particularly given the riches that apparently remain in the vaults. However I would have preferred an album of tracks written and produced by Michael alone. After his collaborations with Quincy Jones and then several other producers, this would have been a more fitting final album rather than a gathering of producers guessing what Michael would have done.

It is encouraging that fans have not responded overwhelmingly to this album and is perhaps a lesson to Sony that Michael's fans are not simply going to buy into everything that they slap Michael's name on. Indeed, even compared to other posthumous releases (eg Queen's Made in Heaven or John Lennon's Milk and Honey) this does not seem to have been the success that Sony may have expected.

It is also encouraging that at the time of writing Sony will be releasing a 25th Anniversary edition of Bad featuring raw (not overdubbed) demos. I hope this is an indication of Sony's future policy - any unreleased music should be used to shed light on the music that Michael released rather than be passed off as the album he would have released had he lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as bad as the press say.. again!, 13 Dec 2010
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
If you listened to the media, the music press, you'd be inclined to think this album is appalling.

It's not appalling. It is a somewhat patchy record but on first hearing it's certainly more than merely listenable and is sprinkled with catchy hooks and typical Jackson pop.

Clearly there are many ethical arguments against the album. This isn't the first time though an artists been treated in this way after death, so at some point we have to just accept it and listen to the music.

The ten tracks serve as a sample of all that MJ does musically. There's a gospel track, an anti press track, a ghost and ghouls track, a rock track etc etc.. they've covered all bases basically. As I say, most the tracks are good. Not exceptional, but good.

Hold My Hands fine, if a bit Akon heavy for me. Clearly trying to dip into the Man in the mirror feel it's very run of the mill in comparison but more than listenable.

Hollywood Tonights a more upbeat track, quite a late 90's boy band sound. It has some nice hooks but essentially the chorus becomes a little repetitive. Its a good jack swing beat though.

Keep Your Head Up is one of those Jackson good will songs, featuring a gospel choir, it reminds you of Cry or On The line. It builds to a heartwarming gospel and strings play out but as a song, it never quite hits the heights of something like Will You Be There.

I Like The Way You Love Me is a very easy listening pop song. Like Best of Joy, later in the album, it really reminds me of a Janet Jackson track.. like Whoops Now or others from that time.. it maybe has a key change or two too many but is essentially a fine background track but nothing ground breaking.. its pleasant.. no more no less.

Monster reminds me of 2000 Watts most. Its okay, it isn't great. The rap by 50 Cent isn't terrible.. the raps on Invincible or Dangerous weren't great either but they work I guess don't they?.. They break up the beat and song and, well.. add their 50 Cent (excuse the pun).

Best of Joy is apparently the last track MJ worked on before dying and is, as I said earlier, much like a Janet Jackson track from the 90's.. very easy FM radio from back then.. a "Roll down the windows of the car and drive by the sea with your friends" kind of thing.. It's very middle of the road but sweet enough..

Breaking News is personally my least favourite track. Its also the most contentious, what with the talk of it not being entirely MJ's voice but possibly Jason Malachis... whether it is or isn't, it just isn't that great a track. Its lyrically one of Michaels shouting at the press for talking about him. What started well with Leave Me Alone, the songs of this ilk have got worse with every record.. Why You Wanna Trip On Me was better than Tabloid Junkie and then Privacy was the worst track on Invincible.. and this is the worst track on Michael.

I Can't Make It Another Day with Lenny Kravitz is a good track. It doesn't entirely fulfil it's potential but should of been worked on and put on Invincible back in 2001 for sure. Its got good rock vocals from MJ, a funky groove.. its cool..

Behind The Masks by far the best track for me. The long known about track from the Thriller sessions, this versions full of funk and energy and its just great to hear MJ singing to a classic Disco beat again one last time!! His vocals for the verses are great to hear, when exactly they were recorded I'm not sure but they're great. Full of personality, passion and dripping in class. Its a great track.. the best MJ track released since maybe Blood On The Dance Floor.

Much Too Soon closes the record in a sweet final ditty. A pretty tune with Acoustic accompaniment, the record finishes with MJ almost saying goodbye in that heart tugging falsetto only he seems to get away with.

Overall, as I say, this record is NOT a musical disaster. Indeed I reckon many casual fans will actually far far prefer this record to Invincible. It's certainly been put together as a "something for everyone" record. It won't offend anyone thats for sure, if anything it may be too middle of the road. In a way, I suppose this is the most contrived, aimed at the pop market MJ record since the eighties. Dangerous, History and Invincible had MJ very much steering the ship as to what was on the disc.. this is clearly a record companies record.

As to whether its MJ or Jason Malachi singing Breaking News or Best of Joy.. who knows..

Whether its right or wrong to release these tracks when MJ hasn't had final say on it is neither hear nor there now, they're out I'm afraid..

Personally, as a big Jackson fan I was always going to end up getting these tracks. I don't agree with the record 100% but frankly its inevitable, a precedent hasn't been set by this by any means and to be honest I want to hear whatever there is, he ever created.. good, bad or ugly, they all, for me atleast, help paint a more complete picture of him, the man, the artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a classic, But do not be put off by the controversy, 15 Dec 2010
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
It almost seems ironic that even in death Michael is able to evoke controversy, And part of me feels cynical that such things are just to help promote the album further but thats neither here now there when it comes to the music.
Firstly the trouble with any artist work thats released after they have died, You can not be certain that they would of wanted the songs to go out to the public in the form they are this album is no different.

Positives
Much too soon- Lovely track

( I Like ) The Way You Love Me- Another track with a lot of charm

Behind The Mask- OK a bit over produced but still a amazing song and interesting to compare to the Eric Clapton version

( I Can't Make It ) Another Day- Just works somehow and Lenny Kravitz is on it so what more could you want?

Negatives
The hype behind the 3 alleged fake tracks, None of which are awful by the way.
Album is too short I am sure there was other tracks that could of made it on the album. I figure they be sold seperately on different albums over next few years.

Judge for yourself guys, Theres enough good stuff on the album to outweigh the controversy over possible fakes and there are far worse albums out there.
I hope Sony is not planning to con the fans with lots more rehashed tracks in the future though, I would rather a box set or something of unreleased tracks etc than Michael's talent abused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars is it him at all?, 17 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
Its amazing they could only find one track for the this is it album, and yet a year later another ten have been found.Fans of Jackson like Madonna can not bare anything being said against the artist even if it turns out to be true, I like both but like to judge things fairly and honestly.for myself. However with all the chat on the internet, I personally and as a fan think this is a very disrespectful thing for a record company to do, digging up unfinished songs and putting them in the public domain,finished without jackson consent, this is not what Jackson would have wanted, and any true fan would respect that.The authenticity of "Breaking News" has been questioned.Doubts over whether the vocals were actually by Jackson have been raised, reportedly by Katherine Jackson and Jackson's two eldest children, as well as Jackson's sister La Toya, his nephews T.J., Taj, and Taryll, and many of his fans. His brother Randy Jackson posted a series of messages about the album on his Twitter account stating that family members weren't allowed at his studio where the album was being completed. According to Randy, when engineer Teddy Riley played him some of the tracks, "I immediately said it wasn't his voice". In a statement, Sony Music Group countered that it had "complete confidence in the results of our extensive research, as well as the accounts of those who were in the studio with Michael, that the vocals on the new album are his own." Teddy Riley, Frank Dileo and Jackson's estate have since defended Sony's claims that the song is authentic. Producer Teddy Riley who worked on the songs "Hollywood Tonight," "Monster" and "Breaking News", told Reuters the he had to do "more processing to the voice, which is why people were asking about the authenticity of his voice." Said Riley, "With the Melodyne we actually move the stuff up which is the reason why some of the vibrato sounds a little off or processed, over-processed. We truly apologize for that happening, but you are still hearing the true Michael Jackson."Ahead of the album's release, a lawyer for Jackson's father Joe said Jackson "would never have wanted his unfinished material to be released." Will.i.am, who collaborated with Jackson for the album prior to his death, also criticised the release, saying it was "disrespectful" to release the unfinished material because Jackson was not able to give it his blessing. Apparently Jackson dad has signed a new deal with Sony for a further 5 albums, quite amazing for an artist who only managed to release six albums with the label when he was alive.My final question if in years to come it is proved that thus is not Michael Jackson, do we sue Sony for fraud?. So what is the album like, well its no Dangerous, Bad or Thriller and that's fine, but I find myself skipping more tracks than wanting to listen to them. The album just is lacking Jackson' final input, on the production and sound. In terms of sales the album was a flop, hence the very low price tag now. If you really want Michael Jackson and a fan of his music you would keep to the music he recorded when he was alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
My sister was delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
well pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Michael, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
He maybe gone but never forgotten
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still brilliant after 4 years, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
I bought Michael Jackson's Escape and then bought this to complete the collection. First track Hold My Hand is brillant with Akon's vocal complementing Michael's brilliantly. Hollywood isn't great, but the beat is constant and will get toe tapping. Keep Your Head Up is a slow burner, but is ultra brilliant like Heal The World. (I Like) The Way You Love Me sounds like Color Me Bad's I Wanna Sex You Up but is equally fantastic. Monster is just that; a monster song, awesome beat, lyrics and rap . Best Of Joy is the worst track on th album but that's only because all the other songs are great. Breaking News is a funk track and a toe tapper. (I Can't Make It) Another Day has a thumping beat and a rip-roaring chorus which will have you singing along before you know it. Next up is a good cover version of Behind The Mask as Michael put his own stamp on this classic. The album finishes with Much Too Soon, a nice little song to close a wonderful album.
I've read a few reviews about this album and it seems that people want another Thriller/Bad. Its not that but it still a great album. I've listened to Escape and this is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michael
Michael by Michael Jackson (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews